yep, all three were top seeds in qualifying, and we were the only 3rd seed to qualify
Second seeds that didn't qualify were Switzerland, Serbia, Turkey, Slovakia and Romania.
all here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_Eu...fying#Seedings
Printable View
yep, all three were top seeds in qualifying, and we were the only 3rd seed to qualify
Second seeds that didn't qualify were Switzerland, Serbia, Turkey, Slovakia and Romania.
all here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_Eu...fying#Seedings
I always bemoaned the disappearance of the Molly Malone chorus at both the football and rugby. There was some inserting of add-ons into TFOA but not widespread and I think the long bit at the end of the Spain game didn't have any. Not 100% sure but that's what I thought.
Also I believe we drew the top seed in each pot and as there were 4 groups the chance of that
happening are 4x4x4=64-1
Also as the event happens once in 4 years we shold not expect this to happen again 256 years!!! (provided we qualify).
Not sure how often we have qualified but at a rough estimate we should not expect it to happen again for about 1000 years!!!!
( which is just as well).
South Korea were playing?
Yawn.Quote:
There does, however, appear to be a problem amongst a minority of your support (in particular Nordies) away from the match - add ons to "The Fields", for example, whereby some of your fans seem to want to have sexual intercourse with Her Majesty, Queen Elizabeth and to express their support for a terrorist organisation that slaughtered ad maimed thousands of Irish men women and children - quite an irony that the FAI saw fit to remember the victims of a cowardly, murderous, sectarian attack by vermin involved in a terrorist gang but yet some of your fans see fit to glorify equally repulsive terrorists of a different hue.
The Belfast Newsletter carried front page headlines of the antics of some of your sectarian Nordie fans who thought it great craic to have their sectarianism exposed on You Tube.
Whereas no fans of the North did likewise in February or has ever done at any of your other games?
And their 'own' army has of course always acted in an exemplary manner, both in Ireland and beyond...
Yeah, right.
Except I didn't say they can't...
Any actual evidence of this sectarian chanting that the Irish fans got upto in Poland?
There was plenty of evidence on You Tube.
http://www.newsletter.co.uk/news/loc...torm-1-3936727
That article (and the related comments) are laughable...
Thanks for cheering us up.
That article is indeed laughable.
I'm assuming this is the clip of the "sectarian storm" under scrutiny:Quote:
Originally Posted by Belfast Newsletter
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Iq6EE...layer_embedded
It's a segment from this longer one: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IdECN...eature=related
What is noticeable is that the only people who chant "IRA" (is that indicative of sectarianism anyway?) when the two groups converge are those from the original six-man group. Rather than continuing with 'The Fields of Athenry', the crowd then launches into a rendition of "COYBIG", some of them possibly uneasy with hearing IRA chants.
For a sec, I thought he was going to refer in condemnatory fashion to another incident that occurred in Dublin in February of last year.Quote:
“Unfortunately this has happened before,” [Gregory Campbell] said.
“There have been incidents at international matches in Dublin when the visiting teams have featured players from Glasgow Rangers who were constantly booed when they touched the ball.
Oh, here we are... I see; so, his actual motive is bitterness at the previous public/media treatment of sectarian chanting by NI fans? Did Campbell publicly condemning that incident in Lansdowne Road last year? I didn't hear a whimper.Quote:
“On most occasions when these sort of things happen it isn’t a majority of fans engaged in it, but that is equally true when it was Northern Ireland fans so it should be condemned by all sports fans.”
Racist? :confused:Quote:
Speaking last night, Mr Kennedy said: “At a time when European football is under particular scrutiny for racism, I think many will view this type of behaviour as equating to that."
But it is in the news...Quote:
One fan said: “If this had been Northern Ireland fans it would’ve been all over the news.”
On terrorism charges, I suppose? :rolleyes:Quote:
The video was posted on the internet four days ago and since then three Irish fans have been arrested in Pozan where the Republic played their opening match against Croatia last night.
Aye, without condoning a few hotheads, once again "Double Standards'R'Us"...
HAHAHA 3 out of how many thousand? I heard one of the arrests was a fella that got so drunk he soiled himself. Pity there wasn't a copy of the Newsletter lying around so he could clean himself up before the coppers noticed.
Post #92 is very telling.
O'Shea's Boot didn't elaborate on the content of the chanting. I'd be interested in knowing what he heard.
Heh, if that's the best the detractors can do.
Anyway, posted by Aido P in another thread...
"Looks like the Polish are trying to get a friendly between Poland and Ireland for some time later this year:
http://www.poland-ireland.com/
A Polish colleague of mine who lives in Poznan wrote an email containing this text this morning:
Anyway - feedback in local newspapers after Irish fans stay is very positive in most than 90% of population.
What I read , Poznań council town considers to establish partnerships with some Irish city , and Polish fans would like to organize something in Poznań with participation of Irish . eg friendly football match , etc.
Whole Poland says that the atmosphere you showed should be a practical lesson for other nations to enjoy such events with fun.
Once again thank you for your contribution to the society :-)
I'm sure everybody else who went there has had a similar response from Polish people they know so it's all good."
Some of you lads obviously think that sectarian chanting and loutish behaviour is "laughable".
That's quite sad really.
Singing the FOA is not sectarian. It is a ballad song that for me is beautiful. However, when some of our fans chant IRA at the end of its verse it is. My ancestors were in the IRA but I absolutely despise the modern IRA. I hang my head in shame when that part is sung. The vast vast majority of Irish fans do not join in with this chorus, but there are pockets that do.
People in their glass houses. You have to love them.
Is it? Were your ancestors sectarian?
Which one would that be and how do you distinguish between the activities of the "modern" and the "old" of which your ancestors were members?Quote:
My ancestors were in the IRA but I absolutely despise the modern IRA.
Whilst this is true, and it might be unsavoury for many, is it strictly indicative of sectarianism?Quote:
I hang my head in shame when that part is sung. The vast vast majority of Irish fans do not join in with this chorus, but there are pockets that do.
I find it insulting that intelligent members of this forum have continued to defend Irish fans in Poland from the tripe in the Newsletter and from Kennedy et al. That I responded at all initially rankles.
We have nothing to defend. We were exemplary. We always are. That's it.
Leave the little begrudging tossers to it. Sure what else will they talk about?
BS,
Except they may see your comments as 'laughable'...
But the difference is I don't care and do not feel the need to "take people with me".
Basing an article on YouTube footage alone is worthy of a flogging.
This stuff should just be binned.
I wouldn't even say it was pockets it's such a small minority. More like a few isolated muppets. Everyone around me was singing FOA and I didn't hear one "IRA" add-on. I've also never heard any sectarian or pro-IRA chants at any game I've been to at Lansdowne/Croker in the past five or so years I've been a regular. The fact that a few years ago some Rangers players were booed (embarassing as it is) is not evidence of widespread sectarianism within the Irish support. Sorry to disappoint the bitter NI polticians and fans.
Agreed.
Anyway for proper feedback, see what the Poles (& Spanish, Croats and Italians) said rather than the usual twisted (& hypocritical) begrudgers.
The fact that the former want a friendly game v.us, probably based on our monetary/drinking input, should be credit enough?
Huge mountain being made out of a molehill here by some idiot politician. Six drunken guys singing about IRA and f*ck the queen? Offensive to Royalists? Yes. Sectarian? No. It has become part of Irish psyche to display contempt for our british overlords of 800 years, a lot of it is said in jokingly and a bit like a peacock showing its feathers, but to claim that these guys were sectarian would be a bit of a stretch. Bigotry is always tricky territory and the line is very blurry, but I would be 95% confident that if these six fans were in a bar with england or NI fans, then they would more than likely have a pint with them and enjoy some banter.
I'm reminded of CCFC games versus Derry City, when there will be chants of "What's it like to have a queen" and "You're brits and you know you are" etc, but everytime the Derry fans will drink with City fans before and after the game, and will still have the craic with each other.
Not much point in addressing anything when you believe that chanting about having sexual intercourse with Her Majesty, Queen Elizabeth and in support of a terrorist organisation that killed and maimed thousands of Irish men, women and children would only be offensive to "Royalists" and is not sectarian.
Are you saying, for example, that there would be no problem with chanting "F**k the Pope" and songs in support of the UVF - as it is only likely to offend Republicans?
Not Brazil, you clearly don't understand "southerners" or you are a WUM. I won't give you a history lesson, but there are a lot of Irish people who would not be the queens biggest fans over the behaviour of the british state over the last 800 years. Singing about it on a street in Poland is not clever or mature perhaps but my point was that these guys singing these songs were not sectarian. It is, as I said, 5 or 6 drunk lads, doing the whole look at us we are Irish aren't we great routine. Immature, Celtic fans, peacocking if you ask me. They would probably sh*t themselves if they had to walk down a loyalist street in Belfast.
For me sectarianism is wronging people who are different to you. Whether that is bombing them, beating them up on the street, refusing them jobs, not allowing them to vote, not allowing them to stand for election etc.
As I said, if these same guys met an england fan or a NI fan, then they would more than likely, drink with them and have the craic with some banter perhaps.
I do understand "northerners" - I believe the gentlemen in the clip (who also appear in other clips venting their bile) are from Northern Ireland.
I don't need a history lesson, thanks.
They are certainly not the type of "fans" I would want to be "having the craic" with.
Will you be answering my question in post #153?
I would consider them to be immature unionists. If they were singing it in Dublin, I would think that they were deliberately trying to provoke Irish fans. If they were singing it on the streets of Poland then I would consider them to be peacocks who were trying to show off and display their britishness in an immature way.
Ok pet?
Not sure what such bile would have to do with "showing off and displaying Britishness" - I would call them sectarian neanderthals.
What do you mean?
By the way, I do find base sectarianism to be somewhat offensive - I'll not be making any apology for that.
In what way is saying "f**k the Queen" a sectarian act?