this season has more twists and turns than a country road, this is why we love the loi!!!
Printable View
this season has more twists and turns than a country road, this is why we love the loi!!!
Fingal were worth the 3 points tonight in Oriel tonight,Dundalk good in 1st half but without reward.Fingal scored with probaly their only chance of that half but both sides tried to play the ball on the deck although fingal seemed to be content sometmes to hoof it up to the big centre forward. Both sendings off were a joke! Gaynors more than O"briens.Finn finished us off with a well taken 2nd and despite the huffing & puffing from Dundalk in the later stages the result was never realy in question.
I forget who we play next:confused::) another low key game i think???
Possible referee of the year Phil Caschera made us wear our white away jerseys tonight, because our bright blue jerseys clashed with the all black athlone kit :confused:
I thought O'Briens was just as bad. No way a red card.
Fingal could have had Williams sent off though. Two fouls each meritting a yellow after he was already booked.
Fourth game in a row that refs have destroyed a game with unnecessary red cards.
Fingal deserved the points as they could finish whereas Dundalk created lots of chances but were incapable of scoring.
Shades of 1995 all over again for us.....
I'm just out of therapy for that one. Going to be a long week!
Rovers may still lose the league thanks to their shocking record at Bray for years and Dundalk "not being interested", but Galway have gone above and beyond what anyone could ask of them. Heroism unrivalled throughout the season.
Good to see Drogs celebrating Bohs equaliser at 0-0 and then joining in the celebrations at 2-0 when they realised Bohs going bust would be good..:party:
I'd say that's one hell of a dull long bus journey back from Galway.. :)
Just logged in for the first time in ages to reply to this(largely because of your username)...
YES IT IS, what a great league.
My Great Grandfather was Athlone Town's club secretary when they won the cup in 1924 but since my Grandad moved o Dublin we've always been Rovers' fans, gener\tion after generation deriving entertainment from this looney bin of a competition.
Above post was adressed to athloneman...
First off. What a joke the two sendings off where. We where right where the dundalk sending off was and it was never a red card. Gers was a yellow no doubt but never a red. I gues the ref felt the need to even things up.
As for the game, I felt we where the more professional/clinical team. While dundalk caused us a lot of problems at times they couldnt finish. Our defense for once was great and Clarke in goal did brilliantly.
On a more negative note. Your player Maher pretending that conan tried to headbutt him after the Dundalk red card was a complete disgrace, plus the fact that two scumbags came into the away section squaring up to fingal fans looking for a fight while stewards looked on, was not a good thing
After all that, what a finish we are going to have to the season. I love this league. League title still up for grabs, Europe still up for grabs, Pats and Sligo to play each other on the last day. The first division still wide open. Feels good to be part of the LOI. What football is all about.
TBH i didnt see the incident with Maher properly as it was on the op****ite side off the pitch from where i was standing but it did seem to go on a good while, so i will wait for MNS or our own video to judge that one.
On the scumbag issue: it seems like these DICKS had an issue tonight,nobody has figured out yet who with?(some knacker ran on from the shedside,we know him and he is banned) but these guys will be named and shamed.The stewards involved shouldnt be let near a football ground again and i hope yous got loads of pics of them so that we can i.d these slackers??
They were probably Shamrock Rovers fans still rioting from the other night.
Fair play lad. Nice to have a none biased honest opinion. When it comes to the maher incident we where 3 to 4 feet away from it and he pretended conan byrne head butted him (just for a second I might add). Now anybody who knows Conan (ucd fans) would know that conan would never be this kind of player. Its just not in his make up.
As for the DICKS ;) as you so rightly put it. They entered the away section no problem. They had a bottle of beer (Glass) and where squaring up to our fans looking for a fight. They where allowed to do this for a while and nothing was done. Its not like there was a lot of us and they couldnt been seen. Eventually we had them removed but when it was mentioned to the stewards that they sould be banned, they said why?, sure in the end they did nothing. Now Im not one of those fans who like to sling mud at other clubs but that was not exceptable. This is the first time in 3 years since watching fingal iv experienced this type of fan and Iv been to most away grounds this year.
I'd be fairly confident in saying that at least 6 first team players will miss our game against Rovers next week. I'd expect a bit of bad press when that happens but we have a much bigger game a few days later and it's not as though the eventual runners up (whoever that may be) will be able to lay blame at our door, seeing as both clubs have had one hand on the trophy in recent weeks.
Here's hoping we can get a good number of fans going to Galway :)
The answer the steward gave me was " Why should they be banned as they havent done anything" I then told him that he was too busy watching the match to notice anything, which he then said that he would throw me out. What was worse was that instead of throwing the 2 lads out, a female steward escorted them back round the far side with their glass bottles in hand.
Numbers on coats lads,the steward i.d is on the coats. Mail the club with them and any photos.
lads with agendas where in tonight,last home match of the season, and their mates barred etc.. and they will rot now with their buddies.
mail :dlkfc@eircom.net
What did he do?? That was some performance from our kids, don't know what it is about Bohs that seems to get them up for a game, pity they didn't show that desire in the last 5 weeks, if they had it would be UCD, and not us, facing Bray on Tuesday week. Bohs the better team, but couldn;t match us for desire or passion, which is a terrible thing for a team chasing the league title.
A word too for Bohs, fair play, ye brought a massive crowd (shamefully for us, more than half of the attendance were Bohs fans) and created a great atmosphere, I can only dream of when my club will have a similar sized passionate support - hell, ye brought more fans last night than we had for our 2 cup games or one of the games with Sligo, which is shocking
What are Bohs at?? Shower of useless mercenarys, no heart or appetite to win the league.
Shams are as good as home and dry now, on the performances last night they deserve to win the League instead of Bohs.
Delighted with the 3 points in UCD, leaving the race for Europe right down to the wire.
But correct me if im wrong but with Shams winning last night and Bohs losing and it looking very likely that Shams will win the league does that not mean we are now as good as in Europe??
As for the First Division looks like its going to be a massive night in Monaghan for the end of the season?
As posters have said before me, what a league, the Barstoolers loss.
Also any word on what Seanie Connor did?
The way the league has been going this season I wouldn't be crowning Shams yet. If we get a draw at home to Pats we'll be in Europe no matter what happens elsewhere although hopefully we can win and finish third.
It's been a great season it has to be said. Drogheda v Galway is the only meaningless game on the last day of the season
Good win for us last night. We weren't great it has to be said. Very poor in the first half. UCD should have been 1 up at half time when they went clean through but hit it straight at Kelly. A lot better in the second half. 2 good goals but still hanging on in the end after Kelly (who was dodgy with his kicking all night) kicked a clearance against Kilduff. UCD hit the post just after we got the second and Kelly made another good save from a Kilduff (I think) header. Certainly a come down from the performance of last weekend but a win is a win. Nice crowd up for it.
There was 2 kick outs given to us in the second half and I think the only 2 people in the ground who thought they were kick outs were the ref and the linesman. Baffling. One of them Foran handled the ball and and another one Kelly tipped over the bar. I fully expect any dodgy decisions we got last night or next Friday to be made up for in the cup final.
As far as I know the Sean Connor thing was just at full time he walked up understandably beaming to Pat Fenlon to shake hands, it looks like wee Fenlon decided to do some intimidating tough grip handshake thing because neither let go and Connor turned laughing/smiling in surprise that Fenlon hadn't let go, before a Galway coach lightly pushed Fenlon out of the way
Drogheda were the better team last night up until Rovers scored. Rovers are the kind of team who play well when things are going well for them, but look very jittery when they are up against it. Didn't look like champions last night. I wouldn't be too confident for them if they were playing a Bray team who were 'up for it'. However, as someone here has said, the Wanderers will have their minds on the play-offs and won't be fielding a strong side. So congratulations in order to Shams (almost).
I might be wrong, and my lip-reading skills may not what they should be, but I think Fenlon said something of the lines of "I'm sick of the sight of ye!" and Connor laughed, was all good natured, and fair play to Fenlon for going around the the United players after the game and shaking their hand. Nothing in it
Going to be a crazy week next week,Bray and Monaghan to have their biggest crowds in years, Hopefully the Saints to bring a big following to Sligo (i think we will) I wont be able to concentrate to much on the game because I will have an eye on my phone checking how Fingal are getting on (Come on UCD, If you win I will let you into my 16 team Premier) and then on Saturday night I think I will make the trip across the Liffey to watch the Shels game, This is what it is all about
Fantastic scences of joy but more so relief in the RSC last night! Athlone almost threw the cat amoung the piegons last night and to be fair to them the tried to play last night which totally suprised everyone including out players! Both goals were early christmas gifts from Sheamus Long who was terrible all night!
It was fantastic to see the heart and passion that a lot of our fans have questioned someof our players on last night in particular Liam Keaney whose desire was immense trying to rise the fans!
With the game delayed for 10 minutes Shels fans would of seen Waterford 1-2 Athlone at thier final whistle so I could only imagine the feelings when they found out thee was 10 minutes left and we won it!
What a showdown next weekend is and if Mervue can do us a favour tonight (More of a reason to with Salthills suprise win v Cork last night) then everything is to play for! Even the very very very very unlikely scenario of winning the league but goal difference would need a jesus like miracle for that to happen!
Gladly take a draw next week and Derry to win the league! We owe Mons a beating and I fancy us home or away in that!!
Putting aside any club rivalry's for a minute can I just say what a great little league we have here.Win lose or draw next week no-one can deny us the exicement of 2 leagues that no-one seems to want to win.
Poor,poor barstoolers.They don't know what they're missing!
Im still gutted beyond belief. Even if we were to win the league next week it would not be a win or team that i would be proud of. Absolute useless bottlers the lot of them. As i said on here a couple of weeks ago, if any team can throw away the league from this point, this Bohs squad will. 1 point from 12 against Galway FFS. Questions must be asked of Fenlon this season. Wrong signings. Wrong selections. Wrong tactics. Rubbish.
Regarding the league - high on excitement, very low on quality. But infinitely more interesting than the Premiership.
Shams wanted the league more and they've got it, so good luck to them.
On a side note: Viva Cretero (every cloud has a silver lining).
There'll be hundreds of Derry fans checking phones, websites, Aertel, etc. tonight desperately hoping that Mervue can do them some kind of favour, even though deep down they'll know it'll never happen. Football is cruel. Football is great.
I think yous were unlucky with the injuries, especially with the form Murphy is on. Otherwise you'd have had more variation off the bench late on. I actually thought Bohs played better yesterday than against Pat's but it wasn't to be.
It is odd to see the two potential champions looking so weak at this stage of the season. Nerves all-round.
Mevue 1 up