and he could shut lightning bolts from his aaaahhhhhhrse.
Well done MIM. How did you acquire his email address though?!
Printable View
and he could shut lightning bolts from his aaaahhhhhhrse.
Well done MIM. How did you acquire his email address though?!
Fair play mate, excellent work.
But it begs the question what are we paying Koevermans for if he finds it difficult to get in touch with a player playing in his native Holland and you managed it with apparent ease.
Delighted to see him called up, hope he's one for the future!
The Future's Bright. The Future's half green / half Orange.
Sorry.
Well done Music...
Well done Music!!
Can you email this guy Sean Rooney down under :-) ..
apparently he is eligible
http://www.theherald.com.au/news/loc...c/1383232.aspx
hehe .. well done again.
He was on Bebo of course....jaysus paul get wit da times man:D
Well done Music man - in years to come I can see you telling a yarn or two about how you backpacked to deepest darkest holland in search of the missing Paddy known as McGuire and singlehandedly you carried him back to the emerald isle on your back..........:D
Try this next time maybe
http://blog.modernmechanix.com/mags/..._wollensak.jpg
:p
Here he is scoring
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=6JgXN3...eature=related
Over on eleven-a-side.com people are saying that Maguire has declined the invitation for the time being. Can anyone confirm this?
On a serious note, I'm surprised this thread didn't make the papers, i.e. a fan contacts an eligible player, gets positive response and suddenly he's in the squad. Great story. On another note, wtf were Delaney and the management team doing while all this was going on? And Brady is really starting to get on my t*ts. First of all talking about recruiting Kyle Naughton after he was called up by the England U-21's and now this. What a pleb.
http://www.telegraaf.nl/telesport/vo...land_af__.html
Rough online translation
UTRECHT - Barry Maguire van FC Utrecht has rejected an invitation for the Irish selection under 21. The middenvelder wants continue play provisionally for the Netherlands.
„I remain provisional for Oranje game, thus Maguire, which a Dutch and Irish passport has. „Moreover do not mean this that I will play never for Ireland. Only the choice to end up definitively for a another country then the Netherlands, I have postponed. The middenvelder played already interlands for Oranje under 18 and under 19.
Cant say I blame the guy at all. It really is comical the way Brady and co have handle this and Naughton .Ben Stiller couldnt write a funny satire. Thats him gone now as the Dutch will call him in to their under 21 section.
Brady came out with a statement saying that Naughton was as good as in a green jersey while 2 days before hand the lad was in the England squad, That dutch clown that work for the Fai "could not get in contact with Maguire "...Are you joking here...They are all a pack of lazy money grabbing wasters
Ah would ye stop!!! If the lads were born and reared on the Island you'd be 100% right. But they're not.
He has a dutch mother, dutch friends, went to dutch schools and predominant exposure to dutch family so his natural affinity woul be that way and I wouldn't begrudge him that. However we should be building bridges with him and others like him to create something to counter that. D'ye know what.. The more I think of it an off the cuff mail recieved from a fan he never knew he had representing a group of people (us) wanting him to represent our country may have gone some way to counter it too...
Make these lads want to play for us.....
So what the hell are the Fai paying that clown for if he cant TRY to talk to the lad who is half Irish.
Agreed. And he's not saying that he definitely won't play for Ireland.
He's 19 and playing a friendly against Germany at this stage of the season,(for a numpty like Givens) is not going to benefit him personally or career wise at this stage.
Direct from FC Utrecht website
[LEFT][/LEFT]Quote:
FC Utrecht midfielder Barry Maguire is not available for the Irish team under 21. "I remain provisional for Orange play," he says in a comment.
Barry Maguire is in the possession of two passports, one Irish and one Dutch. He was this week by the Irish Association called for the international practice of the Under 21 team against Germany. "I have been whether it would still be a choice for or Orange or the Irish team. After easily have thought, I decided not to accept the invitation, "said the midfielder. "Moreover it does not mean that I am never going to play for Ireland. Only the final choice for a country other than the Netherlands to arrive, I postponed. "
Maguire has played an international agreement with an Irish jeugdteam, but he came out for Orange Under 18 and Under 19.