Cork City that is.:DQuote:
Originally Posted by Speranza
Printable View
Cork City that is.:DQuote:
Originally Posted by Speranza
If there was any gifting, it was youse:Quote:
Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
- Molloy shot straight at Barry Ryan when he had the whole goal to aim for
- for the free that led to our first, you had a collection of players standing around at random ten yards from the ball, instead of forming a proper wall
- apart from one shot for your goal, you put no real pressure on our sub keeper
- if your centre half hadn't belted Socky, Kelly wouldn't have given the peno, dead ball or not
doc, you are one of the more intellegent posters on this forum.Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Nightdub
so answer this. if a ball is dead, and a player strikes out:
do you
a: sanction the player (in this case a deserved red) and play on as normal, in this case a goal kick as per the rules of association football
or b: point for a goal kick, run up to the schmozzle and then point to the spot as per the voices in kelly's bleached blond little head?
how your defender didnt get a red card for deliberate hand ball in the last man position as the rovers striker was teeing up a shot is a disgrace. if the ref had applied the rules to a niggly game we would have probably got a point.
at least admit you got the rub of the green, we would.
Maguire did not deserve to be sent off. It wasn't deliberate handball it struck him on the arm...
And apparently TV3 showed last night that the ball wasn't out of play, so therefore a pnalty had to be awarded as I said on the Rovers forum, Kelly did not cost you the game last night. It was the ****e players you have in your team and the bizarre formation (Foley up front? Rutherford full back? Kenny?)
This is the point, lads. Not whether it was a penalty or not. Irrespective of any other decisions that anyone thinks Kelly gave us...it does not get away from the fact that he did the above..Quote:
If he decided it was a penalty, why run over to it and then make the decision? What difference was it to make by running over there, because he must have not have made his decision...it's like he seen something there that made his decision....................................... :confused: :confused:
I have never seen a penalty be given like that - ever at games I've been to or saw.
That is separate from the handball preventing a goalscoring opportunity from the last man back..
Option (a) obviously. The fact remains that if your player hadn't hit ours in the first place, Kelly wouldn't have heard any little voices. As for running up to the schmozzle, part of his job as ref is to sort out such schmozzles, what's he meant to do, stand by and watch both teams kill each other?Quote:
The referee is there to control all these issues, Dr. Nightdub...
He didn't. He didn't give the penalty - regardless of whether our player shot the Pats striker - immediately as he should do if he thinks it's a penalty. Bad Refereeing 1.
He then ran over and gave the penalty and ran away from the incident. Bad Refereeing 2.
Then a fight ensues between a lot of players and he has lost control of the issue. Bad Refereeing 3.
That is not good enough.
I assume that he ran over to the penalty spot and pointed towards the goal / at the spot for the penalty?
If so - then what Kelly did is correct - that is how we have been instructed to signal for a spot kick from the start of this season by FIFA.
From a Referees Instructor colleague of mine from England:
"Although the instruction at league/contrib is to move towards the Penalty Mark pointing, then take a position to accept the congratulations"
you are trying to avoid answering the question.Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Nightdub
mcdonnell lashed out and deserved to go. but the ball was dead (monday night will clear it up once and for all but i was sure kelly pointed for a goal kick) and as such he actually ran away from the flare up to overrule himself.
you are contradicting yourself on this.
from todays Irish Times:
"But St Patrick's Athletic had the final say when Shamrock Rovers defender Gavin McDonnell kicked out at Seán O'Connor after fouling him inside the area and referee Alan Kelly - who hadn't given the penalty for the initial challenge - pointed to the spot."
voices or not he cannot make that call from that set of circumstances and i hope the rovers board lodge a formal complaint if for no reason other than to hightlight that his father decides if he stays on the premier panel or not.
I'm looking at it from behind the Pats' keeper on the hill..
He is outside and to the left of the box when the incident happens at the edge of the right hand side of the box. Nothing is given, he then runs across the penalty box to the incident, past the penalty spot and just as he gets to the fallen pat's player, he then points to the spot and runs back across (left) to the penalty spot.
He did not consult any linesman, he did not give the decision as it occurred and he lost any respect I used to have for him before the start of last season.
read the threads again. that is the fourth thing he did after allowing play to go on after a dive, signalling a goal kick, running to a dust up and running away from it without intervening.Quote:
Originally Posted by Réiteoir
you are a referee, if the ball is dead can you give a penalty for someone throwing a kick?
even the pats players looked embarrassed.
Yeah, they had a lot of luck in the 1/4 final too! O'Donovan divin all over the place. 1)for the sendin off and... 2)for the penalty!!:mad:Quote:
Originally Posted by Conor H
Sorry ... missed this last night .... I'll say one thing ... if we had an on-form striker all year, it would have been well wrapped up by now.Quote:
Originally Posted by Conor H
What an irrelevant remark. If Finn Harps had an on-form team all year, they may have won the league - the fact is you didn't have a prolific striker
I believe there's a Sligo fan on here whose signature is "If my aunt had balls, she'd be my uncle". :)Quote:
Originally Posted by A face
ya thats sligoman.....and he was quoting our manager Sean Connor
Aye, that's me bluemovie:DQuote:
Originally Posted by The Stars
IF the ball is dead at the point of contact - then a penalty kick cannot be awarded - you can send someone off however - but you must restart with a goal kick.Quote:
If the ball ISN'T dead at the point that contact is made - but subsequently runs dead - then a penalty CAN be awarded.
We need to see film of this
Seen it over the weekend on the TV3 footage. Ball was definitely in play when McDonnell struck O'Connor. Correct decisionQuote:
Originally Posted by Réiteoir
I'm doing nothing of the sort. If - note, IF - the ball was dead, he should've simply red-carded McDonnell and given the free or kickout, but no peno. I've also pointed out that the opportunity for Kelly to award a peno wouldn't have arisen if your player hadn't been a moron.Quote:
I suggest we park this until after eL Weekly tomorrow night.