Honestly how could you fault that view ? He was literally there to open the new pitch that night and it was wrecked. Our own worst enemy sometimes
Printable View
I doubt it is different in the LOI as it is in the NIFL were if police are required to operate inside a ground then not only do the club need to pay for the service but the police could require complete control of the ground at costs clubs could not afford.
For the Garda to take any criminal action, they firstly need to identify the offender. That is not an easy task. The legal bar for that is set very high. A grainy bit of cctv footage through smoke and high intensity light showing numerous people all dressed in black and masked up will not suffice.
Im no expert on Guards, or the dynamics with LOI clubs, so maybe I shouldn't be speaking.
I just know getting them out to you know, solve crime can be quite difficult.
Local GAA club here was scammed out of 1000s by lads who forced the groundsman to let them tarmac their car park under threat of violence (of course it was just dumped). Guards just said they shouldn't have paid and left it. Lots of people around here have similar kind of stories.
Yeh the F45 lads need to be banned for a while from United Park and away games. It's the only way the message will get across. The fact they put a video up Sat morning laughing about the incident and the week of the game numerous of the groups own social media pages were saying they would do it
I've actually met these lads in Mother Hughes before a game a few years ago when I was in Drogheda early for a game, and most of them were 100% and had the craic with them but actions like this must have consequences
As a lot of them have personal relationships with J Byrne I doubt they will ban them imo
The guards have been absolutely useless in Galway in relation to a number of incidents in Woodquay and the ground in recent years. Rather than diffusing situations, they have actively made them worse or just seem to let things happen before intervening at the last minute. It would be very easy to control what are usually relatively small and isolated incidents with basic crowd control practice but this seems to be alien to them. A couple of innocent bystanders were very lucky to not be seriously injured by pyro and a full can of beer being thrown and just missing their heads by inches. All while the guards watched on.
Every club should have a high fence between away fans and the pitch. Most supporters are fine but there's always a few that have the potential to let the side down.
Also, imo, if a supporter decides to cover his face with a balaclava or scarf, stewards and guards should view this as a threat to public safety and be entitled to kick the shyte of them
You have clearly never been in many grounds when it's freezing cold if you think using a scarf for warmt on your face is a problem, its all you can do to stop your cheeks from freezing over. It's nearly March and I'm dreading how cold it's going to be in Tallaght later and it's not even a cold day out
This is it! Why you want Gardai who were standing watching in proximity to act and grab at least a few of the culprits. There are numerou accounts from local residents that Gardaà stood and watched these scumbags divide out and conceal the flares before entering the ground. Can the confiscate these items, I dont know if the law exists to do so, but they could have had some cop on and tipped off security!! Once in the ground identifying individuals to charge etc is going to be hard to mae stick in court if there is any doubt as to who was responsible with many, dressed the same...it means it must be dealt with through football association itself and a collective responsibility attitue taken so group bans, BCD games and so on. I dont like that the minister is taking a wider perspective, has another grant funded facility in the league been severely vandalised? If grounds were properly funded and developed facilities its makes it a lot easier to prevent crowd problems, proper turnstyles, cctv, distances from pitch and the like. I still am not sure the penny has dropped for a lot of Droghea fan that were laughing at this, especially the ones that are not F45. I still havent seen more than a few speak out. MeathDrog here, Deputy Drog on Orielweb, a few on various FB pages but the amount that havent revised their perspective in the cold light of day is still concerning. Doubling down - I hope it is jut pride and that they are quietly quite worried about the ramifications. But its not regret at what happened its worry about what may happen and I think its an important ditinction in the grander scheme of things. We shouldnt be ok with wanton scumbaggery just in case of consequences - failings of societal attitude, basic decency!
Absolute howler from McGinty. Dundalk created very little but get their rewards for staying in the game right till the end
Created very little? Loads of chances, admittedly poorly executed for the most part but easily gaining parity. Rovers were apart from a twenty minute spell poor enough.
Can see why you wanted Mulraney gone though.
I only saw the last 30 minutes and Dundalk looked good value for their draw. McGinty was terrible for the cross
Helps sooth the dropping of points late on by pick up 1 in similar fashion. There is a fight and resilience to this Dundalk side. I think we'd have taken 3 points from 3 games (unbeaten) when you include Derry and Rovers, derby game too which is never easy. The gap in ability iwas very apparent tonight but all you can do is limit stronger opposition and hope to nick a goal. 1st half it looked a matter of time before the rearguard conceeded a couple. 2nd half better. Not convinced it was a straight red, 2nd yellow, same result on the night but less suspended games. If there was a doubt ref could and should have given yellow knowing Leonard was on 1 already.
Good to see Teahan appears to be making an impression, if being promoted to the starting XI's any indication, granted rotation must also have entered the equation there.
Brain fart on my behalf! I was meant to say Rovers created very little (in terms of what would’ve been expected of them in a game like this) and Dundalk got their rewards for sticking in the game after the red, which is when rovers should’ve killed the game off given the numerical advantage. Kearns had a much quieter night than he’d have expected.Yeah I can’t see Mulraney lasting too long if he carries on the way he’s started life at rovers (granted it’s still very early days) when you look at the other options in that squad
He is pretty highly regarded in Oriel. Surprised if he doesn't nail the starter position by the end of the year.
Delighted with that result. 5 changes made from Drogheda as well, so there is depth to that squad.
Also, the red card is ridiculous, Greene is going away from goal, and is miles out and there is another defender there. No way a definite goalscoring opportunity. Its 100% a second yellow, so doesnt effect the match, but still a terrible call.
Rovers looked very good in patches.