There's no way I'd ever cheer on probably the most anti-Irish team in world football.
"God Save the Queen", "No surrender", "Dirty Fenian b*****d". Need I go on?Quote:
Originally Posted by pete
Printable View
There's no way I'd ever cheer on probably the most anti-Irish team in world football.
"God Save the Queen", "No surrender", "Dirty Fenian b*****d". Need I go on?Quote:
Originally Posted by pete
"A rising tide lifts all boats".
Feck it - I've decided that I'm supporting Shels on Saturday.
We've all been smuggly bragging for years about how much better the Eircom league is than the Irish League. The results of the competition show far have done nothing to prove this, and Linfield winning the competition would in fact completely destroy this much-cherished view that EL fans have.
Parochial self-interest needs to be put aside for the greater good of the EL.
Bragging rights for the league is just as important as bragging rights for any one club here.
I'm supporting Shels.....
Apart from Cork being their usual bitter selves (ironic considering Murphy's is brewed there), the vast majority of eircom League fans want Shels to win on Saturday. Even if it wasn't Linfield, I'd always shout for the eircom League team. I even wanted Cork and Rovers to do well in Europe in recent seasons. Cork are so pathetically-bitter they said that if Blues were in Europe and had to play in Turner's Cross, they would all turn up and shout for the opposition. Despite this, I want them to win in Europe this year in the same way that I want Shels to win on Saturday against a non-eL team.
I'll be cheering on Linfield for the win tbh - anything to stop the Poisonous Little Dwarf and Oily getting their hands on the €uro.
And as for the seeding thing in Europe - I'm pretty sure it was Bohs who dragged the co-efficient rating up sufficiently for our clubs to be seeded in future competition.
Then Shels went and undid the good work by losing to the Maltese Ice Cream sellers.
I'm pretty sure that the success in Europe that Shels had last season was due in some part to our performances against Aberdeen, Kaiserslautern, etc.
Not true at all, it got Bohs seeded but Shels were unseeded last year. Now we've dragged the co-efficent up for everyone to be seeded this year unless the fair play draw messes everything up.Quote:
Originally Posted by Réiteoir
Thanks for the clarification - i was pretty sure that we would have got all the other clubs seeded in future draws.Quote:
Originally Posted by Slash/ED
And how restrained of you not to mention Levadia :D
The main thing you run did was get yourself seeded for the next five years, the win in Germany was worth more to Bohs than to any other league club as you got a big club co-efficent because of it which didn't go to any other league clubs.
And I think it's fair to say the less said about Levadia the better :D
David Jeffrey is quite frankly the biggest bulls*itter in Irish League football. He talks balls to the media and to anyone who knows him (he has been around for near 30 years now) we know he is hardcore Linfield through and through. Let me give you an example -Quote:
Originally Posted by Shelsman
In the Football Show leading up to the title decider at the Oval, there was a feature done with David and Roy Coyle chatting walking round a wee forest area - David came out with the statement that there is a huge respect and admiration between Glentoran and Linfield as clubs, it's players, management, board (fair enough), and most of all its supporters!!!!!!!!!!! When it went back to the studio with Logie and Beacom, they both looked at each other and Logie said, Glens and Linfield fans....huge respect Beacey?
Stephen Beacom replied "They hate each other - Absolutely cant stand each other."
Sanity was restored - A blind corpse could see that the fans are 'rivals' and cant stand each other and the respective clubs - David Jeffrey has been involved with Linfield for nearly 25 years as player and manager - He knows the score in that regard, and the fact he was able to come up with that statement while keeping a straight face shows that he is the king of spin.....nope, make that bare faced lies - How can hatred be interpreted as respect and admiration.
The David Jeffrey that speaks out in the media is a sanitised, politically correct version of the real man and I can't take him seriously.
I have lost count of the times he has angered us Glens fans by his ayatola antics before each match, parading round the pitch hands aloft saluting his fans and punching the air before the match has even begun.
He also does commentary on the Irish Cup final and things, and he is a complete bloody hoot - He calls everyone by their christian names eg Vincent Arkins for f*cks sake :D. Ill give you that he is a character, and when the Blues aren't winning the league and we are, I quite like him.;)
My god were you describing David Jeffrey or Pat Dolan there? :D
So the Bohs do the donkey work and the Shels claim ALL the credit for getting to the finishing line. Unless you are now going to deny that your previous posts didn't in fact take ALL the credit with no mention of the Bohs!! :rolleyes:Quote:
You what? Bohs, like every team who won in Europe, got the co-efficent for the country up however simply without Shels European run last year Cork and Longford would not be seeded, I said that in answer to the person who said Shels run did nothing for Cork and the rest of the league.Quote:
Originally Posted by steveyg2004
You're looking for things that aren't there.
I'll be supporting Shels on Saturday. I do think our league is better but have no evidence to show that based on results so far.
I would always support an EL side in Europe also or against any team from outside our league. Appreciate Shels have never been real rivals to us (but that will change soon hopefully) but think support for the league should transcend club rivalry.
Above all though I really hope for a cracking game on saturday night, decent crowd, great viewing figures and a showcase for both leagues. Setanta have put a lot of money into football on this island and it is important for all of us that this is a success on and off the field. We could do with a few Roman Abramvichs or even Malcolm Glazers investing in domestic football..
Cork and Longford are not confirmed as seeds yet afaik. Based on last year's revised format for the UEFA Cup they are likely to be but could be squeezed out.Quote:
Shels will be seeded in the 1st qualifying round as they have a club coefficient. Our country coefficient is close for a champions league seeding.
All clubs that won and drew in Europe contributed to our coefficient. Both Bohs and Shels have contributed some great nights and some embarrassing disasters. Bohs win in Germany doesn't apply after this year. Shels will be the only team with a club coefficient thanks to their draw with Lille.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shelsman
Just passing through and nice to see a fellow ILF'er here. Just to back up Stevey has said, you only need to read his comments following last nights game to see for your selfQuote:
Also his recent comments in the press about Cliftonville FC have lead to Cliftonville taking legal advice on the matter.Quote:
"It was particularly nice to do it at the Oval in front of the Glentoran supporters," said Jeffrey.
"We gave them a right thrashing. There are a lot of people who have given us abuse and this will have shut them up."
Yeah it depends on the fair play draw, ie if the team who gets entered from the fair play draw has a bigger co-efficent it pushes them down the list, but hopefully they'll be seeded.Quote:
Originally Posted by gspain
Superb post SteveyG. Should be put in a frame.Quote:
It's ironic that those who are objecting to southerners backing 'bigoted' Linfield are the very ones who are digging the sectarian trench deeper.
I'm backing Linfield because they are a progressive club with active anti-sectarian policies; because if they win they will deprive $hels of money which they will use negatively to sabotage other club's squads; because Shels are imposters in north Dublin; because I like the cut of the Linfield manager's jib, bull****ter or no; because Shels' owner is bizarrrely bitter towards the real north Dublin club; and, last but not least, because it will upset D2 Red. :D
Shels, but what's wrong with a Cork fan supporting Linfield here ? I would support any Northern team rather than another EL side that is serious competition to Shelbourne.
Please people, forget the very slight minority up there singing Billy Boys, try to dismantle the link between football and politics. Same with the Rangers vs Celtic thing, everytime I was in a pub seeing a game of one of these teams it seems to be more about politics than about sports...
If a Cork fan decides Saturday to support Linfield, I can understand and will not judge it. On the contrary, I'd do the same if Glentoran, Ports or Linfield were playing Cork or Longford in the final. It's about sports, not about politics, and in sporting terms it's only normal you rather not see your big concurrents win a giant amount of money.
I find it deeply regrettable that someone (don't know who) replied with Billy Boys lyrics when a Cork fan asks if they know a Linfield chant. We all saw om IrishLeagueForums.net what the majority of Linfield fans thinks of sectarianism. They judged what happened in Longford as much as any catholic, nationalist EL fan.
and a sidenote: "you support an EL side over a non-EL side anytime"... Right yeah :rolleyes: say the same people who were mocking last season on Bohs' elimination by some Estonian amateur team.
I supported Bohs against Tallin last year but it didn't stop me laughing at them afterwards (same with Shels against Hibs of Malta). I hoped they'd win but I'm not going to pass up the chance to take the pi$$ out of them after they lost. I don't see why supporting a team in one match means that you can't go back to disliking them afterwards. :confused:
I support Belgian clubs in Europe, with the exceptance of Anderlecht. I disliked them ever since I was a young kid, and support the other team no matter what the consequences may be for Belgian football. If Standard or Bruges play Europe, they have my sympathy unless it's vs Rosenborg (but happened only once so far...)
Let's face it, hating a team is just as normal as liking a team. I can understand Cork fans supporting Linfield on Saturday, as I said I'd support the Northern lads as well if it wasn't Shels they were playing. It's only normal, unless of course you can't stop from adding a political undertone to the confrontations. But let's please stop from doing that, this is just a football game Shelbourne FC vs Linfield FC and not a Nationalist vs Unionist battle ; let's ignore the very slight minority of fans who think it is, we've seen enough that for the average Shelbourne and LInfield fan it is nothing political.