care to elaborate ????Quote:
Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan
Printable View
care to elaborate ????Quote:
I dont fully agree with your statement about Park having 15-20 players good enough to make any team in the Premier.Quote:
Originally Posted by Goals4fun
My opinion would be they have 3/4 that would challenge to be on EVERY team in the Premier but only 10/12 at most that would get on ANY team in the Premier. I'm not even sure if they have 20 in their squad at the moment.
Park promised so much at the beginning of the year in the league when they beat Pike and had a great start. However they have still failed to challenge for the league after again showing so much promise.
I really thought they would make a push this year but it seems like same old same old....
However they are going well so far in the Fai but they have thier 1st real challenge next Sunday. I mean who have they played so far bar the Boro...
I'll be there shouting them on Sunday though and I give them every chance if Shane O'Connor can deliver. If only they had someone good enough to play up front with him as I fear they depend on him too much.... They would have gone out in Corbally in Rd 3 only for his last minute equaliser.
I think Park have a few very good players , but not all are Premier standard. How many would make the teams of Fairview, Pike, Balla, Boro. Not many I think. They seem to operate a under a very good work ethic but not as tallented when it comes to football.
From other threads you seem to be a big admirer of Shane O'Connor. I agree with you that he is a very talented youngster and should be on the oscar traynor team but then it is very hard for lads outside the city walls to make this panel, as has been seen for many a year !
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goals4fun
I believe Shane was called into the Oscar Traynor panel for the game Sunday week vs the AUL in Dublin. I'm not sure is he replacing someone or just added to the panel.
Himself and O'Neill from Pike up front for Limerick would be good and they are both Clare players.
Quote:
From what I have seen of Park this season they have a very good sense of togetherness about them and will never stop working. They might not have 11 players of extreme class but they have a team who works very hard and that is complemented with likes of S O Connor and Jamie Cullen..The last 2 league results have been a setback but they were only draws and not defeats and still have to play the so called big guns so they still have a chance to challenge for the league. Regarding the fai, I disagree that the only test they have had was the boro as they still had to travel away to roscommon and sligo and get results. On paper janesboro are the only big team they have played but the other sides also were tricky.
Is that squad announced ? What is it ?Quote:
I do believe that he should have been in it much earlier but wil Jaws play him as he surley has a reserve striker in his panel before Robbie Kelleher left and this was not SOC.
Lads , see Park is your main topic of conversation for the last 20 or so posts! This gives all the more credence to them being a "clare league team" being on this particular tread!!!!
There seems to be a lot of opinions out there on this squad. I have seen them on a few occasions this season and they are very much improved ..
Couple of things that might get ye thinking a little more positively ..
1. Only team to have beaten Pike this season
2. Only one defeat all season in 90mins
3. That was against Balla who they played off the "park" that day only to fall to two late goals(Balla have been doing that a lot this season). Balla couldnt believe they had won that day.
4. They have conceded fewest goals in the premier so far this season.
When someone mentions "same old Park" you have to remember that they have made big strides forward this season. Two seasons ago they finished 3rd from bottom and just avoided the drop. They are not a massive team in town(although they think they are bigger than they really are!!!!) but to challenge for the league this year , even if they fall short , would be a great boost.
I think they will finish fourth but they will have a big say in the dest of the trophy. I am not now , nor will I ever b a Park supporter but as an avid follower of Lim League soccer thought that you were doing them an injustice with the content of your posts ...
Best of luck tomorrow Park , now I am off to the Lim League thread!!!!!!
I know that Bunratty beat Bridge Utd. 3-2 and Corofin beat Kilkishen 3-0 but did any of ye hear any other Clare League results from yesterday. Also, has anyone seen fixtures for next weekend? :confused:
Maloney Hardware Shannon Premier Division League
Moher Celtic 0 Newmarket Celtic A 1
Lifford A.F.C. 6 Connolly Celtic 1
Avenue United A (P-P) Newtown A
Cratloe Celtic A 0 Rinnanna Rovers A 3
Bunratty A 3 Bridge United A 2
Clare Hire & Sales First Division League
Tulla United A (P-P) Bunratty B
Rock Rovers (P-P) Kilmaley United
Bridge Celtic A 2 Kilrush Rangers 0
Corofin Harps 3 Kilkishen Celtic A 0
SEL Print Second Division League
Bridge United B (P-P) Turnpike Rovers
Hermitage 4 Cratloe Celtic B 1
Burren United 4 St.Pats A 2
Tullycrine Celtic 1 Avenue United B 3
Kildysart Celtic Cooraclare Celtic
Suttons Lighting Third Division League
Newmarket Celtic B (P-P) Kilkee
Shannon Olympic B Tulla United B
Kilkishen Celtic B Ennistymon Town
St.Pats B 4 Bridge Celtic B 2
Manus Celtic 5 Rinnanna Rovers B 2
Newtown B (P-P) Rhine Rovers
Lynch Hotels Clare & District Soccer League Fixtures
Saturday 19/02/05
Gallivan Kennedy Youths League Section A
Ruan: Lifford A.F.C V Turnpike Rovers
P.Cullen 2.30
Sixmilebridge: Bridge United V Newmarket Celtic
P.Sutton 2.00
Gallivan Kennedy Youths League Section B
Kilkishen: Kilkishen Celtic V St.Pats
F.Coote 2.30
Lahinch: Moher Celtic V Hermitage
P.Gleeson 2.30
Sunday 20/02/05
Maloney Hardware Shannon Premier Division League
Newmarket: Newmarket Celtic A V Cratloe Celtic A
P.Cullen 11.00
Ruan: Lifford A.F.C. V Bunratty A
M.O`Brien 11.00
Fairgreen: Avenue United A V Moher Celtic
P.Markham 11.00
Ballycasey: Newtown A V Rinnanna Rovers A
J.Deniffee 2.30
Sixmilebridge: Bridge United A v Connolly Celtic
D.McCarthy 11.00
Clare Hire & Sales First Division League
Scariff: Mountshannon Celtic V Tulla United A
P.Mulready 11.00
Shannon: Shannon Olympic A V Kilmaley United
F.Coote 11.00
CBS Kilrush: Kilrush Rangers V Rock Rovers
P.Dunne 2.30
Corofin: Corofin Harps V Bridge Celtic A
F.Coote 2.30
Bunratty: Bunratty B V Kilkishen Celtic A
T.McInerney 2.00
SEL Print Second Division League
Sixmilebridge: Bridge United B V Kildysart Celtic
D.McCarthy 1.30
Fairgreen: Turnpike Rovers V Burren United
P.Markham 1.30
Cooraclare: Cooraclare Celtic V St.Pats A
P.Gleeson 10.30
Tullycrine: Tullycrine Celtic V Hermitage
P.Gleeson 1.00
Coonagh: Cratloe Celtic B V Avenue United B
A.Murphy 2.00
Suttons Lighting Third Division League
Newmarket: Newmarket Celtic B V Shannon Olympic B
D.Cunningham 2.00
Norrie Henchies: Tulla United B V Newtown B
A.Murphy 11.00
Lahinch: Ennistymon Town V Kilkee
M.O`Brien 2.00
Kilmhill: St.Pats B V Manus Celtic
P.Dunne 11.00
Rinnanna: Rinnanna Rovers B V Kilkishen Celtic B
D.Cunningham 11.00
O`Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic B V Rhine Rovers
J.Stanford 11.00
Looks like big game in first division is Corofin V Bridge Celtic.
Bridge Celtic seem to be back on track after their victory over
the weekend. After their big win last weekend I think Corofin
could win this one.
I'd have to disagree. Having seen Bridge Celtic a couple of weeks ago and Corofin yesterday, I think there's no comparison between the teams. Kilkishen were rubbish yesterday but should still have been 3 up before Corofin scored with their first shot on target. The one thing in their favour is that they have home advantage and the tight pitch suits them down to the ground. They are tough to beat at home but if Bridge have designs an winning the division, this is the type of game they should be winning.Quote:
Originally Posted by gaffer
I reckon Kilmaley against Olympic could be the game of the day. Kilmaley seem to have picked themselves up after a dodgy start to the league and had a good win against Bridge Celtic a couple of weeks ago, while Olympic are a big strong team who are able to play also. The opposite here, Olympic have a big open pitch which will suit them and if Joey O'Neill gets the service, he'll punish any hesitant defence.
I know he's carrying a bit of weight but I've seen him three times this season and he's scored each time, from half chances. There's a lot to be said for it!!Quote:
Originally Posted by handyman
If Olympic can afford to leave him out, they have to be contenders.
what is happening at newmarket with the loss of two top class players in a short space of time,i did'nt think i'd see them leaving ever
Quote:
Originally Posted by striker
They still had a good win last Sunday without them. Maybe the new signing Eoin Nash will prove to be an able replacement.
they will be back. They couldn't cut it a few years ago at Park and went home with their tails between their legs.Quote:
Originally Posted by striker
Now the joy of travelling into town for training , how long will it last ?
Get it right Handicap :D :D . He was captain of Bunratty B and always on the team when fit....Quote:
Anyone have any predictions for the games coming up at the weekend?????
Should be a few good ones. I expect Newmarket to make it 2 wins in a row and Bridge Utd should account for Connolly.... Bunratty vs Lifford is very hard to call after both had good wins last Sunday.
In the 1st Kilkishen will start favourites in their game and I suppose its hard to know what the Maley will be like when the visit Special Olympic!!!!!! 1st division could be closely fought this season between 4/5 teams....
hey handy with the words, who is this aimed at ?Quote:
Can anyone tell me what is happening in Clare soccer at the moment? I mean the county makes massive strides in the last few years in terms of facilities and also winning the oscar traynor cup last year and now it seems to have died down again. Some of the big clubs are not so big anymore, ie Avenue. What's happening?
Quote:
Originally Posted by guvnor
according to you all the good players are playing at Park now :D ! Was that not you getting up support for them at an earlier date !