Quote:
Originally Posted by what biy!
we should have that travelling from cork alone...
average gate in the cross---well say 5,000 ( not precise)
if we only got 5% of that on buses...
that is not a big ask :confused:
Printable View
Quote:
Originally Posted by what biy!
we should have that travelling from cork alone...
average gate in the cross---well say 5,000 ( not precise)
if we only got 5% of that on buses...
that is not a big ask :confused:
Trying to be mathematical here.
One drop of the Riverside stand holds about 500. There seemed to be one full drop of Cork fans, then about another two-thirds of one scattered on either side. Makes about 800-900.
Shels - mainstand full. 2,500. New Stand full, 1,100. About 200 in the end of the Riverside and standing behind the goal. About 3,800.
Total attendance about 4,700.
Oh and a blind man on a galloping horse could have seen it wasn't a penalty. Apparently O'Flynn admitted as much afterwards.
I thought the ref had a good game actually. For once.
Arrived a tad late the other night, missed the first 10 minutes.
Was allowed enter the ground at the Shels end and to enter the ground and see the mass of city fans in the stand it made my heart proud and brought a tear to the eye. Then as City had a corner at the time I composed myself enough to give the City players a few word of encouragement.
We played them off the pitch, Devine didn't have one save to make in the whole game really. We were hungrier and Gamble is turning into the missing part of the puzzle. I though Pat might have made a change with about 15 left. My preference would have been Fenn for Kearney, poor old Frodo looked wrecked after a super game, switch Billy to the left, Doyler on the right and Fenn up front with JOF. The substitution when it came was disappointing, cause there was only about 2 minutes left and it looked like the kind of change you'd make if you were ahead and wanted to waste some time.
Really proud of the players and of the fans who made the journey.
Even after our bus broke down, we got the replacement and didn't miss too much. Its a long time since I got home at 5am but even though we didn't get that bit of luck required the lads did us proud. City til I die.
Do you mean by the new stand, if so, I think they were there for the second half having been at the opposite end of the old stand for the first half.Quote:
Originally Posted by The Sheliban
12 months ago, when Shels beat City to win the league, there was the same numbers of Shels fans. If it was City about to win the league, then the cross would be full for most league games. This will be demonstrated in our remaining 3 homes games particularly if Shels slip up tonight. We could have 1 or 2 sell outs if it goes to the wire.
That's the crucial thing alright.Quote:
Originally Posted by Fair_play_boy
It's great to have a load of newcomers as long as they keep going to away games on a regular basis now that they've experienced it.
The newcomers who won't go to another away game until this time next year aren't much good to us to be honest, a lot of people might not like that view but it's the truth.
Hopefully a lot of people will have caught the away game buzz now and will travel more often.
If the league are serious about having away supporters at games, they will have to play games on Saturdays, that will give people the chance to travel.Quote:
Originally Posted by Colm
If you had a 5 o'clock kickoff, for instance, I reckon you could get at least 2 buses to every away game.
However, Friday nights seem to work well here in Cork, would a Saturday evening kick-off work out as well?
I think we'd lose nearly 1000 off our average gate if were to play on a Saturday and the extra 100 or so away supporters who'd travel would not come close to making up for this.Quote:
Originally Posted by patsh
Any time we've switched from our regular friday ko in recent years we've seen a substantial drop in the crowd (euro games aside obviously).
In the past two season, City have always had a fairly good crowd who travel on a Friday evening to Dublin, I don't see why other clubs can't bring the same size crowds to Cork on a Friday.
while it would suit you or i, i think you'll find crowds have always been down when we play on saturdays. for years this has been the caseQuote:
Originally Posted by Guerzy
yeah but you're not comparing like with like. both teams i.e. Pats and City had been more or less neck and neck that season. This season City had a mid season slump after the inter toto cup thing, and our home crowds have been down since (e.g. only 4000 for Shamrock Rovers last month). So the expectation was a bit lower than that time in '99. Our fans were completely hyped up that night, a genuine expectation that we were gonna do the business. The atmosphere in the pub beforehand was fantastic. Also the time of year has an effect. That night in '99 the weather was grand and dry, a perfect Spring evening, just the job for tempting the punters out. We're heading for winter now, dark evenings etc, it has an effect for sure. It's the price we have paid for switching to summer football. It would be interesting if someone could dig up exact figures to assess the effect of summer football on match attendance. Overall I'd say it's up, but at this time of year it is probably down a bit on previous years when the season finished in April/May. If your team are out of the running but the weather is alright, a Spring evening etc, and a pint afterwards, why not. If yer team are out of contention, it's dark and the weather is miserable, it's more like 'what's on the telly?' Not saying I agree! Just that I think it's a factor in determining overall attendancesQuote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Nightdub
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Sheliban
pic on corkcityfc.ie of this tackle and honestly it seems there was very minimal contact, if any at all
but then look at the highlights and there was a bit of contact.i've seen penalties given for less.Quote:
Originally Posted by thecorner
:confused:Quote:
Originally Posted by thecorner
:confused:Quote:
Originally Posted by Gandhi
where did ye get those figured from lads? just curious where people draw such conclusions from.
Obviously the man himself missed that too, since he said it wasn't a penalty.Quote:
Originally Posted by xtreme rebel
As for the average attendences, the club have to keep them and send them to the FAI but unfortunately don't have to publish them.
When did he say this?Quote:
Originally Posted by Slash/ED
After the match to Pat Fenlon.Quote:
Originally Posted by razor
They were probably talking about how he'll slot into our team next year to be honest :)Quote:
Originally Posted by Guerzy
In your dreams.......:rolleyes:Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by yan
The Sun-huh!
Proof that the City support must have been closer to the 700 mark!
And you believe Fenlon ?Quote:
Ye wouldn't want him, he's very injury prone.Quote:
You think Fenlon would come out after the match and publicaly state that O'Flynn said it wasn't a penalty if that wasn't true, knowing full well O'Flynn would go straight to the media and say he never said that and make Fenlon look like an idiot? It would be a stupid thing to do, and it hardly matters a jot to Fenlon weather it was a penalty or not, it wasn't given and the match was over. To lie publically about what someone said to you is just leaving you open to look like a fool, espically when it's over something irrelevent. Note the lack of denial on O'Flynns part and also, as TV3 even pointed out, the fact that he didn't appeal one bit to the referee after the tackle, he just got up and walked away. If he thought it was a pen he'd have been all over the ref.Quote:
Originally Posted by razor