But he's so linked with Denis O'Brien now that surely they no longer need to curry favour with two-bit celebs.
I hate singers of the anthem.
Imagine what Poznan v Croatia would have been like. I was nearly brought to tears that night.
But he's so linked with Denis O'Brien now that surely they no longer need to curry favour with two-bit celebs.
I hate singers of the anthem.
Imagine what Poznan v Croatia would have been like. I was nearly brought to tears that night.
It could be a favour of sorts to somebody and Delaney reaps the reward. It could also be just another instalment of the inane planning of the stadium atmosphere experience for fans by idiots, music after the goal type schmaltz, as if a fan's goal celebration need to be enhanced. The singing of the anthem at Ireland games didn't need any interference.
Anyway, the Garda Band alone provided as much sex appeal enhancement as was needed for such an occasion.
I've no problem with local Irish singers singing the anthem. In fact, I'd support it.
But Nadia Forde's version goes on forever. It's depressing.
Agree with above post about playing songs after celebrations. Irish Rover and all that ****e. Embarrassing and cringeworthy.
Imagine they'd done that after Jason McAteer scored against Holland? Would've taken away from the enormity of that goal.
I hear them blasting out Fields of Athenry during Ireland samoa rugby match last weekend just during the game. Not after a try or anything...brutal!
Agree with you on the songs after celebrations /goals and affecting the enormity of them.
But equally i would apply that logic to a hired singer who is on the pitch for the anthem....it takes away from the enormity of the anthem
Nothing better than the feeling on big match nite , walking up lansdowne Rd , the nerves flowing through you, the excitment, seeing the stadium and getting ready to unleash everything you got to support the lads..... and bursting your lungs belting out the anthem in unison with your fellow supporters.........thats if Nadia and her like havent come along and squeezed the life out of it
surely the players want to hear the fans reaction and support rather that manufactured anthem singing and atmosphere?
manufactured atmosphere is all about the supporters rather than players which rather defeats the purpose of supporters in a stadium. it begars belief that stadiums still insist on false atmosphere gimmicks. both the football and rugby atmospheres have been destroyed in recent years. have the authorities not noticed this???
That's not at all as out there as it should be Tets. The one and only place I saw a positive appraisal of her ruinous involvement before the Sweden match, allowing for the fact I don't read the Irish Mail or any publication that uses words like 'phwoar' or 'stunner', was in the Independent Woman section -and frankly that read like a press release not a press report.
It occurred to me that if an episode of The Simpsons featured a sketch with a pretty girl with little obvious singing ability yet who gets to sing the national anthem before Springfield Isoptopes games it'd be sniggeringly implied she was blowing Mayor Quimby.
I guess I DO have a problem with singers being brought in to do the anthem -but she's not even a singer. There is simply no comparison between her singing before our games and a professional singer like Katherine Jenkins -who takes an amount of snobbish 'pop tart' stick from within the operatic community, singing before Welsh rugby games. Maybe Cymru'll know if her involvement is popular over there or not.
But as has been said better by others its the supporters and players moment - Not a 'platform' for a fashion model (and as she's normally based in Ireland -that means part-time fashion model) to launch a 'singing career' that she'll mercifully abandon anyway after the Christmas Karaoke album bombs and she scores her real dream job presenting 'Take Me Out' or Date my mate or whatever the feck it's called while doing a turn in Gaeity panto with that gowl from TV3.
count your lucky stars you missed out on the rugby league world cup game against Australia in Thomond Park at the weekend. Every score was accompanied by a different 70's/80's pop "classic"
If you didn't hear the scoreline, Ireland lost 50-0. There was a lot of Aussie's singing.
Maybe they were saving 'Irish Rover' for when Ireland scored?? Guess we'll never know now....
Think they are lining this one up.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YewVugPHon4
What is she anyway? A model? Socialite? Don't hear anything about her over in the UK.
I take issue with the repeated references to the 'enormity' of McAteer's goal against the Netherlands. It was actually a very tidy finish.
Delaney shows off his street skillz with a few Latvian players:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PedgT0TqiX0
How can anybody not like that guy?
I'm in work 'til 9 tonight, dagnabbit, and see that Sky won't be showing a repeat of their coverage of the game at any point through the night or on Saturday. I don't suppose someone will be recording the game on RTÉ and putting it online in some form or another, or doing whatever it is you whizzes do?
Only highlights being shown on RTE around 11pm I believe.