McGeady is a hot favourite/dead cert to start, whether you agree with that or not, is another issue.
Betting odds McGeady 1/5 Lawrence 2/1
Printable View
McGeady is a hot favourite/dead cert to start, whether you agree with that or not, is another issue.
Betting odds McGeady 1/5 Lawrence 2/1
Whether he impresses everybody is neither here nor there. Trap likes him. Duff and Hunt have been absent so much I think it's dangerous to assume he's an automatic pick though. With all of our wide options fit he may only be on the bench.
Kingdom - I don't think Andrews is small at all. Nor is Gibson or Fahey really so I think our central midfield can mix it with most others. Ability is another matter!
Trap also likes Lawrence. I just don't think it's a cert that McGeady is our first choice right winger for the games ahead.
The only players who are guaranteed to start when fit (IMO) are Given, Dunne, O'Shea, Duff, Doyle and Keane. Everything else is up for grabs.
No, because universal praise is near impossible in an Ireland jersey, but i took the effort to go through each minute of his performance against Russia to try and stem the criticism of him. He's been my player of the group for Ireland so far.
And I wouldn't classify myself as an Aiden fanboy or Celtic fanboy, the opposite with regard to Celtic. I just feel the fella is underappreciated. . he's playing regular (and seems to be very important for them) for a team that would be of a better standard than most of our current squad are at.
For me he's been our best player in the group so far. It's (not) funny that when we generally crib about the lack of creativity from our midfield (collectively) he's been our outman and been a nuisance in the three games. He was, again unfortunately opinions are like arseholes, excellent in Zilina.
Stutts, I made a ninja edit. I'd start Fahey at home myself (but in the post you see I have Andrews instead).
Possesion and use of the ball is key, and he's the best of the trio (Keithx2 & Green), far more in lansdowne. However we are prone to conceding silly frees and corners, and the difference between Keith and the other two is that Keith is physically light. Thats just my take on it. I'm sure the Rossie will point out how wrong I am ;-P
edit. I was surprised to see Green being listed as smaller than fahey. He appears to be more robust I guess.
My Team
Westwood, O'Shea, Dunne, St Ledger, Whelan, Duff, Doyle all certain starters. (if fit)Code:Westwood
O'Shea Dunne St Ledger Clark
Lawrence/Fahey Whelan Gibson Duff
Doyle Long
Clark should be picked over Kilbane
If Lawrence is injured, as looks likely, Fahey will get the nod.
Long should start above all others.
The contentious call is Lawrence/Fahey over McGeady. Personal opinions aside, my logic behind this is:
McGeady has been sub the last 4 times him and Duff have both been fit. (6 out of a total of 10 under Trap) Indeed the only game they've played together in the last 22 games was the 3-0 defeat to Australia. (4 times in Traps 29 games). And as this is a prediction thread, I expect Trap to stay true to form.
Incidently, if you asked me pick the team, I would probably go with the same as above.
Code:Date Start Sub Comp V Opp Score
24.05.2008 Duff Friendly H Serbia 1 - 1
29.05.2008 McG Friendly H Colombia 1 - 0
20.08.2008 McG, Duff Friendly A Norway 1 - 1
06.09.2008 McG World Cup Qualifier A Georgia 1 - 2
10.09.2008 McG World Cup Qualifier H Montenegro 0 - 0
15.10.2008 McG, Duff World Cup Qualifier H Cyprus 1 - 0
19.11.2008 Duff Friendly H Poland 2 - 3
11.02.2009 McG, Duff World Cup Qualifier H Georgia 2 - 1
28.03.2009 McG World Cup Qualifier H Bulgaria 1 - 1
01.04.2009 None World Cup Qualifier A Italy 1 - 1
29.05.2009 Duff McG Friendly A Nigeria 1 - 1
06.06.2009 Duff McG World Cup Qualifier A Bulgaria 1 - 1
12.08.2009 McG, Duff Friendly H Australia 0 - 3
05.09.2009 Duff McG World Cup Qualifier A Cyprus 2 - 1
08.09.2009 None Duff Friendly H South Africa 1 - 0
10.10.2009 McG World Cup Qualifier H Italy 2 - 2
14.10.2009 Duff World Cup Qualifier H Montenegro 0 - 0
14.11.2009 Duff McG World Cup Play Off H France 0 - 1
18.11.2009 Duff McG World Cup Play Off A France 1 - 1
02.03.2010 Duff McG Friendly H Brazil 0 - 2
25.05.2010 Duff Friendly H Paraguay 2 - 1
28.05.2010 Duff Friendly H Algeria 3 - 0
11.08.2010 Duff Friendly H Argentina 0 - 1
03.09.2010 McG European Cup Qualifier A Armenia 1 - 0
07.09.2010 McG European Cup Qualifier H Andorra 3 - 1
08.10.2010 McG European Cup Qualifier H Russia 3 - 2
12.10.2010 McG European Cup Qualifier A Slovakia 1 - 1
17.11.2010 Duff Friendly H Norway 1 - 2
08.02.2011 Duff Celtic Nations Cup H Wales 3 - 0
Just to say, if Kilbane doesn't start, I can't see him being sub, given the range of options the other subs or starting players give the manager. If Clark starts and were to get injured, Josh can switch over. It is another of the useful traits of a lot of our players at the moment, they cover lots of angles.
How come Joe doesn't get half the thanks for his detailed and informed posts?does he have to earn the patches
If you think Trap will pick Gibson at CM, then Trap will not likely go with both McGeady and Duff.
But I'd say Gibson's chances of starting are slim to none. I'd say he is behind Green in the pecking order. Trap's words of advice to Gibson, after the Wales game, told more of Trap's real opinion about his contribution against Wales as compared to what he is expected to do in our CM.
I didnt realise i could thank on mobile, a couple of weeks ago i went searching for it and it wasnt there. foot.ie mobile is changing more than a hoor changes her nether-region under garment.
I think Joe's great. A mere "thanks" is too trivial a gesture. We need more Joes.
You're all ****ing nuts lads. Thank god I've never seen hide nor hare of ye at a game.
I've spent the night chasing women I've been chasing for 'years', 'years!'. Women aren't impressed by statistics.