Originally Posted by
Goals4fun
hoops 12, glad to see you are able to read minds, but where ever u got that training you would want to get your money back.
i was one of the park players and to say we thought all we had to do was turn up is a long way off the truth. we had 2 very close games in the league against ye so why would we think this was a mere formality.
Pike were the better team on the night and deserved the cup. The winner was a defection off the wall that wrong footed the keeper. a little luck goes a long way....
After the few very good chances we had in the opening 15 mins (that we did not take), pike had the better chances afterwards, with carey in goals pulling off some very good saves.
we did not create enought throughout the game to go and win it. Fair play to pike and i am glad the trophy went to a a club and a few of the lads i know well (seen that we did not win it).
If they can keep that squad together they will be a good bet for promotion next year (but i suspect ye will lose nabs)....
on a side note in my many years playing at jackman park (and yes it is loads, but not a long as pikes roberto carlos..;-), the pitch is an absolute disgrace. How limerick play there i don't know. To think of getting to jackman as an achievement and then to try and play football on that crap is a joke to the ldmc....
anyway hope the good Pike people i know, had a good night last night...