City beat Merville 1-0 in the final of the Champions Cup, a clean sweep of trophies for them. I would like to see the cups being played during the season and not being left till the end when most teams have nothing to play for. How many walk overs were there in the cups this year?? There should be an effort to have a SLigo/Leitrim Cup that has all the teams in it, even if it is at the expense of the Champions Cup
08/06/2010, 11:29 AM
redz rovers
ya good point longshanks sligo-leitrim cup would be a great idea instead of da teama part-taking
in da fai junior cup dat seems 2 be a waste of time. especially when our top teams wont turn up
when they get 2 da latter part of the competition and i dont mean that as a dig at any of da clubs
because im sure they have there reasons and they are very well run clubs. that would free up them
weekends for dat competition to take place. silly season has started already with rumors flying around.
will ye be looking to add many to your squad longshanks
08/06/2010, 3:27 PM
Longshanks
I think we'll have to, emigration is rearing it ugly head again. We lost our striker and top scorer for the run-in, he left for Canada. Theres rumours that there could be a few more lads leaving after the GAA season, but it may not happen. One or two dont want to play in the Super League, they'd be more 'social' footballers and feel they would struggle for the fitness and pace of the top league. Who knows maybe the World Cup will inspire them to give it a crack.
08/06/2010, 4:56 PM
Real Rover
Most of the teams in the super league shouldn't be feared at all...id safely say both ballymote and ballygawley would hold their own against most of them. Ballymote have a good young team and id expect them to do well next season and ballygawley should stay safe too if they manage to keep the same squad together (which i see may not happen though unfortunately). I've played 4 years in the super league myself and i've found that if a team has the right attitude and works hard they will do fairly well. I'm looking forward to next season already!
09/06/2010, 3:23 PM
Longshanks
Both teams could hold their own against most sides on their day, but its how many 'days' will you have. I know its a cliche but its all about getting a good start to the season to build up momentum and keep the interest going. Get City, Carbury, Boyle in the first few games and you could be playing catch up already. Seen a bit of the Carbury City game that decided the league and to be honest there wasnt a whole pile to be fearful of, with the stakes being so high there was very little good football played, but I'm sure through the course of the season they played some great stuff. I'd say Boyle will be a force to reckon with in years to come, they have a fantastic underage setup and a fairly big catchment area. Their U-16's and U-18s both won the league and have some fantastic players who are coached to get the ball down and keep possession.
09/06/2010, 10:11 PM
redz rovers
while i agree with what has been said about not been fearful of anyone in the super league
it would be foolish to under estimate any team especially city and carbury they could go out and dismantle teams very easily
look at da final league table and how many points was back to the 3rd place team. however i do think
ballymote and ballygawley will more than hold there own and i would say calry and aughanagh will go down
next season. boyle wont be to far behind next season if they can have a full team every sunday. seen them play
against city in boyle and they should have hammered them.
10/06/2010, 10:14 AM
Longshanks
Jaysus Redz, i wouldnt under estimate any of the Super League teams, they're not in the Super League for no reason after all. Even though the season has just finished and looking to the next one I see the Super league being 2 tiered. City Carbury Boyle Manor Strand and Yeats will be the top half and Ballisodare Cliffoney Aughanagh Calry Ballygawley and Ballymote the bottom half. Though the top two will probably pull away again. I'd Pick Merville and Coolera for promotion in the Premier League.
10/06/2010, 12:35 PM
redz rovers
i dunno longshanks about that. i think ye will be very hard bet especially at home dont mean any disrespect
ye wont win it but i would tink ye will be in the top 6. premier league will be very tight wouldnt like to call it
10/06/2010, 2:03 PM
Longshanks
Dunno how we'll manage with the pitch, I was dug up a week or so ago and is to be relaid, cant see it being ready for the start of season, could have to play a lot of away games...
10/06/2010, 2:51 PM
Real Rover
Ya i seen the pitch there during the week its a strange sight...i know it usually looks like a ploughed field but now! ;) I'd say merville will win the premier if they keep the same two men up front....cant call the super league yet as i have no idea what players will play for what team!