Pat O Sullivan Heard from a friend of mine that this is probably the guy. He said if it is him he's a nice fella. Very nice if he's helped bail Limerick out.
Printable View
Pat O Sullivan Heard from a friend of mine that this is probably the guy. He said if it is him he's a nice fella. Very nice if he's helped bail Limerick out.
No thats not the guy, this fella was at the meeting the other night asking a pile of questions. Nice guy by all account.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/...imerickfc.html
Wonderful news if true.
That said, it seems to be only a short term thing. Good enough for now though, obviously.
Fantastic news. Well done Pat. Last Sunday certainly showed the passion there is out there for soccer in Limerick. He certainly showed some interest on sunday and knew what he was talking about.
Number of people in leos lotto,according to the board,approx 25.The number of people on here professing there love of limerick fc,far outweigh that,time to step up to the plate gentlemen/ladies!
Great news lads. Time to put the work in now
http://www.limerickfc.ie/fundraising/leoslottery.html
or pm me ur name and address and ill post you out a form. need lots to join this lads so ask for loads of forms to share the love between you and ur family, business or mates
how come ye all want a handout, Limerick fc is getting bailed out for the last 3 season and probally longer, whats wrong with this club thats it keeps going into the red
Because we're in a vicious circle and can't get out of the First Division so less money, support comming in. It seems we are safe for now and would like to progress further which can only be done with more money and support and getting back to the Premier Division and staying there, Fair play to everyone involved in raising the cash so far :)
Question re Leo's Lottery: is it a direct debit indefinitely or for a 12-month period?
Cheers
Leo's Lottery (Limerick FC Development Fund) is a fund primarily for capital projects and youth development initiatives, so it is ongoing.
A direct debit is an ongoing arrangement, which can be cancelled at any time by you instructing your bank to stop making the payments.
See http://www.limerickfc.ie/fundraising
I just coped on to this storey over the weekend. What another joke this all is. How can it be that a Club/Business/Entity be allowed to over spend in this manner and depend on dig outs season after season? 70k is a massive amount of money and considering the life of L37 is how old , means losses have been accruing pretty much since you came into existance. Why would JP throw 70k at L37? What have they ever done for Limerick and I am looking for examples of worthwile endevours here.
L37 should be wound up and they should compete in what ever league their finances allow. As should every other club who are strugging. I understand ATFC are also in trouble at the moment as there only have 1 home game in 4 weeks with the way fixtures fell and the shut down, wages are going to be an issue. After everything last winter.
I don't know how we can sustain two tiers of paid football players in this country, and therefore I suggest we shouldn't. i.e It should be strictly Amatur (legit exp only) and the only motivation that should exist it the prospect of some players moving up to a better paid Premier Div.
Signed
A long time ( Financial ) supporter of the Div 1! I'm sick of it.
There was a public meeting on Sunday where all such questions were asked and answered.
The club hasnt gone into the red, but due to the Thomond Park friendly not going head, the club will be short €70k by the end of the season. The club needs one major fundraiser every year to make ends meet (last years was the Trappatoni gig). Jack McCarthy wanted to wind up the club now, before going into debt, rather than write a cheque for €70k at the end of the season.
Firstly I am a Limerick fan to an extent, have sen them play a few times this year and last. And i play junior Soccer.
But as for your comment about allowing talents to be showcased on a broader scale, well personally i think that a run in the F.A.I Junior cup or even, and to a lesser extent, a run in the Munster Junior is reported on and followed more than a mid table game or games in the first divison in Ireland saying players are "tucked away" really isn't fair, the games i have been to see limerick the support has been shocking, dont get me wrong the ones that are there are passionate but the numbers are appalling.
I want and i think Limerick needs a good solid financially viable soccer team, but the question has to be asked after another problem.....Can it happen?:ball:
Do I want a hug? er No, Do you want 70 grand?
It appears to me there isn't the desire in Limerick for League football, yet your junior leagues always do well on a national scale. Why do you think that is?
I'm not bitter, it's a fact if your costs are 5 k a week and you earn 3 k you are losig money at a rate of 2 k per week. Why then are you paying Pat scully x amount per week + exp up and down from Dublin?
And that is why JP won't come accross and I for one would agree with him. If I won the Euro millions I would't give a cent to any badly run charity, or most of the first Div & Premier teams.