It would be a comical case if he went down the legal root.
Weeks wages fine and a final warning would maybe have done it.
Printable View
It would be a comical case if he went down the legal root.
Weeks wages fine and a final warning would maybe have done it.
Bit of banter that got caught by officials is what i see. What about Gary Twigg celebrating in front of Bohs fans last week?? Surely a similar 'offence' in my book. In that atmosphere, 1st big derby in Tallaght and a big 'security' issue?? On the same level if you ask me. (And before anyone starts, I dont see a problem with what Twigg done)
A post was made earlier saying that Rogers gives as good as he gets. Absolutely true. Great character, and a great individual to have a bit of craic (no pun intended) with. Yes it was unprofessional, yes it was wrong but surely was a bit of fun between the player and former employers? It just seems from the outside that Sean Connor is a publicity merchant and will literally do anything to ensure he is in the spotlight (with the rumoured O' Callaghan case). Not having a go at the club here but a fine and a possible suspension would suffice but this decision smacks of desperation for me and surely a legal case. Wage bill cull is what I reckon most non Dundalk fans will see regardless if we love/hate Rogers.
I think Dundalk were right to sack him. It showed a complete disrepect to the club and their fans and if I was a Dundalk fan, I certainly would not want to be contributing towards the wages of this muppet.
Banter with away fans is grand but Dundalk were losing at the time so there was nothing to be joking around about.
Jesus that's a mental decision. I would find it hard to believe you can get sacked for that.
I see it as a bit of banter and nothing else. Ok it was not the smartest gesture but by fook to get sacked over it is OTT.
Dave is a sound bloke imo and one of the characters in the league, it's not that long ago that he was man of the match in the Randywell for Dundalk.
Dave will have no problem getting a new club imo.
I hope he sues them and there's an embarrassing settlement :) Like that lad who was sacked from Pats.
He really did get a bum deal out of all of this.
That he has engaged in repeated. flagrant, willful and heinous acts of badge kissing at clubs the length and breadth of the country?
Yeah, I'll stand over that one :)
As for him fabricating a story that another player stole a considerable sum of money from his kitbag in order to leave the club....who knows?
"And if he asks me, did I play alright?
I'll say Dave, you played wonderful tonight"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J2BjJJ-IxiE
Dundalk are obviously stuck for cash, opportunism at it's worst.
I can't wait to see where their newly found moral high ground will bring them....
fined two weeks wages for a yellow card?
fined a month's wages for a red card?
fined a season's wages for not taking a good luck message from steve bruce seriously?
There's loads of savings to be made I'd say.
Eaxactly, we're busy people - we don't have time to hang around watching the bacon slicer in the corner shop and hatching conspiracy theories. We're also considerably brighter than you lot, as I think this shows:
From the IT last week.Quote:
The drop in the Fianna Fáil core vote to just 20 per cent will shock party strategists, particularly as its share of the vote in Dublin is now just 13 per cent.
It is entirely predictable that many non-Dundalk fans on foot.ie would chose to see to see the actions of the Dundalk board in this way.
I suggest that it might be relevant to reflect on how those most affected, (aside from Dave Rogers himself) view it. Like any opinion forum Oriel Web refects various views, but those suggesting that the sacking was motivated by a wage bill cull are in a small minority.
While facts are not necessarily well received by those who enjoy conspiracy theories and negative slants, lets have a quick review:
1) Dundalk are not in any financial crises. The specifics have already been well documented here and elsewhere already.
2) If the club need to reduce wage costs that opportunity is naturally arising as 3 players are out of contract in June.
3) It is almost certain that the club will sign additional players in July.
4) Dave Rogers is actually one of the few who have performed well for the club this season. Dundalk are woefully short of defenders.
5) There is a sweeping assumption here that Dave Rogers will not have the balance of his contract paid up. This is a strong possibility, either as a result of negotiation or legal action. It is not plausible that a board with strong business experience, would not have considered this possibility in reaching its decision.
For what it is worth, I think that the sacking is harsh and an extreme reaction to the unacceptable levels of indiscipline that have been tolerated up to now. In that sense Dave Rogers is unfortunate, but is the author of his own misfortune.
The board have shown remarkable moral courage in their decision (whether you agree or disagree with it), and jibes about the moral character of players and other jibes are trite and miss the point.
NAMA
If you don't know what I am on about now, in time you will.
Don't think it was sacking tbh but it's yet another entertaining chapter in the Newcas..I mean Dundalk yearbook.
If your board had any moral courage then Maxi would not be allowed inside Oriel Park, never mind being allowed to ponce about behind the dug out on match nights.
They also would have taken action over Connor's rant when he said Bohemians tolerated racism.
Mind you, I am surprised at Gerry Matthews -he is a very decent fella