Richardson hasn't been used as a wideman as such. Keane plays a 4-3-3/4-5-1 formation and he doesn't play Richardson flanking Jones in the way that McGeady would be used... That said I can't see him going to Sunderland.
Printable View
The Herald got some interesting quotes from Trap this morning. He said that after watching the DVD's of Ireland games, McGeady is the player that impressed him the most. The main reason he gave was because he was young and determined. He said he was an old fashioned player. I came on the internet (which is rare for me these days) expecting to find the quotes but maybe someone could post them?
/edit, he gets asked the same question in the last part of this interview:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AHzHTeVgK1s
He names the players he already knew about and said that the surprise was McGeady. Pity he's now out of the training camp and Serbia game after Rangers winning last night. He said a couple of months ago that he'd pull out of the Celtic squad if they had a post season friendly in Japan because he wanted to play join up with the Ireland squad.
I thought Billsthoughts was laughing because he thinks what irishfan86 said is false. Maybe he's laughing because irishfan86 is stating the obvious.
The winners of the SPL get £2m in prize money (includes TV money). £35m is the minimum a premiership team can get from TV money alone afaik. Spurs get £8.5m a year from Mansion sponsorship. Celtic get £3.6m a year from Carling. Ticket prices/demand would go up, etc, etc.Quote:
What would they do without the Champions League?
why do want celtic to join the premier league? to flush after all their tradition and hertiage for some big bucks and the chance to watch them play united on grand slam sunday.
Yippee Celtic being one of the richest 10 clubs in Europe if that happened but they wouldnt be allowed to qualify for europe thought the english route no doubt. and theyd need both the premiership and the champions league money to compete with united and chelsea anyway no doubt.
its never gonna happen anyway
I'm just replying to Billsthoughts "ha ha" comment. Nothing more. I don't think Bill realises that he has an anti-Celtic bias. ;)
I dont have an anti celtic bias. I dont know where you think they would be one of the richest clubs in the premiership. They have exploited all potential support as is and wouldnt get much support outside of their current base. Look at Newcastle ,Man City or Leeds. All big clubs with big support. None of whom are dominating the premiership. Two of whom have big money backing. My HAHA was just laughing at the delusional nature of some of their fans. Fact is they are hard pushed to win a league were their resources far outstrip all the other teams bar one.
Which goes to prove that the 2 teams with the financial resources in that league get to play for the prizes. What is the point here?
Who cares what anyones opinions are about delusional Celtic fans or anyones opinions about how good the club they follow is, whatever it is called.
If a player is good enough then he will adapt to playing on the Irish team.
McGeady is certainly playing at a high enough league standard of coaching and games, that if he is good enough he can play a part in the Irish team and if not then he will be a 10 minute sub in some games.
Any Irish fan would want him to succeed.
Ya better not look here EB if you think I have "anti Celtic bias"
http://www.saintsforum.net/forum/vie...php?f=2&t=2714
I care that he performs well in an Irish shirt first and foremost.
Do you?
If you don't think he is up to it, then fine, time will tell.
I want him to play well like any Ireland fan who wants him to play well.
Is there some difficulty to understand this?
If he isn't up to it then try somebody else.
If that somebody else isn't good enough, then we can always go back to plan A, because sure as anything we can't go out and buy players.
from www.celticfc.net
Fair play to him, deserves it after the season he's hadQuote:
WHEN the time arrived for Scotland’s professional footballers to name their Player of the Year, there was one overwhelming choice.
In the past there may have been controversial decisions when it comes to the announcement of Scotland’s most prestigious personal award, but this year it was unanimous, with Aiden McGeady claiming both the Player and Young Player gongs.
Yesterday, I listened to a Rangers fan explain to me in chapter and verse why he hates McGeady, and he is booed at every game when he gets on the ball. Have whole new levels of respect for young Aidan now.
i think almost everyone knew that tets.
he has spoken about the amount of abuse he has been getting&how he finds it tough at times. he seems to have good strength of mind though, and realises that it is sheer jealousy from the majority, a lot of which is based on their belief that he turned his back on scotland
Have you watched any SPL matches? I don't care what people here think of mcgeadys abilities, but, every single team in the SPL would give anything to have him, hence their fans are jealous that he plays for Celtic not their club, and to a lesser extent, for Ireland not their country.
I would imagine his ability. Although I don't think he's a great player, he is head and shoulders above nearly every player in Scotland and as a result many of them are inevitably jealous. Witness Canning & Murray who were both sent off as a result of challenges on McGeady last week.
The lad has a bit of skill but look at who he is playing against. Not that hard to impress. I saw him play against Barcelona and though he was damn near man of the match is was evident that he was no great shakes. If he goes somewhere like Newcastle he won't last more than three seasons the way tackles get handed out in the premiership. I'd love to see him go to somewhere like a mid-table team in Spain or Italy and see how he does.
To be fair, he hasn't really impressed me at all whenever I've seen him play for Ireland.
So even though u seen him as man of the match against Barce you still think hes no great shakes...How do you work that one out??? Seems to me that if he has the quality to stand out against a team of that calibre he must be pretty good
And as for the way tackles are handed out in the Premiership I think the SPL doesnt have too many lads that are afraid of a tackle and he seems to be able to handle being targeted there every week
Razor - just look at what happened to Duff playing in the Premiership every week. His career was over by the age of 26.
McGeady was damn near man of the match against Barcelona in the first leg at home because he set up both Celtic goals. He did little else and it was very very evident that he was way out of his depth - nothing to be ashamed of when you're playing against the world's best team, or one of them anyway. My point is, I'd like to see him go to Spain or Italy because I think he's so skillful he might have a better chance of an extended career playing there rather than putting up with hack-job right backs in England and Scotland.
Ryan Giggs managed to last pretty well for a long time being kicked. Duffs injury was down to freak injury rather than the tackles he suffered over the years, and I think his career is far from over anyway
And McGeady has had more than one man of the match performance in the Champions league over the years where he showed his class
Razor - you're getting me all wrong here. I'm a big McGeady fan and an even bigger Celtic fan. All I'm saying is that if he leaves Celtic, which I think he might, I'd rather seem him go to Europe rather than play for a team like Newcastle or Middlebrough.
Ideally I'd love to see him at Sunderland! He should go to someone like Athletico Bilbao.
I don't see him getting a shout in at any of the top four clubs in England. He simply hasn't proven himself at the top level. He's played very well in a crap league (the SPL) but hasn't played well for Ireland on the international level. He needs at least one season in Spain, Italy, or a mid-table Premiership side before any of the top four would even consider looking seriously at him.
Man United were linked with him before, I remember reading the rumour on football365
Yes. Did you see the match? Obviously not. Celtic got the ball out of their own half only twice and they scored both times. He failed to make any runs at all down the left flank. Celtic were very very luck to score at all, he simply crossed the ball in twice and goals resulted from both crosses. Saying he's ready for a top four team in England is ludicrous.
He impressed in the Celtic leg against Celtic. Far from out of his depth. It was pretty much 50/50 possession between Celtic and Barca in the 2nd half of the 2nd leg and McGeady got a lot of the ball and did well.