looks like it would be a massive can of worms for FIFA to open
Printable View
looks like it would be a massive can of worms for FIFA to open
I'll be curious to read what the Royal Moroccan FA will put in their presentation to CAS.
Perhaps the RMFA truly believed there was a gentleman's agreement existing between themselves and Spain, that Munir would not be capped in a competitive game, therefore the relevant crystal clear international eligibility statute should not apply to him.
Why would FIFA open that can though?
It would jam another nail into the coffin of international football. What sort of weird gentleman's agreement could an FA have with another FA that says "Grand yeah, select him on the bench but don't let him play. Cheers lads". Bizarre.
http://www.espn.co.uk/football/europ...orocco?src=com
Very hard to argue very special dispensation after comments like these. I can't see this being successful at all and think it would be a bad idea if it were
That's the one,
the same sort of a gentleman's agreement that the totally deluded IFA believed existed, believed that it overrode FIFA statutes and ended up being a large part of their submission to CAS.
Ranks in legal argument, just above fluff and below a chinese whisper.
What else can the RMFA put in their submission, at least nothing of any substance, so one has to examine precedent, where out and out whacko submissions were made to CAS by deluded FA's
The IFA just happened to come to mind.
Special dispensation is usually argued for because of an unusual/unique set of circumstances, but I haven't seen any such circumstances mentioned at all (yet, anyway) as to why his case is exceptional in that sense.
What examples of special dispensation (if any) exist?
On a related story the IFA insisted on playing the british national anthem prior to the irish cup final between Cliftonville and Coleraine on saturday. I also witnessed a Cliftonville fan having an irish tricolour removed from them on the way in to the ground by security staff, however there were a good few union jacks and 'ulster banners' being waved in the Coleraine end from what I could see. Makes a bit of a nonsense of all this football for all stuff that the IFA come off with.
http://www.irishnews.com/news/northe...final-1322470/
Yeah, they don't help themselves do they. Be funny if Paul Smyth was reading it and thinking, y'know what, f~*k ye, I'm off south.
Well I didnt see anything on it but I was a bit behind them and by the time I got closer the security guy had the flag wrapped up into a ball. A friend took a video of it so I will check with them but we assumed it was because the flag wasn't club colours.
http://http://www.irishnews.com/news...otest-1323100/
As expected there has been outrage from the DUP types. I wonder do they get this annoyed when players from a nationalist background bow their heads during the UK anthem when playing for NI. Not really sure what the IFA are playing at like especially given the fact that it wasn't played at the last 2 finals we were in.
Also doubt that FIFA/UEFA would ever allow a switch to the LoI even if the club did ask for it.
The quotes from your man Bryson are bloody hilarious. Manages to accuse the Nationalists of having a "narrow political agenda" whilst spouting some Grade A narrow-minded bigotry himself. There's a skill involved in that somehow.
Nice to see former Derry gaelic footballer Eoin Bradley was on the scoresheet for Coleraine. I wonder how loud he sang GSTQ.
Bradley's goal was pure GAA, the way he chipped the keeper but that was probably lost on a few down in that corner. He then proceeded to remove his shirt to show off the large celtic cross tattooed between his shoulder blades. The thing is Coleraine's support is fairly mixed not to mention the team, but it's a bit like mixed towns getting bedecked in loyalist flags in the summer regardless of the town's demographics everyone else just shakes their head and get on with it. Fleggers love a fleg.
Fleggers gonna fleg........
Keown and Scannell to NI? Looking like it: https://www.balls.ie/amp/football/se...ireland-389351
Quotes from the poacher O'Neill here: https://www.belfastlive.co.uk/sport/...nnell-14680201