and for the record I said that Denis would score a rake of goals in the first last year, was worried hed be the difference in the end
Printable View
and for the record I said that Denis would score a rake of goals in the first last year, was worried hed be the difference in the end
He should really have 4 or 5 goals this season alright i mean he has started a whole 2 games.
He is playing in the top tier in Belgium trying to say that not scoring in that means you wont score in the LOI 1st is ridiculous the worst team he played against there is far better then the best in the 1st division.
In fairness to LTID he is probably right about Corks strikeforce.
There new striker has played only 10 games since the 2nd half of 2010 and his LOI scoring record isnt exactly great.
Davin O'Neill fair enough will more then likely score a few but i wouldn't want Vinny Sullivan now never mind in the prem.
I don't disagree, but that has nothing to do with the fact that Foley is going on 36 and has scored 3 goals in the past two seasons.
and Vinny Sullivan is taking Gregs place this year as my pet hate
From PFAI twitter :
Dominic foley flying in tomorrow to complete transfer and train with his new team mates at Limerick. #greatadditiontotheleague
Not sure why the trade union things a 35 year old taking a job from a younger player is a "great addition to the league" but there you go
PLayers coach on a two year deal he is there to help bring on the young lads. AS for foley playing I reckon he would score his fair share of goals let's be honest Limerick should dominate a lot of games this season creating a lot of goal scoring opportunitys you would have to fancy foley in division one to bury most of them.
What did Foley do to Bohs on twitter a few saying Bohs fans wont forget what he did to them?
Bonus for Europe where owed and when the club couldn't pay up he fought to try get it, its something along those lines and probably more to it than that. I'm sure the story is around if it's googled.
edit: http://ontheground.2.forumer.com/a/f..._post1284.html
but what are you basing this on? Why do you think a 35 year old who has shown that his skills are reapidly deteriorating will put away so many goals?
I mean if he was able to put away most of his chances hed be staying in Belgium. Also, hes 35, 36 mid season, hes hardly going to play regularly enough to score a bunch of goals
Bohs owed him money, he took them to court, or a tribunal or something, and he was made a free agent. He then joined Gent who I think Bohs had actually only played a few weeks previously in the intertoto or something?
2004? 2005?
In fairness, he should score an absolute hatfull for Limerick.
This is correct.
Basically Bohs didn't pay him what he was owed so he walked out on them.
Which in LoI land makes him EVIL :bulgy:
On his prowess or otherwise we are so far ahead of the rest of the division it's scary.
BUT -
We're gonna face a lot of 4-6-0 type formations, his guile might come in handy late on in all the tight games.
He wont have came up against quite as many shin cleaving, limited, clowns in Belgium either tbf.
Personally I'm just delighted another experienced footballer has bought into the Limerick project.
Credit once again to our oligarch owners.
Lads, the Belgian league is shockingly poor. Most of the clubs are bankrupt or barely surviving. The decision making behind the scenes make the LOI look like the Bundesliga, we're talking about a league who allowed one club field only Africans to be able to get them visas to sell them on (Beveren) and having been to a number of matches there in the last few years and dealing with a couple of clubs, it's not what it used to be. Players go unpaid for sustained periods, club owners are not the nicest and player development is non-existent. A top LOI player would be a superstar in Belgium. Alot of Russian clubs stick players there to give them playing time and to see how they progress. If they don't play 90minutes of every match, they usually drop down the club pecking order very quickly. Purely in relation to Foley, he was a good player. He could make a very good coach as well as bag a few goals. However this grab a "name" from Limerick is not looking good.
In fairness, it wasn't great from him. I vaguely remember people saying hed been tapped up by Gent and he then started pushing Bohs for the money which they didn't have at that time.
If it was Bonus money for Europe then they might have expected him to wait a little bit - I'm not sure but he was legally entitled to leave
I'm sure he'll be an attribute, be great with the younger players and will chip in with a few goals, but expecting him to score lots of goals in naive. (Thats not to say that its entirely impossible that he proves to be a fantastic signing)
Any update on the CSKA pleyers. I'm guessing their not coming?
Limerick Fc are delighted to announce the unveiling of their new Irish international striker will take place at 4.30pm today in Aisling Annacotty.
SEems like its official
Completely different to here so.
Don't forget he also basically agreed a contract with Gent while playing for Bohs against Gent.
But yeah, heaven forbid a player takes action against a club screwing him over.
Foley'd be a great signing for Limerick. Whatever about the Belgian league's standard, he's playing against Mervue and Wexford FFS (no offence to either, but he'll be well able for their defences I'm sure)
No he wouldn't. I don't think that even needs any more refutation.
The UEFA rankings agree too. As does the fact that they have three teams in Europe still, and all are very much in their ties after three away legs. (And as do I from the one Belgian league game I've been at...)
Eight Belgian Pro League Clubs:
Anderlecht
Club Bruge
Cercle Bruge
Genk
Gent
Standard Liege
Lokeren
Mechelen
The League Of Ireland First Division:
Athlone
Finn Harps
Limerick
Longford
Mervue
SD Galway
Waterford
Wexford
The 3 (that's three) Belgian clubs in the Europa League won their groups.
The club in the Champions League finished bottom of their group but drew three games.
Look, we get it, you've travelled with work or whatever, bully for you. Maybe the standard in Belgium has gone down. But the implication that the two leagues are somehow comparable looks really, really, contrary to be honest.
He's from Charleville FFS. We don't have fellas on Copacabana beach picking up players.Quote:
However this grab a "name" from Limerick is not looking good
People involved in the deal saying as of a few days ago it was still being talked about or a fan of another club that has no idea what goes on in our club apart from believing ridiculous rumours of people bring paid over a grand a week .....I wonder who ill trust more.
LTID, spin it as you want, believe what you want. I was right about the CSKA boys, Limerick heads bounced like French nobles on the guillotine floor and you'd better grab hold of your club sooner rather than later. The LOI needs a strong Limerick club, not a car crash waiting to happen.
PS, are you going to tell me James McLean wouldn't be a superstar in Belgium? I think you can step back now :-)
Foley had agreed to hold off on bonus until he was tapped up by Gent and used it to get himself a free transfer. P Stu, care to prove how Bohs were screwing him over ? Dont we have rules about unsubstanciated rumours on here ?
RE Foley as player,had a great last season with Bohs but took him a long time to settle.
He wasn't tapped up as he had less than 6 months left on Bohs deal.
Used the fact he was owed money to make that Belgian deal happen quicker.
Can't see what he did wrong
Reneged on an understanding he had with Bohs to defer payment of the bonus, technically nothing wrong in using it to force his transfer through (just like Fenn Dundalk/Shams or Ndo Pats/Bohs or many other examples) but hardly likely to make him popular in Dalymount.
Still waiting to hear how Bohs "screwed him over".
What in the name of God are you talking about??
Utterly, genuinely, bizare.
I know the facts behind the CSKA thing. You on the otherhand, appear to be a dribbling lunatic. You never even said what you were talking about to be proven right, just a load of vague tin foil hatted nonsense.
Crazy, bonkers, laughable, stuff.
James McClean of Sunderland A.F.C??Quote:
PS, are you going to tell me James McLean wouldn't be a superstar in Belgium? I think you can step back now
Using rare occurences to once again prove himself right. :bulgy:
Would Gary Twigg be a superstar in Belgium??
Your whole post, in summary:
http://img.izismile.com/img/img4/201...age_640_46.gif
He can't.
The CIA, Stasi, Stasnet, KGB etc are all watching his every move, he's an (IN THE KNOW) International man of mystery.
DON'T YOU UNDERSTAND??
http://curlymum.files.wordpress.com/...noes.gif?w=620