Quote:
Originally Posted by
MeathDrog
I think a few lads are missing the point over the free kick. The referee failed to blow the whistle after the substition which he is required to do to restart play. He didn't do it and the free kick should have been retaken until he did so.
Generally, there is no legal requirement obliging a referee to blow a whistle to signal a go-ahead for a team to take a free-kick; a free-kick can be taken as quickly as the awarded team wishes. There is an exception, however, when an appropriate distance is required. Indeed, a referee is also obliged to blow a whistle after a substitution has been made in order to signal the recommencement of play.
Guidelines on usage of the whistle are outlined on page 82 of the Laws of the Game 2013/2014:
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/c...ps7d1b11b3.png
From what I can make out, there were two reasons for the referee to have blown his whistle. They were:
i) to indicate that the Drogheda wall's position satisfied the appropriate distance so that the free-kick could be taken. He was shepherding them back, after all, which would indicate that the wall's position was a paramount concern of his.
ii) to signal the re-starting of play after the substitution of Gaynor for Greene.