not only the double they could win every competition they enter this season
Printable View
not only the double they could win every competition they enter this season
Hi Lads, Just want to say to Clifford that his posts are always interesting to read and that in fairness anytime you watch Fermoy they always try and play ball, hopefully they will do enough to stay up this year. Its a hard league as we found out 2 years ago.
Game still on Clifford
just finished Leeside 1-2 Avondale
1-1 til late on I believe Razor? Good display by Leeside it looks like. Well done.
In a all a good game last night up in Moneygourney. When Leeside and their committee decided to make that step up to play Senior league these were the fixtures that they hoped to be part of and the occasion didn't disappoint for us. As expected Avondale fielded a strong eleven (its difficult to see how they could field a weak one with the players they have) and they dominated possession for the majority of the game but I think tactically we done very well for the entire game.
Our plan was to remain compact and narrow and try to force them to play through us and hopefully hit them on the break which I thought worked very well. We sat deep in the first half and the plan was going well but unfortunately we conceded from a corner midway through the second half. In fairness to my lads the heads didn't fall and whilst Avondale came close to adding a second on a few occasions we held out to the half time whistle.
At half time we made two changes with the idea of adding a bit more pace and tried to play a bit higher up the pitch and our adventure was rewarded with an equalizer following a well taken free kick although Id have been disappointed if my own keeper had of conceded it. They made a few changes late on in the second half and stepped up a gear and scored the winner with 7 to go and I had the impression that had they needed to there were 3 or 4 more gears available to them. Only one booking in the game to an Avondale player however I thought ref could have done more to to stamp out the third man blocking and the odd bit of cynicism which led to our conceding the first goal and cost us a player through injury late on in the second half but hopefully my lads will learn form this and so will the referee.
All in all it was encouraging to hear the Avondale lads having a pop at each other after our equalizer and their line having a go at them even if it is was only for a while as it showed we were doing a good job making it hard for them but in fairness they were making hard work of it themselves. Result was never really in doubt as most expected and my only regret on the night was that we didn't get to play our own football when we did have the ball but I thought we put in a good performance against undoubtedly the strongest amateur team in the country and can take a lot of positives into the business end of the season and best to luck to Avondale in the next round against Limerick.
Enjoyed Avondale game and while we gave them a little scare for 15 minutes with the equaliser it was always inevitable that the winner would come. Still we had 2 or 3 chances of our own and the few guys who came in played very well.
Happy Christmas one and all from all in Fermoy FC.
See ye all in the new year for more craic!!
Well lads a new year is upon us, looking forward to going to knock griffin park tomorrow night, should be a good game, who do ye fancy?
I think Midleton can get something out of it. Very strong at home and very well organised. If they can stick tight in the middle of the park and not allow Cors any time on the ball then it may go their way. Depending of course who Cors actually have signed from all the various rumours. If they have added Butts and Cambridge then that's a different story maybe.
Footnote Cors centre half is suspended so if Midleton get chances who knows.
We are away to Youghal in the Donie Forde tomorrow night. Tough place to get a result as we found out in last seasons Inter cup. We're missing our CB through suspension for the red in the Cors game so no idea how that will go. Looking forward to being back. We found it difficult to get anything done over the Xmas period with weather and weddings getting in the way of various friendly attempts.
Everton travel to us next Sat afternoon in a vital fixture for both clubs survival prospects.
Depending on tomorrow's result below in midleton, next weeks fixtures are mouth watering. Midleton v u.c.c on the friday, Avondale v Rockmount and Corinthians v Mayfield. Fermoy v Everton and Douglas hall at home to marys plus marys are at home to everton this satrday. Big two weeks coming up for all clubs with donie forde quarter finals inbetween also.
If they have added Butts and Cambridge then that's a different story maybe.
Footnote Cors centre half is suspended so if Midleton get chances who knows.
We are away to Youghal in the Donie Forde tomorrow night. Tough place to get a result as we found out in last seasons Inter cup. We're missing our CB through suspension for the red in the Cors game so no idea how that will go. Looking forward to being back.
Cambridge has defo signed but I don't think butt has, reckon he will fit in well up there with there football style, ya youghal is always a sticky place to go but haven't been great this year so fancy ye to win with ease
These types of games are the games Corinthians need to be winning in order to underline their title challange as such. No easy games though in the premier division and Midleton always difficult on their home patch as Mayfield found out. First game back after christmas can be a hard one too so it should be a tight affair alright. Im putting my neck on the line and going for a draw myself
Youghal pitch unplayable so that game will now go ahead in Fermoy at 10.45 Sunday morning weather permitting.
Game tonight at Midleton and at St Mary's tomorrow still on anyone know?
2-1to cors down in knock griffen
Any match report from Midleton. Couldn't make it?