Lads, besides the medals and the trophy and the obvious pride and honour of winning the FAI junior cup do the winning club and the players recieve any other reward from the sponsors or the FAI(money,holiday etc)for winning the competition
Printable View
Lads, besides the medals and the trophy and the obvious pride and honour of winning the FAI junior cup do the winning club and the players recieve any other reward from the sponsors or the FAI(money,holiday etc)for winning the competition
haven won the FAI i can tell you that apart from the Jersey and of course the medal you dont recieve anything from the FAI, thanks
Statoil used to sponsor the competition, now Umbro do. Care to reassess your post inexile?;)
then i am incorrect, apologies!!
its been a while since i played in the competition
I see you are doing well Inexile above in the Dublin League?
i saw Killester play clonmel town and even though they won and played some good football i was more impressed by the way carrick won the semi final,can anyone confirm exactly how many killester 1st team players were missing against town(ihave heard everything from 4 defenders to just 1 centre back)also how good a senior league side are st james gate? and how much can be read into carricks great win in dublin thanks lads
any victory on the road in a competition like that is a great result.
st james gate senior side are 4th or 5th from bottom in the 2nd highest division in the leinster senior league, they wouldnt be great but they wouldnt be bad either.
Are u ever going to return to Limerick and play footie down here Inexile???
prob not heading away for a year in june and by the time i come back i will be well over the hill, im on the top of it looking down as it is!! the oul knees are giving up on me
Killester are warm favourites with the bookmakers at 4/9 PP and 2/5 Ladbrokes to win the trophy outright. Carrick are 7/4 with Powers, 13/8 Ladbrokes.
Anyone care to guess the line-ups for Sunday?
Also, I know Carrick have never won this trophy but was last year Killesters first ever win?
Yes - last year was Killesters first FAI Junior, and next Sunday will be their SECOND
No my friend I mean their SECOND JUNIOR CUP WIN :eek:
Never said they would win it easy MY FRIEND but the general poor standard of Junior Football nationwide (lowest in 20 years) means that they have not really been stretched this season, that is the sad thing.
Dr Mad Prediction: 3-1 to Killester with Lacey and Keogh both on the scoresheet.
PS are we not all FRIENDS IN FOOTBALL ?? ;)
Are both team at full strenght for the final, or is there an injuries to key players
Killester are full strength. They had a hard fought 1 nil win in the League over portmarnock tuesday night, rested 2 with minor knocks and gave 1 or 2 coming back in a full 90 minutes. Strong squad of 20 players and other Dublin rivals watching closely for fallout as there will be a couple disappointed no matter what happens.
Hope so! In negotiation with Mrs Mad at the moment!
Let's say it might cost me more than the petrol and the admission fee.
WELL DONE TO CARRICK UNITED!
2-1 winners against killester , after being down 1-0 at half time , they had most of the pressure, missed a penalty and scored a last minute penalty to win !
ps to DR MAD ; tramore is nice for a weekend break if the funds are low after your un-wise investment !..............
Congratulations to Carrick on a well deserved win today. Delighted for youse and I mean that sincerely.
Yes its Kilmuckridge this summer for me and Mrs Mad but its worth it thinking about the look on Graydons face when the final whistle blew. Truly great teams RETAIN the Junior Cup and are few and far between. Only 12 weeks till the 2008/09 Tournament!!!
Congrats to Carrick Utd on their FAI Cup win over Killester.;)
fair play to carrick, who scored for them.
Congratulations on a much deserved success today. Carrick have been banging on the door for a while and its great to see them get their reward. Carrick were the best team on display today and Killester didn't seem to have a plan B when Carrick changed their shape in the 2nd half. Dyl Kavanagh tormented their centre halfs all afternoon and won both penos. Carricks first was on O.G and alan ryan nearly broke the net with the peno to win it. Some sore heads in Carrick tommorrow :D:D
Congrats to Carrick. Have to say I thought Killester were shoo-ins. Saw them play twice in the last three years (both times against Westport United) and they are as good a team as I've seen play Junior football.
Haven't witnessed Carrick but they're obviously some side to be able to deny Killester a famous back to back success.
Its a proud day for Carrick on Suir , and Carrick United . Thanks to all for wishing us well and ,yes, there are a few sore heads this morn . I must point out all 19 players are CARRICK born and bred .( yes that includes Ian Clery) Happy days
Savour every minute of it lads. Terrific achivement.
Well done Carrick. I was at the game today to see our new stand and support ye and ye had great support there. Waterford United would love to see numbers like that at our home games. I was cheering like a Carrick fan all my life for ye when ye scored the goals in the 2nd half and ye deserved the win. Well done to the former Blues players on the team in particular.
Well done Carrick, great result for ye.
Very true Francis-Man.
8 years for me, and the celebration pictures in the Star this morning brought the memories flooding back.