Glantine 0 - 1 Adare Utd
Newcastle West B 2 - 1 Kildimo Utd
Printable View
Div 1 Results
St. Itas 2 - 0 Killeaney
Glantine 0 - 1 Adare Utd
Newcastle West B 2 - 1 Kildimo Utd
My apologies "clearly"
So NCW now have B.garry and A.feale left (both away)
and R.keale have Askeaton and Carrig left (both at home)
It could go to the last day of the season.
Congrats to Creeves on winning Div3, and Kilcolman on winning Div2
Rathkeale's goal scorers were Peter o'dea ( what a goal), Alan o'shea 2, thomas walsh 2 and mark o'sullivan 1
Fixtures as per the desmond league website
November 28, 2009
Fixtures 21st to 29th May
Friday 21st May
Weekly Observer Division 3 League Cup Final (extra time & penalties)
Granagh Utd V Shountrade, Clounreask 730 (C. Dalton, D. O’Gorman, B. Barry)
Weekly Observer Premier Division
Askeaton V Newcastle West Rovers 7pm (L. O’Connor)
Shannonside FC V Broadford Utd 7pm (T. Fitzmaurice)
Weekly Observer Division 1
St. Itas V Old Mill 7pm (S. Hartnett)
Killeaney V Athea Utd 7pm (G. O’Connor)
Sunday 23rd May
Weekly Observer Division 2 League Cup Semi Finals (extra time & penalties)
Kilcornan V Rockhill Rovers 1130 (P. O’Brien)
Mountcollins V Rathkeale B 230 (P. O’Donnell)
Glin Rovers V Ballingarry 1130 (T. Fitzmaurice)
Newcastle West Rovers V Shannonside FC 1130 (L. O’Connor)
Abbeyfeale Utd V Newcastle West 1130 (J. Roche)
Rathkeale V Carrig Celtic 1130 (D. O’Gorman)
Weekly Observer Division 1
Athea Utd V Old Mill 230 (N. Allen)
St. Itas V Kildimo Utd 230 (S. Hartnett)
Adare Utd V Feenagh 230 (G. O’Connor)
Abbeyfeale Utd B V Killeaney 230 (C. Dalton)
Friday 28th May
Weekly Observer Division 2 League Cup Final (extra time & penalties)
Kilcornan/Rockhill Rovers V Mountcollins/Rathkeale B 730 Clounreask
Saturday 29th May
Weekly Observer Division 1 League Cup Final (extra time & penalties)
Kildimo Utd V Killeaney 730 Clounreask
I agree 'clearly' but is there any signs up outside the grounds. I must complement Broadford on the set up that is with in Cove Park. It is by far the best i have seen at junior level. We played Listowel Celtic this season in the FAI and i taught i wuold not see a ground that would match it but its fare to say i did last Sunday. Well done to all involved.
Friday 21st May
Division 3 League Cup Final
Granagh Utd V Shountrade (home)
Premier Division
Askeaton V Newcastle West Rovers (draw)
Shannonside FC V Broadford Utd (draw)
Division 1
St. Itas V Old Mill 7pm (away)
Killeaney V Athea Utd 7pm (draw)
Sunday 23rd May
Division 2 League Cup Semi Finals
Kilcornan V Rockhill Rovers (away)
Mountcollins V Rathkeale B (away)
Premier Division
Glin Rovers V Ballingarry (home)
Newcastle West Rovers V Shannonside (home)
Abbeyfeale Utd V Newcastle West (away)
Rathkeale V Carrig Celtic (home)
Division 1
Athea Utd V Old Mill (draw)
St. Itas V Kildimo Utd (home)
Adare Utd V Feenagh (home)
Abbeyfeale Utd B V Killeaney (away)
Saturday 29th May
Division 1 League Cup Final
Kildimo Utd V Killeaney (away)
There is two "No Dogs" signs up outside the ground, she was also asked by our chairman to put the dog in the car, she refused saying said she would keep him on the clubhouse steps, 5 minutes later and for the rest of the match she was across the way...dont like giving out too much SKY BLUE, Rathkeale are okay and welcome to Broadford....ye wont beat us 6:0 there again...
Rovers scorers were Iain Corbett, Seorise Joyce, Adam Collins, Darragh Barrett
Killeaney 0-0 Athea Utd.
Killeaney hit woodwork three times, missed two sitters, had one cleared off the line, missed penalty 2 mins from time and totally outplayed Athea for long periods in the 2nd half. Tough encounter before a large attendance. Great result for Adare Utd.
Granagh Utd. 3-0 Shountrade
Premier Division
Glin Rovers 2 Ballingarry 4
Abbeyfeale Utd 0 Newcastle West 1
Rathkeale 2 Carrig Celtic 1
I find it hard to believe that both Glin Rovers and Abbeyfeale United are now involved in a relegation dogfight on the last day. I suppose that Ballingarry have the toughest match against Newcastlewest.I think that Rathkeale will win the Premier league after a tough encounter with Askeaton. The 2nd Div.League Cup Final should be interesting as Rockhill Rovers will be missing a few regulars on Friday night. Given that they usually perform well in Clounreask, having won there over the years on a regular basis, I think they are a good bet. I haven't seen enough of Mountcollins to really give an opinion on their chances. Kildimo United and Killeaney could be a cracker on Saturday evening. Killeaney just fell short on winning Div. 1, the backlog of games probably went against them in the long run. Kildimo United also fell away in the closing stages, so there isn't much between them. I'd go for Kildimo United if only for the reason that they maybe fresher than Killeaney.
Friday, May 21st
Division 3 League Cup Final
Granagh Utd 3 Shountrade 0
Premier Division
Askeaton 1 Newcastle West Rovers 1
Shannonside 3 Broadford Utd 2
Division 1
St Itas 2 Old Mill 1
Killeaney 0 Athea Utd 0
Sunday, May 23rd
Premier Division
Glin Rovers 2 Ballingarry 4
Newcastle West Rovers 3 Shannonside 1
Abbeyfeale Utd 0 Newcastle West 1
Rathkeale 2 Carrig Celtic 1
Division 1
Athea Utd 3 Old Mill 1
St Itas 4 Kildimo Utd 0
Adare Utd 5 Feenagh 0
Abbeyfeale Utd B 1 Killeaney 4
Division 2 League Cup S/Fs
Kilcornan 1 Rockhill Rovers 1 (Rockhill won 4-2 on pens)
Mountcollins beat Rathkeale B (don’t know score)
Division 2 League Cup
Mountcollins 4 Rathkeale B 2
Well done to Adare on winning the division 1 league.....
Are Adare still playing at Deerpark?
If they got some players back they could do well next year and give it a go....
Good to see Kileaney back in the premier fantastic facilities
Fixtures 28th May to June 4th
Friday 28th May
Rockhill Rovers V Mountcollins 730 Clounreask, (P. O’Connor, N. Allen, C. Dalton)
Saturday 29th May
Kildimo Utd V Killeaney, 730 Clounreask (T. Fitzmaurice, P. O’Donnell, J. Roche)
Sunday 30th May
Broadford Utd V Glin Rovers 1130 (P. Manning)
Ballingarry V Newcastle West 1130 (D. O’Gorman)
Rathkeale V Askeaton 1130 (L. O’Connor)
Carrig Celtic V Abbeyfeale Utd 1130 (P. O’Brien)
Friday 4th June
Weekly Observer Desmond Cup Final (90 minutes)
Athea Utd V Rathkeale 730 (G. O’Connor, P. O’Brien, T. Fitzmaurice, P. Manning)
Good year of football all round. Rathkeale should and in my opinion will win the premier league this weekend and do the double with the cup. Good team that play nice football and they deserve it. The battle from NCW came too late.
Could be messy with relegation though. Ballingarry on a real run and i heard NCW have a few injuries that won't be playing and are going to try out alot of youth players thinking of next season. Could be tight for Abbey and Glin.
Great to see Killeaney back to the premier league.With the facilities they have they should never have been down in Div 1. Congrats to Adare but i can't say the same for their place.
There are too many bad pitches in the top flight now. NCW Rovers is a disgrace they don't play half their matches at home during the year. I know Carrig are relegated but i won't say im sad to lose their pitch. If Ballingarry jumped Glin on Sunday id wouldn't be bad as it would be a shame to have their facilities in Div 1 again.
Its just a bad reflection on the desmond league with poor quality facilities.
i must agree with you on that..cant see rathkeale losing or drawing with askeaton on sunday and if they win the league they deserve it after the poor start ncw had at the start of the season..could be a tough game for ncw against ballingarry who are on a good run and fighting to stay in the top flight..if ncw win it wud be sad to see ballingarry go down with great facilities..carrig isnt bad thou.nice dressing rooms and training pitch and the field isnt bad either..ill agree with u on the ncw rovers field and with adare utd coming up also with poor facilities...killeaney coming back to the premier is good to see.good team and great facilities..
Friday 28th May
Rockhill Rovers V Mountcollins 730 Clounreask, (rockhill)
Saturday 29th May
Kildimo Utd V Killeaney, 730 Clounreask (killeaney)
Sunday 30th May
Broadford Utd V Glin Rovers 1130 (away)
Ballingarry V Newcastle West 1130 (away)
Rathkeale V Askeaton 1130 (home)
Carrig Celtic V Abbeyfeale Utd 1130 (draw)
Friday 4th June
Weekly Observer Desmond Cup Final (90 minutes)
Athea Utd V Rathkeale 730 (rathkeale)
What would you recommend to teams with bad pitches can do??
Alot of teams in the Desmond league have little to no money and scrape by one year at time. And also lot's of teams have to rent their pitch from local farmer or county council, in which case they are not entitled to any grants to improve the pitch as they must either own the grounds or have a Long-term lease....
Every team (especially the players) would love to have their own facilites and nice pitch... but who going to pay for it??
Very well said, in an ideal world we would all have perfect playing pitches but I'm afraid we have to deal with reality, as was pointed out clubs have to own their own land or have a long term lease before they can apply for and get grants. Now grants from the Dept of Arts, Sport & Tourism has now being halted therefore making it more difficult for clubs to develop what they have.
Well spoken "walkover", also I wish clubs would start charging a gate for matches, sell their product dont give it away, no doubt the same people complaining of facilities would complain of paying a couple of quid to see a game too....kids pay €2 or €3 euro for basketball or swimming practice or whatever everywhere, every sport has a small charge, but not top Desmond league games, I just think that Football, the most popular game in west Limerick by far in terms of people playing the game, way ahead of GAA, sells itself short all too often. One last thing, to be fair to "Gearysfan", I think he was just trying to compliment the good facilities rather than slag off the bad ones....
Well if your lucky enough that your club have good facilities then you only have to play on a "poor pitch" a couple of times a season so its not all bad. Spare a thought for those teams playing at home week in week out.
It can slso contribute to players transferring away, which can be disheartening too.
I thought Adare have a fine new set up in by the pitch and putt course???
I agree that it is great to see more teams having good facilities, the more the better I say as well...
For sure there is no harm charging €2 maybe for entrance to a game for adults! At the same time if teams charged more than that, it might deter people from comin to watch a game!
Wrong there "walkover", a small charge would make MORE people come, not deter them at all, nobody respects something that is free, its greeted with suspicion, thats why nobody drinks Beamish or Fosters and nobody drank Cider until they made it a euro dearer. The country loves giving out about GAA prices but they all go to the games, Junior Football facilities are actualy starting to pass out GAA facilities in West Limerick but can you see the wrong message sent out when its free to go in? If it cost a few quid (just €3) to go in people would respect it more, look for value for money more. So can I start a campaign here now? Can I ask every Desmond league club, especially the Premier division clubs , to give me a thumbs up on this page to having a gateman at every home game next year?
Bring it up at ur clubs AGM, propose appointing a gateman for the year,I garantee it will provide between €1 and €2 grand a year for your club and I garantee it will actualy improve attendances...
As far as I know it is a community pitch and must be hired out for games (soccer,gaa,rugby etc.) I know the Desmond Schoolboy League have used it for friendlies and training. It has a superb surface but as it is in it's infancy there are no dressing rooms or other facilities at the moment. However if it could be hired out by Adare and as suggested earlier in this forum the club charge an entrance fee then it could be of little cost to the club and improve their football.
You make a valid point, and €2 / €3 will not break the bank I suppose.
Any club in the top two divisions who have a gate entrance to their pitch should give it a go! Try it for a month maybe, see if it hampers attendance or not... if not then keep it place for the season!
It's a pity Askeaton missing so many on sunday with a stag (7 Starters), because if they had a full team they might put it up to Rathkeale for a while anyway. Its just a shame for the League that with it being so tight that Broadford and Askeaton fielding weakened teams.
Did Broadford not draw with Newcastle a few weeks ago, Broadfords problem is the same one that the had all year, they have no keeper, they conceded 8 against Askeaton early in the season, 6 against Rathkeale, and 3 against a number of teams. Its nothing to do with putting out weakened teams
i must agree with u on that...coming towards the end of the season and with teams having nothing to play for and are safe in the premier division the field weakened teams.if askeaton had a full team im sure the wud put up a good fight against rathkeale but i think rathkeale would win anyway with askeaton having a full team..a shame teams dont put out full teams even thou they have nothing to play for
I think you are a week behind there FIVEB.. That stag party was last weekend and Askeaton had no game only on the Friday night. Askeaton will have a full team on Sunday you can be sure of that and it is to be very difficult for Rathkeale but that is what you want every team giving their all until the season is over.
Dont agree that all teams put out weakened teams at this stage of the season. Carrig had absolutely nothing to play for last wk but gave Rathkeale an awful fright before losing late on. It goes both ways, you only beat what is put in front of you. Leagues are won and lost over 18 games, not over the last 2 or 3
Division 2 League Cup Final
Rockhill Rovers 4 Mountcollins 1
Pics from this one
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4005/...fd42ca0c_o.jpg
Once again I would like to thank you for the great pics. Has anyone got a match report?
just wanna say best of luck to all teams playing in the premier division tomorrow morning..who wins the league tomoro between ncw and rathkeale deserve to win it and also to the teams in danger of going down..sad to see abbeyfeale,ballingarry and glin fighting to stay cos they have great facilities and are good footballing teams..so whoever goes down with carrig i suppose deserve to go down and same with the title so best of luck to all teams involved :)