Lotty played last week against Kinsale.He wasnt there yeaterday.
Our keeper broke his nose in 2 places an also broke a bone in between his eye socket,he was kept in overnight an hes due to get a CAT scan this morning.
Printable View
Lotty played last week against Kinsale.He wasnt there yeaterday.
Our keeper broke his nose in 2 places an also broke a bone in between his eye socket,he was kept in overnight an hes due to get a CAT scan this morning.
A.U.L. 2A. Inter City Celtic v Killowen off due to frozen pitch.
Would just like to wish the Grattan keeper a quick and full recovery littleman. Not a good day for ye overall.
Jesus that must of been some challenge littleman.. For all involved i hope it was completely accidental. Would like to wish yer keeper the best of luck in his recovery and and hope he is ok
Sorry to hear about ye're keeper littleman!! hopefully he'll be ok
Ya littleman, hope your keeper is ok. Sounds like a very bad injury.
How did it happen?
What happened in the game itself? Kinsale match was called off. Pitch was frozen. Horses were on the pitch the night before and the hoof marks were frozen in! Too dangerous altogether.
Well Bog,I will say it like it happened an what anyone makes of it from theres on is up to himself.What I will like to point out it was a fair 50/50 tackle,with no malice.
We scored first an looked like adding a few more,except for there keeper had other ideas,he was top class on the day.We gave away a stuipd free an were punished big time for defending of the worst kind.1 apeice with a half hour gone.
Half time came an went an we wasted chance after chance,Village attacked on the break from time to time but otherwise ot was one way traffic.
On one of their breaks a terrible off side call resulted in a Village player being waved on by the ref,his 1st touch took him to the edge of our 18 yrd box,our keeper dived full lenght to block his shot.Which he did,the ball broke free but the Village player an about 5 or 6 of the nearest players around plus 10 to 20 spectators called the ref,our keeper was bleedin heavy an motionless,everybody literally stopped for a few seconds,the ref did not stop play,a Village player had the ball at this stage,an chose not to kick the ball out of play, he kicked it into the empty net.
That was 1/2 to Village with 3 mins left.
Our keeper is in the CUH,his nose was broken in 2 places an the bone above his eye is broken in 3 places.
I would honestly like to hear peoples opinions on what I have just posted.
The ref should have surely stopped it straight away if it was a head injury????
To be honest i would hope that the opposition player would kick the ball out of play too
To be honest that ref sounds like a joke to me if a player is lying there motionless and bleeding heavily and from what ive been told it was clear as day the keeper was out cold so no excuses really..
Just a relief from all involved with grattan and the players family the only thing lost was a game of football.. Hope he makes a speedy recovery littleman..
Whatever about the dodgy offside call and poor sportsmanship it's the referee's failure to act promptly to a serious head injury that bothers me. Maybe he was too far away from the incident to realise the severity of the injury, but surely the promptings of players and spectators would have made him realise that something was amiss. Referees will get offside, handball and other decisions wrong during a match, but to make a ball call concerning a players welfare is unacceptable. I know referees are under orders to officiate under certain guidelines but common sense should always prevail over rules and regulations. I'm not having a go at referees here as it's a job I would never do, but this is the first time I have heard of an incident like this in the A.U.L. and hopefully the last time. Most referees I have encountered are extremely quick to deal with injured players and especially head injuries.
Hopefully your 'keeper can make a full recovery and resume between the sticks in the near future.
Kearney on the oscar panel not a hope. Im not Sullivans biggest fan but i wouldnt have Kearney next or near that squad actuallty John Sull shouldnt be either but at least Sull would put in a tackle that Kearney is to windy and he has gained a few pounds so any pace he had is long gone ;)
Is it Lofty your talking about Littleman ? That sounds shocking Christmas week and all not that theres ever a good time. Lets hope for a speedy recovery. Its obvious the ref should have stopped it. I cant blame the Village lad for putting the ball in the net if he wasnt sure how serious the keeper was but i suppose if nearly 20 grown men were shouting to stop play then surely the Village player should have known to stop. All in all the Village lad shouldnt have been given the chance to score if the Ref did his job properly.
On the village game, you cant blame the player they needed the win as there was talk of them folding if they had lost. terry lotty didnt play because he didnt want to be cup-tied as they could fold.
Firstly i would wish the player a speedy recovey. Nobody likes to see that type of injury in the game. In my opinion you cant blame the player who by the rules did nothing wrong and played for the whistle. Although i do think the refs have a tough job, i think this situation could have been avoided by stopping the game immediately, especially when its an injury to the head. I wonder how many of us in here would have put the ball out and how many of us would have scored, in that moment ???
What was the reaction of the Village players ??
it wasnt lofty it was Mark Smith.
Personally I couldnt give 2 hoots wether we were 21 goals up or down,all im worried about is our keeper.
Sorry Boo but i cant agree with the reasoning your givin for Lotty scoring. What happens if Village lose next week, will they fold then ???...we are talkin about a serious head injury to a player who now prob faces losing financially workwise. Yes there was no whistle from the ref and the player was entitled to score but, according to you was to save the club disregarding the welfare of a fellow player.
That's a tricky situation. I remember almost identical thing happened when I was playing in Leinster Senior League albeit with less serious injury. I was in on goal last minute, all square. Someone clipped me from behind and I kind of fell forward into the advancing keeper and ball spilled towards the line. There was a roar out of the keeper and he looked a bit shook. I was in a heap on top of him but one of our boys ambled up and rolled the loose ball over the line.
They went ape**** of course and with reason. Goal stood, Keeper had to be helped off with some kind of leg injury after big delay and hardly time to kick off before final whistle. 1-0 win and a hasty retreat as it was one of Dublin's less hospitable spots.
Thing is the keeper wouldn't have been any less injured if our fella didn't roll the ball in and reckon there was no foul involved on my part.
If all the Grattan boys stopped when they saw the injury that's another matter but if the Village lad was there when the ball rolled free maybe he's entitled to roll it in and tend to the keeper after.
Hopefully the keeper is ok. Best of luck to him.
look as players,managers or refs we all make mistakes.We'v all been there.You never set out to do it,it is just a moment durin a game when for what ever reason common sense deserts you,we all make mistakes but ya have to remember always that afterwords what you do may have an effect on someone else,in a big or small way but never the less it effects someone. Hes a good decent ref an the Village lad is a good decent player,but 2 wrongs dont make a right.
On the village goal if they realised how wrong they had been in playing on and that numerous Grattan players had gone to there players aid whilst they had scored. why didnt they just let grattan go up the under end and score didnt somthing like this happen a few years ago in the lower leagues in england?would this not have been the sporting thing to do? most likely the lad who scored the goal was oblivous to what was going on around him at the time mind on just one thing the ball.
look im not lookin for a witch hunt,just theres somethings we just cant ignore.An some of the recent posts are very true in their own right.
But I was there an saw it true an proper,the whistle didnt blow an the ball wasnt put out,the Village player called the refs attention to the injury,As well as 20 other people,an only then was the ball put into the net,if it was put out id have been signing the praises from the rafters about him an his club,but its done now .
Somethin like this never goes away,it will always stink.
That's true Wee guy, First and foremost please wish your keeper the very best. I hope he recovers.
On the goal. Remember when Paolo DiCanio caught the ball with the keeper down. He won awards and got really special (deserved) praise. But it also highlights how unusual it is for it to happen...
I can understand a guy tapping in the ball, don't think that I'd have done it but lets be honest a big match you're hyped up open goal ball at your feet, can't say I would even hear a shout from anyone.
But the ref could have shown a bit of common sense by just checking the keeper after - realizing the problem and just restarting the game with a drop ball or something like that...
At the end of the day player health and safety is paramount.
Something like this happened in Serie A a few weeks ago between Ascoli and Reggina. Ascoli scored a sneaky one when Reggina were trying to kick it out and then they let them up the other end in return.
http://www.dangerhere.com/ascoli-do-...ffield-united/
Well in my opinion the refs these days are to slow and unfit to keep up with the game so more often than not they just hang around the middle of the field making bad decisions..
If the ref was up with the play maybe he would have seen smithys injury for himself and seen how bad the lad was then do the right thing and stop the game..
Maybe im wrong and he was right up with the game but somehow i dont think im wrong at all..
And hand on heart if i collided with someone with the force smithy was hit id know the keeper must be really hurt and with everyone ( spectators + player) shouting at the ref to stop the game id have knocked the ball wide or over or picked it up.. At the end of the weekend when the games are done and dusted players have to go back to work and to there families so players welfare should be the priority here
First things first I'd like to offer my best wishes for a speedy recovery to the Grattan keeper. Its just sport and win or lose we expect to go home in one piece.
Its incidents like this that make a laugh of the expression 'keepers get way too much protection these days'.
The most serious injuries will always be to brave keepers who put their faces and bodies where others wouldn't put their size 9s.
Look at the Cech and Given injuries in the recent past.
I think that it's very hard to comment on an incident that you didn't see. But player welfare should be top of everyone's list.
As soon as the ref noticed that the player was in trouble with a head injury he should blow the whistle.
Sometimes the ref will follow the ball after a challange that wasn't a foul and won't see that the player is badly hurt (especially if he doesn't scream to high heaven).
As for the Village player, with adrenalin pumping its hard not to put it in the net.
The onus must be on the ref to stop the game not the player...
However, without seeing the incident live its impossible for me to say if there was any fault.
Remember that the refs in our league are on their own with no help from linesmen/asst refs, so of course they will miss stuff.
Its a tough way to lose a game but we all lose games where we think that we were treated unfairly. Look at France v Ireland ffs!
That's football.
The player's welfare and recovery is what's more important now :ball:
Owl I think you misread Boo's post, Lotty didn't play any part in the match. It was their center forward Cambridge that scored the goal.
To be fair to the village players involved they didn't exactly have much time to decide what to do,I personally would be of the attitude 'score the goal ask questions later'.
How many times have we all been shouted at to play to the whistle when learning to play the game as schoolboys?
I had a good view of the incident from behind the goal.
After the collision with Cambridge the keeper was lying next to the ball motionless,a village player played on and clipped the ball through to the lad
Cambridge who was now standing 5 or 6 yards (offside) behind the keeper with only 1 defender getting back onto the line, he then used a Thierry Henry style handball control before putting the ball in the back of the net.
Speaking to a few of the Grattan players over the weekend they were annoyed with the ref rather than the Village players. If he was following the ball and didn't see the keeper lying there injured then he must see the offside and handball, or if he was looking at the keepers injury and missed the offside and handball then surely he must blow the whistle and stop the game for the head injury.
We all know being a ref is a tough job but this was easily the worst bit of officiating I've personally come across in all my years of playing and watching games.
Hopefully the Grattan keeper recovers quickly and is back playing sooner rather than later, its only a game after all.:ball:
i think after a collision like grattans keepers one when a player is lying motionless jus plain common sense and surely instinct is to stop the game and make sure he is ok
Have read all the posts on this incident not gonna comment on what should have been done or should`nt or whose fault it was etc.... Was not at the game so i would just like to pass on my best wishes to the grattan lad that got hurt and hope he makes a speedy recovery!!
Croceboy, fair enough i named the wrong player, but irrespective of who scored i was saying that i didnt agree with booboys reasoning behind scoring. Surely all players welfare is priority. and not wether a club are going to fold or not ?
I'd like to take the opportunity to wish all on here a Merry Christmas. Best of luck to all in their games over the festive period.
Just want to wish ye all a Happy Christmas and a Happy New Year.
It's been eventful to say the least, so hopefully more of the same in the New Year.
Be good and eat and drink loads of the festives. :D
King.
Happy christmas to everyone its been a good year i must say..
Good luck in all yer games over the christmas and dont drink to much haha
Happy xmas lads from all the Gratts an heres to a liitle relaxin time for everyone
Just to let everybody know,Mark Smith our keeper is hoping to be allowed home today.
With Dillons Cross 4 years, nothing the first season, second season we won the second division play-off,(best game i've been involved in), to get promoted, third season we won the first division, got to the last 64 of the FAI Cup and last season we got relegated from Premier A after getting 6 points deducted. Hopefully this season will bring promotion and a trip to the Cross.
anythin at all played this weekend.
Hello all,I managed to get a hold of all the cup draws but its to long to post so anyone who wants ta know who they have an in what just ask.
Who do Blackstone have in the next round of the AOH please Littleman??