Im going for Clonmel v Ballymun
Printable View
for those interested, a report on last sundays game. interesting view from a neutrul man (think hes a cork man originally) with no connections to either club and who would also writes for the star and the examiner. may give some info to clonmel, not that they need it really, considering they were there themselves.
-------------------------------------------------------
IT was very much a case of the better footballing side losing when Lisselton Rovers bowed out of the Umbro FAI Junior Cup at the quarter-final stage at a wet McCarthy Park to St Peters, Athlone last Sunday.
It was game that Lisselton Rovers in hindsight will feel they left after them, but they let nobody down as they played the better football. Nevertheless they were vulnerable in the air at the back and that's where they conceded the winner. It has been a great journey for Lisselton and they were so close to making the breakthrough for Kerry soccer that Michael Carr and the entire squad can feel proud of their achievements, and if they stick together they could be back next year.
Maybe they could gain some compensation if the KDL allow them represent Kerry on bloc, when Cork City come to Tralee on April 14.
St Peters settled quicker and had two good early chances, the second one from Stephen Mullan needing David Hennessey's outstretched footto turned the ball behind. From the corner Tom Silke was afforded a free header which he steered inches wide.
Lisselton began to trouble St Peters with Stephen Conway doing well down the right and in the 17th minute, Brendan O'Driscoll bent a superb free kick around the wall and Hynes had to dive full length to turn keep it out. From the corner, Glasheen headed over and it was clear that St Peters were a defensive side who were there for the taking.
Then a let off for Lisselton in the 25th minute when Stephen Conway was caught in possession by Mikey Collins, who played Sherlock through, but Hennessy made a stunning save conceding a corner. O'Driscoll forced Hynes to make two good saves from well struck free kicks as Lisselton Rovers finished the
Oh the pain... half the stronger, and they had two great chances in the final minute of the half.
Firstly O'Driscoll with another free kick won a corner that Conway floated in and Damian Wallace headed over from six yards. Then from the goal kick, the centre-half and keeper got their calls wrong, and Mouslim nipped in to toe poke inches wide. Lisselton took over in the third quarter and really should have won the game in this period. O'Driscoll and Sheehy combined in the 49th minute for the latter to whip in a cross to the near post and Glasheen flashed his shot wide under pressure.
Then against the run of play St Peters scored in the 66th minute when Cranberry's corner was met by Sherlock at the back post and he powered a header to the net.
Lisselton had a penalty claim in the 78th minute when Glasheen went down on the box, but they lost their way late on and never looked as if they would equalise.
Best of luck to Iorras Aointaithe in their semi final tomorrow against Ballymun.hopefully the Mayo clubs all turn up and give them their support:ball:
Erris United 1-2 Ballymun AET
For those of you who are interested, (very few I would think), here is another match report from a midlands paper and a nuetral reporter. Obvously, this guy was looking at a different game to the reporter from Munster whose effort is posted above. I noted the parts:
Lisselton had scored twelve times in the previous two rounds but you’d wonder how on the evidence of this fairly harmless performance.
and
In the end, the visitors didn’t really have the nous or creativity to carve open a solid St Peter’s side, who can now get even more excited about what this season holds.
ST PETER’S are through to the semi-finals of the prestigious FAI Junior Cup after Mark Sherlock’s 65th minute header separated the side’s in last Sunday’s tense and tight quarter-final clash at McCarthy Park.
The Athlone side have now qualified for the last four of a competition entered at the outset by more than 700 teams from around the country.
This famous victory for St Peter’s also secures them a place in the first round proper of the FAI Senior Cup, a competition entered by League of Ireland sides in the second round.
After morale boosting victories over the 2005 champions Westport Utd and last year’s winners Carrick Utd, St Peter’s always fancied their chances of seeing off Lisselton Rovers from Kerry.
And Mark Sherlock, who has now netted in the last three rounds, became the toast of the club when he powerfully headed home Adrian Carberry’s corner kick in the 65th minute.
From then on, St Peter’s never looked in danger of squandering their slight advantage, with the likes of Rory McGowan and Tom Silke at the back, and the superb Stephen Mullan leading the way for the Connaught-side club.
Lisselton had scored twelve times in the previous two rounds but you’d wonder how on the evidence of this fairly harmless performance.
The visitors had the wind advantage in the opening period but didn’t use it too well and St Peter’s were marginally the better side throughout in what was always a captivating and tense affair, but never a very exciting or free flowing encounter.
Indeed, it was eleven minutes into the tie before the first opening arrived.
Mark Sherlock got into a fine attacking position and tried to pick out Stephen Mullan but his low cross was well intercepted and the chance had gone.
Three minutes later, Keith Hynes seemed to leave a bit too much room for Brendan O’Driscoll to curl home a 25-yard free kick, but the home netminder just managed to claw the ball to safety after diving full length. Stephen Conway’s deep cross then posed difficulties for Hynes but Oura Moussirine’s snapshot, after Hynes failed to catch the cross, was well over the bar.
Lisselton’s Liam Costello was the first player to be booked in a game which never threatened to get out of hand and was played in a competitive but very fair manner.
At this stage, Lisselton were on top in midfield but Michael Collins, the St Peter’s player-manager, got the better of Conway before his low cross picked out Sherlock, however, his tame effort was straight at David Hennessy.
Right winger Brendan O’Driscoll looked Lisselton’s biggest threat, cutting in from the wing onto his left foot, and he tested Hynes with a great effort in the 33rd minute but the St Peter’s ‘keeper did well to touch the ball around the post.
Lisselton will feel they definitely should have netted just before the break.
Firstly, Damien Wallace somehow headed over the crossbar from close range after Conway’s well delivered corner. Then Eoin Fox made a mistake in the St Peter’s defence but was fortunate to see Moussirine’s shot from 12 yards dribble the wrong side of the post. That was a huge let-off for St Peter’s but they were still alive and kicking at the break.
The side’s traded half chances early in the second half, with Sherlock going close for St Peter’s and Wallace sending another header over the top. Joe Sheehy also saw his effort well blocked by the St Peter’s rearguard, who were generally defending extremely well.
Pascal Dillon and Brian Caldwell were introduced to the fray for St Peter’s, and the former put in a notable shift on the right side of midfield.
The moment St Peter’s had waited patiently for finally arrived on 65 minutes.
Rory McGowan’s precise ball over the top forced Lisselton into conceding a corner kick on the right side of the field.
Adrian Carberry delivered a fine cross and Sherlock swooped to head home with power and accuracy. Lisselton goalkeeper Hennessy got a touch to Sherlock’s effort but couldn’t prevent hitting the net.
Lisselton seemed to become very frustrated following Sherlock’s goal and St Peter’s now had their fate very much in their own hands.
On 75 minutes, Dillon worked the ball neatly to Sherlock but he was eventually crowded out by several Lisselton players.
Up the other end, as things got more and more tense, McGowan produced a fantastic last gasp tackle to deny Sheehy a clear run at goal.
McGowan has forged a good partnership with central defensive colleague Tom Silke and both have been integral to St Peter’s during this momentous cup adventure.
Sherlock struck another effort well over the crossbar and Lisselton picked up three more yellow cards as the clock ticked by.
In the end, the visitors didn’t really have the nous or creativity to carve open a solid St Peter’s side, who can now get even more excited about what this season holds.
Much credit for this hard fought victory must go to St Peter’s tight defensive unit in which McGowan and Silke again excelled. But the finest player on the pitch was Stephen Mullan, who worked tirelessly whether up front or in midfield, and almost always used the ball effectively.
Well done to Erris and hard luck today. Was rooting for you and the prospect of an all connaght FAI final was mouth watering. Peters and Clonmel now fixed for 6pm Saturday 11th in Cooke Park Tipperary.
Big game required from ‘Town on Saturday – good to see a couple of wins (& clean sheets) in last 2 games. Haven’t seen either – has Moroney scored or at least featured – looked like he could have done with a bit of match practice in last round. With such a shortage of strikers it’s unfortunate that David McGrath will probably have 2 big games in 24 hours on the weekend – hopefully he won’t suffer too much. Central defensive partnership is probably the biggest concern – who should partner Robbie Costigan (who’s been excellent all year). I don’t think Raymie or Steven Ryan are up to it – John Shanahan would be worth a go but probably not in a match as important as this.
speaking as a lisselton player, id would like say that this little feud between Fr damo and lisselton rovers over the game on this thread is embarassing. i would like wish St Peters the best for the remainer of competition. I think on the day that experience is what won them the tie. But our average age of our team is 23 so im sure we will reach this stage again and hopefully go farther. also like thank St Peters boys for their hospitality after the game.
Thanks Dutchy. Yes, you will be back, no question. We were there or there abouts in terms of ability about three or four years ago, signed two or three and kept some of those younger lads who are now over 25. We have had a few harsh lessons down the years when we felt we should have done better, Westport 06, Rockmount in 05, but thoses experiences are standing to us now.Quote:
speaking as a lisselton player, id would like say that this little feud between Fr damo and lisselton rovers over the game on this thread is embarassing. i would like wish St Peters the best for the remainer of competition. I think on the day that experience is what won them the tie. But our average age of our team is 23 so im sure we will reach this stage again and hopefully go farther. also like thank St Peters boys for their hospitality after the game.
I wish you the best of luck, hang on to your good guys, (the A championship would be a step sideways imo).
A very "honest" assesment Town fan, your the only one who fancy's Peters though, bookies make them outsiders @ 11/4, Clonmel are 5/6 or something like it.Quote:
Moroney hasn't played for months and it shows. A great striker but I don't think he is up to the required fitness, also with David McGrath out as well, its hard to see where Town will score.
best of luck to them but I fancy St Peters
I think it will be close, where an early goal could change things for either team as I understand both are well organised and can defend well. So a close encounter and if I were a betting man which I am I'd back a draw at 90 mins.
p.s, could you PM or if you don't mind perhaps posting directions to Cooke Park, Tipperary, as I will be travelling down.
Cheers.
Whe you come in to Tipp town from Cashel go past the grave yard, about 200 meters past it is a Video shop, turn right here, go straight through the estate( over speed ramps etc for about 300 meters till you get to T junction. Turn left and cooke park is 200 meters up on the left. If your coming from thurlus, the first roundabout you meet (small one) go right and cooke park is up on the left about 400 meters. safe travelling.
Town will be too strong and too savvy for St peters IMO. Town to win by 2 goals/
best of luck to ballymun in final ,iorras did not play as well as they had in earlier rounds but credit has to go to ballymun for not letting them,ballymun had lions share of possesion but the game was in the balance right to the end.
good to see town fan predicting a win for st peters......has to be a good omen for clonmel town as town fan predicted throughout the season that they wouldnt win anything....they are on course for league and cup double,fai cup and munster senior cup semi next week.....with fans like that who needs enemies eh
I Think if peters attacking players like mark sherlock, brian codwell,steven mullan and cabsy play well i think peters will win. im goin for a close 2 1 win for peters after ET.Best to luck to all involved as i wont be there.
Clonmel 2-4 St Peters AET
You know your football AlwaysAHoop!
Town will feel that they threw it away, the biggest mistake they made was taking off Scully for a head injury even though he indicated he was ready to come back on.
Another turning point was the sending off of Coady at 2-1 which was correct but with Peters being super fit Town had no answer in extra time.
I must give Peters credit as they battled hard all throughout the match and it goes to show how far a will to win can bring ya but I felt Clonmel were the team who tried to play more football. St Peters were more route 1. Impressed by the number 7 for Peters who kept running all night and caused Town numerous problems and credit to the number 9 who won a ball he had no right to win to set up the equaliser before halftime.
Disappointed by the carry on of some of the Peters "supporters" who had more interest in shouting vile abuse to those around and jeering, one of the supporters broke his arm leaping over the railing of the pitch, maybe they should spend less time in the pub before the match and they might get to remember some of the Final if they do and give proper support to the team.
But in saying that it was only the minority while the rest of the supporters were a credit to the club with their level of support.
Maybe the better team are not in the final but the team who wanted it more and with the bit of luck got there in the end and I would like to wish them the best of luck in the final.
For the neutral it was a very entertaining game but was disappointed with the attendance considering it was an FAI Junior Cup semi final
I'm not a town supporter by any means but quite how they lost that game only they will know. they completely dominated the game throughout. they played any football that was played. they will be scratching their heads for a hile aftr this one.
As a neutral it is a stunning resut.
Peters had two chances in 90 minutes and scored twice.
Town had umpteen chances in 90 minutes and scored twice.
Peters didn't play any football. Town did.
Awful gut wrenching result for town. Where do they go from here.
End of the road for some fine club stalwards.
Congrats to peters i missed out on game as i was away last nigh how did it go .great result from the reports i got from some of the peters lads they got away with daylight robbery as clonmel were super for lots of periods..But thats the will to win in peters side..But its not chances to win games that wins games its goals and peters took theres..fair play to clonmel and congrats to peters for gettin to a final.
Carrick also felt they should have won at St Peters but attitude and determination added to ability (and luck) has served Peters well.Westport , Carrick , Lsselton , Cl. Town ,all top junior clubs left in your wake why not Ballymun . Congratulations to Michael Quinn(carrick man) and Peters ,from CUFC
St Peters can count themselves lucky. But it's the result that counts at the end and to beat Carrick (the best team in the comp) westport and a hotly fancied Clonmel can't be all flukes imo.
As an avid St Peters fan/member/ex player I was embarressed by some of St Peters "Supporters" when they scored at one all. We have only played Clonmel once... and unfortunatley that maybe the abiding memory the players, officals and mangement have of St Peters. That is dissapointing.
The team were far more respectful and in fairness acknowledged Clonmel should have won 3-1 but for a massive piece of luck. But... the sesult stands, Peters the better side for the last 30mins of football as Clonmel had given it their all but to lose a man with 20 to go. Delighted for BC, man of match award andtwo goals, he is a true gent, has been unlucky with the team selection to date as he has been 12th man more then once in this cup, but deserved his just reward last night.
Thanks to St Michaels for their hospitality yesterday, excellant club, committee and facilities and hope we have forged another friendship for future friendlies. Tangled one or twice as schoolboys and look forward to meeting them all again.
Its not sour grapes that i say this cause i'm A supporter of Clonmel Celtic, and Town are the team we would love to beat but never have, but to be honest it seemed beyond the relms of possibility that clonmel town could lose that game. to say that they completely dominated the game from start to finish is an under statement. they completely played st peters off the park. I mean even the 2nd goal was a freak goal. it was initially a great strike but when it came off the post it was in slow motion as it hit the diving keeper on the head and trickled over the line. 80 mins of the game was played in peters half. town seemed to cut them open at will at it was last gasp defending. Even tony scullys miss from litterally under the crossbar had to be seen to be believed. I cant talk about peters previous games as its the first time i had seen them but the old phrase "your name is on the cup" never seemed to ring through so much cause watching last nights game there was no conceivable way st peters could win that game. But They Did!!! I have heard all about the will to win and belief, and yeah i accept that they are vital ingrediants, but town completely outclassed their opponents....... and lost. Football is an amazing game.
Saw a txt from Silky to Paugie after the match in Longford: "40 yards, enough said"
Any idea what that was all about? We all had visions of Tom scoring a header from 40 yards out :p
Congrats to Peters btw, was chatting a few of the lads on Sunday ... delighted is an understatement!
Forty Yards?? That's about the length of his celebration run after he scored. Had to get a taxi back to center half for the re start!
well Final less than 2 weeks away how do ye see it going?2 surprise packages in the final great venue for the final aswell most players will relish playin in tolka..goin to go for a high scoring win for peters maybe 4 .3:) have peters much support going Up.
When is the final on and what time is the kickoff?
Sunday Tolka Park at half two. 14.30
Just wanted to let you all know that St. Peters won todays FAI junior cup final.(Not sure of the scoreline but someone will post it around half four!!!):D
On a serious note i just want to wish them all the best, they have done themselves proud to reach the final and i believe that their name is on the cup for this year. They just have to go and collect it now. My guess is Peters to win 3-1.
Just hope im right as they deserve it.
Result
Ballymun 2 0 St Peters
2-0 to Ballymun
Peters never showed up
Congrats to Ballymun. Well done.
Well done to Ballymun from all at Iorras Aontaithe.
Peters didn't get off the bus, but some credit must go the Ballymun as maybe there 3 at the back worked??
disapointing attendance from Athlone, but those that travelled they were a credit. There was great support for Ballymun, I believe great craic in Fagan's before the game between both sets of supporters too. Well done the Mun, good luck in the league also.
congrats to the mun,good to see them back.