You didnt last long in limerick
Printable View
I never said I didnt respect Clonmel, I just gave my opinion, given that Ive seen Clonmel as well as all remaining Limerick teams play this season, that is what my "opinion" is based on.
You have to admit that Clonmel Town are not as good away from home as there are at home........
You'd have to wonder about the integrity of Junior football when you read these threads. Play suspended/ineligible players and if you get away with it well and good, if you dont its one of your rival clubs who 'ratted' you out and in that case its the 'ratting' thats worse than the cheating.
As for trying to find out about an opposition side, everyone does that. asking questions on here, personal messages, reading different league threads etc. Some of the better resourced clubs can send a scout across country to watch future opposition.
Lads its Junior football, its about getting your best available squad ready to play the oppositions best available squad on the same pitch/meadow/paddock/bog and you hope you get a fair deal from the officials. Some lads on here have delusions of grandeur about their clubs right to win.
Can we leave the bitching, bickering, name calling to when you're having a pint in the bar with yer mates. Are a few honest appraisals of the weekends games with impartial match reports to follow to much to ask? Or am I a hopeless romantic? Thats all from the Sligo Jury.
May the best four teams win at the weekend. Allez Les foot
Longshanks, That was possibly the best post in a junior forum I've read on here in a long long while.
Now can we move to to Sunday's games. Best of luck to all sides involved.
as willow are the only side ive played this year im goin to wish ye luck for the weekend.good team,maybe needs 1-2 more players to be a great team in my opinion.wish we could have givin ye a better game in the ljc at ur place
I've got to say that the rivalry in Limerick "junior" soccer is gone well beyond healthy.Some clubs are more bothered about what other clubs are doing instead of concentrating on the more important issues within their clubs namely discipline and schoolboy football.
Anyone involved in Junior soccer in Limerick should be proud and happy that there's 4 clubs in the quarter finals of the biggest club competition in Europe and should support the other clubs in an effort to make it an all Limerick final.
At this stage it would be great to see a Kilmallock v Regional final.I'm sure all Junior club members would be happy "neutrals" although you always have jealous begrudgers. Some of what's going on in and around these threads should not be associated with the good name of football and is not good for the local leagues or games with some of the local fixtures now laced with hatred for want of a better word.
I have to agree with you twohalves I would love to see the minnows put one over on the big boys and all neutrals would like that. Probably wont happen but this is cup football and a gutsy performance with a bit of luck and who knows.
Alan Barry isn't from Garryowen..............and if all Limerick teams helped each other out rather than trying to dig dirt, then the FAI would be brought back to Limerick a lot more than it has over the years.
P.S
If I was running things below at Star, we'd be fighting relegation...........................ha ha
Can't. there would surely be an objection to that!!
Kilmallock are a team that plays with no fear away from home and regardless of the opposition play there own game. Which is a good brand of attacking football with talented youth and experienced good players. So Fairview beware of complacency just ask the Boro lads.
For me I think St.Michaels,Regional and Fairview will progress this weekend.
Best of luck to all involved.
Nobody giving Clonmel much chance here!! I can't comment on Willow, but Town are such a hard team to beat, and have shown a lot of bottle so far, I'd fancy them, but who knows???
I'll guess - Clonmel Town
- Saint Michaels
- Fairview
- Regional
Did some checking on Shangan Athletic theyre Dublin AUL Premier A side founded 1990. Won Premier C Lge 2006/07 and won Premier B 2008/09 Colours red and black. Theyre bottom of Premier A, played 7 won 0, drawn 2, lost 5 (deducted 10pts, dont know the story why). They have however excelled in the FAI Junior Cup winning there last two games 4-1. So you could say theyre bit like Portsmouth in the FA Cup (minus the money worries)
Latest odds Paddy Power:
Fairview Rangers 1/4 v 6/1 Kilmallock - Draw 4/1
Willow Park 6/4 v 7/5 Clonmel Town - Draw 23/10
St Michaels 13/8 v 6/5 Pike Rovers - Draw 12/5
Regional United 2/5 v 4/1 Shangan Athletic - Draw 10/3 - Regional to win AET.
My predictions in BOLD.
Best if luck to all team involved.
i think the limerick posters will be brought back down to earth this week when the"mighty" pike bow out to saint michaels..clonmel town will win too by the way ..feck yere all limerick final in hugh jackman park..all tipp final in cooke park more like
for a matter of fact if the phone calls did not happen pike would of played wayne sunday and if pike won st micheals would have objected and st micheals would have won the objection.
[QUOTE=blackjack;1332778]for a matter of fact if the phone calls did not happen pike would of played wayne sunday and if pike won st micheals would have objected and st micheals would have won the objection.so in one way thanks for making them but ye still are the lowest of the low:)
St. Michaels are going to have to play very well to beat Pike after all this. This tough draw suits pike down to the ground. The what seemed like easier draws has caught them down the years. Pike to win 1-0. Killmallock will run Fairview very close I think. Regional will beat shangan if they don't make any silly mistakes and Clonmel to beat willow.
its fairview,pike,clonmel and shangen for me. dont think it matters who pike are missing i still think they will be far too strong. clonmel to beat fairview in semi and pike to beat shangan, some final then.
View, Pike, Shangen & willow for the semi-finals
A boy the 'Real deal' that's more like it!:)
it seems to me that people are basing their predictions about town after only seeing them against star. suits us, we were terrible that day. we will be laughing on sunday. i expect us to be tournament favourites on sunday night
best of luck to both tipp sides this weekend, heres my honest opinion ( its probably way off ). i expect pike to just have a bit too much for saints, it will be very tight though and could go all the way to penalties,certainly cant see more than one goal seperating the sides. i feel saints have an excellent and experienced backline but will probably rely on set pieces too much to score. clonmel n the other hand have a little more about them going forward, they are a battle hardened cup side now having been to the semis a couple of times in the last few years. i dont know much about willow but hear they are on a par with st peters who clonmel really should have beaten last year. il go with 2-0 for town. really fancy them to win it out
It wasn't that your were terrible that day is was because you weren't allowed to get out of first gear by a spirited Star team performance and a more clinical team would have taken advantage of that. So some people might think it will happen again this weekend and Willow will be more clinical. As they say people are entitled to opinions best of luck to all teams left.....