There is nothing quite like a Saints/Town game to get this forum going :)
Printable View
There is nothing quite like a Saints/Town game to get this forum going :)
I love this forum, by the sounds of it i think clonmel should stay at home.
For the record Richie Ryan is living and working in Limerick
hope the action on the field tonight is as good as action on forum today :) any predictions on score lads??
Some of the talk on here about town is crazy, only 2 of the squad are more than 30 years of age both of those will start tonight. It’s a team full of experience and winners and yet some people here seem to give them no chance tonight. They have lost two games in total to Tipperary opposition this year Saints in the league and Celtic in the cup.
The players don’t care what’s going on off the field once they take to the pitch. Do you think they will be thinking about Murish or anyone else in the club when they see the saint’s players standing in front of them?? I fancy a very tight game tonight andTown to be coming home with the league title
St Michaels with a 3-1 win, organised and plenty of football lately, dont think Town have played a lot of games lately, i may be corrected on that
il go 2-1 saints, jimmy carr and richie ryan to score for saints , tony scully for town but as preds said above town have alot of winners in the team so would not surprise me if they do win it. i wouldnt write them off like a lot of people on here have done already. just hope its not like chelsea united game where united killed the challenge of chelsea off early in the game and ended it as a contest b4 halftime. If saints score early that could happen. heres hoping for a cracker anyway lads
Cant see Town winning because of the fact they have not played much football lately. Saints may be a little tired cause of their fixture congestion in recent wks, im gonna go for a 0-0 draw or maybe a narrow 1-0 home win.
8nil to the saints
Congrats to Clonmel town, a great achievement. St michaels wouldnt win a league if they were the only team in it ;)
There was a lot of crap on here today bout town having no chance,eat humble pie,town were well deserving winners,michaels were very poor,they didn't deserve to win,chalkie can relax all he wants now,we only need 1,is all he kept saying,haha
haha nice, who got the goal boy wonder and what stage was it at?
Why do you think, im obviously wondering!
Enjoyable game at Cooke Park tonight as Clonmel Town win another TSDL title. They are really the kingpins of this league. The only goal which decided the game was a horrendous error by the St.Michaels goalkeeper. Saints had greater share of possesion but came up against a well organised Clonmel Town side who gave nothing away. I wonder about St.Michaels in big game on Sunday week. They have nothing up front and quite a few shortcomings obvious to-night. Everything was channelled through Pa Quinn and to-night he was very poor. Cannot understand why he wasn't taken off but as usual Padraic Fogarty sacrificed. Jimmy Carr looked confused as he was constantly switched from left to right and eventually he didn't know where to play. For Town, Ritchie Ryan was excellent in goal and the back four were faultless. Comerford did well until tiring. Barry Ryan was way off form and taken off. Again congrats to Town.
yeah that about sums it up nononsense. i thought looking at saints tonight not 1 or 2 but all had an eye on fai final because they were very bad. town got the goal up and killed the game, got everyone behind the ball and saints created very little after that although ryan made 2 or 3 unreal saves, he is a top keeper. well done to town i think their players responded to the critics and the players that walked/left during season. for saints its another season without lge but they are munster champions :) and maybe fai champions in 2 weeks what an ocassion turners cross is going to be on the 22nd.
I think to be fair there was good reason not to think Town would win however yes they have made a lot of us eat humble pie but boy am i glad they did its a great end to the season for the team well done to jamie,jonny and all the players its probably one of there sweetest leagues the club has ever won
Did st michaels play a full side
not sure i was not at game last night, but id imagine saints were full strength with the league title up for grabs. 7 titles in 8 years is some going from town. could someone post up both teams starting 11s if they get a chance
Firstly have to hold my hands up and admit I underestimated the resolve of the Town players, who were simply outstanding last night. They defended as if there life depended on it. Yes they got a soft goal and survived a number of scares. Thought Michaels should had a pen in first half but with all that said, nobody could deny Town this league. Fair play to Jamie and all the players, wonderful achievement and I certainly didn't think they would win last night. Just hope that all of the players who sulked and left are kicking themselves today. I saw Stephen Ryan there last night- hadn't realised he had left as well. Michaels were at full strength. Best of luck to them in FAI final.
In what was a wonderful team display, Richie Ryan, Ted O'Connor,Raymie Conodn, Tony Davis and Tony Scully were outstanding. That must be Raymie's and Tony's 8 or 9 medal-will hardly be matched.
Town were fantastic last night,real gutsy display,Saints maybe could have had a penalty but in saying that Paul Breen should definitely have been sent off for the tackle on Barry Ryan that led to the goal so probably evened itself out
I thought John Lyons bottled both decisions,the penalty was a close call,for me it was a penalty but the red card was a no brainer,Barry Ryan was a lucky boy i thought his leg was broke,it was a real horror tackle but Town got a goal from it so probably felt justice was done,i hope Saints go on and lift the FAI and so should we all as Tipp men,any genuine football fan in Tipp that wants that trophy going to Limerick should be ashamed of themselves
to be fair- I saw him there last night and he congratulated the Town players which was good of him- enough said on the man
Saints actually played as well last night as they have played all season,just could not score but without being disrespectful i think everyone felt when Sean O Halloran was coming on that Saints were completely out of ideas,it should not have come to that
two teams taken of saints website
ST.MICHAELS:
1.DEREK BREEN
2.PAUL TOBIN
3.CHRIS HIGGINS
4.JAMES WALSH
5.PAUL BREEN
6.THOMAS FAHEY
7.JIMMY CARR
8.RICHIE RYAN
9.PA QUINN
10.PADRAIC FOGARTY
11.JOHN CONNERY
----------------------
SUBS: 16. DANNY O'BRIEN
FOR 11. JOHN CONNERY;
15. SHANE GUERIN FOR
10. PADRAIC FOGARTY;
12. SEAN O'HALLORAN FOR
2. PAUL TOBIN;
13. RAY MCMAHON
14.MICHAEL FITZGERALD
-------------------------
CLONMEL TOWN:
1.RICHARD RYAN
2.ANTHONY DAVIS
3.DEREK LOUGHNANE
4.TED O'CONNOR
5.RAYME CONDON
6.TONY SCULLY
7.JOHN SHANAHAN
8.MICKY COMERFORD
9.BARRY RYAN
10.IAN CLEARY
11.EVEN MAGUIRE
----------------------
12. BARRY MURPHY FOR
9. BARRY RYAN;
14. NIALL KELLY FOR
8. MICKEY COMERFORD;
15. LEVI WHELAN FOR
10. IAN CLEARY;
13. ADRIAN CLEERE
18. EVAN COMERFORD
town had very strong 11 out. fair play to them incredible to think they beat saints without barnes, david mcgrath, steven ryan, smurf and michael quillivan in cooke park. hopefully saints can pick it up and win fai from here
Well done to 'Town last night - backs to the wall at times but a well deserved win and of course title. I thought, while they had a lot less possession than Michaels even in 1st half, they had a few great passages of play and played lovely football at times. Unfortunately that was abandoned (understandably) in the 2nd half when the object was to just clear the ball upfield. Could have done with a bit of composure at times but that is just being over critical. While it was obviously great to win last night it was a bit frustrating comparing the performance with the 2 losses in the big cups earlier in season. I think a big problem can be complacency / arrogance with the team - this was never going to be a problem last night. But anyway hopefully the obituaries have been binned and there is still life left in that team - still the core of a very good side. Well done again.
PS Paul Breen's tackle on Barry Ryan was a carbon copy of his tackle on Tony Scully a couple of years ago in the complex. At the time I was admonished for criticising the tackle as being thuggish and accepted the opinion of those who knew the chap a lot better than me that it was not the intention. Well I think intention is the key word because last night again it was only the ability of Barry Ryan to hurdle the challenge that avoided serious injury to himself. I can't claim to be any expert but I've seen enough games of ball (and played a few) to know that you don't slide straight into an oncoming player at the speed he did last night without the possibility of doing damage - shouldn't be tolerated.
That said in fairness he was one of the Michaels players to come back out for the presentation of the cup and by all accounts is a very decent chap - just a bit reckless when he faced with a 'Town opponent!
Best of luck to the Saints next Sunday - Tipp junior soccer in rude health!!
[QUOTE=Galla;1485102]Well done to 'Town last night - backs to the wall at times but a well deserved win and of course title. I thought, while they had a lot less possession than Michaels even in 1st half, they had a few great passages of play and played lovely football at times. Unfortunately that was abandoned (understandably) in the 2nd half when the object was to just clear the ball upfield. Could have done with a bit of composure at times but that is just being over critical. While it was obviously great to win last night it was a bit frustrating comparing the performance with the 2 losses in the big cups earlier in season. I think a big problem can be complacency / arrogance with the team - this was never going to be a problem last night. But anyway hopefully the obituaries have been binned and there is still life left in that team - still the core of a very good side. Well done again.
PS Paul Breen's tackle on Barry Ryan was a carbon copy of his tackle on Tony Scully a couple of years ago in the complex. At the time I was admonished for criticising the tackle as being thuggish and accepted the opinion of those who knew the chap a lot better than me that it was not the intention. Well I think intention is the key word because last night again it was only the ability of Barry Ryan to hurdle the challenge that avoided serious injury to himself. I can't claim to be any expert but I've seen enough games of ball (and played a few) to know that you don't slide straight into an oncoming player at the speed he did last night without the possibility of doing damage - shouldn't be tolerated.
That said in fairness he was one of the Michaels players to come back out for the presentation of the cup and by all accounts is a very decent chap - just a bit reckless when he faced with a 'Town opponent!
Great post,was thinking the exact same thing about Breens tackle,it was horrible and for a minute i think the whole ground thought we had a broken leg case,he is the best player in the league for me but its only a matter of time until he hurts someone,its definitely coming
defo hooper74, i couldnt believe when i heard he was brought on last night, have michaels not got anything younger and better? surely they do, havent they a good youth team
one unsavoury part of the nite which emerged late last night was the story of the abuse scully and ryan was subjected to from some ex michaels players when they went in at the half time break, one of them who currently plays for Borris called his numerous names, no need for it at all, lot of decent guys in the michaels camp but those few bad eggs ruin it for everyone, paul breen is a very nice guy, its very easy get caught up in the whole cufuffle of games like that, i know he would not go out to intentionally maim a player
dont think breens tackle was as bad as barry let on he was rolling around on the ground as if he had been shot and when they scored the resulting free kick he was able to run down the line infront of the saints fans waving and blowing kisses, this is probably the reason he got a bit of stick at half time :) and john shanahan made a similar tackle on thomas fahey in second half there was no difference in the tackles, you have to remember this was a saint michaels v clonmel town game. again well done to town on their win last night.
sean o halloran is good for a goal i would much rather him coming on to field when ur desperate for a goal than say a younger player who could fluf the vital chance if they got it. Cant see what major surprise is of him coming on when my guess is he has been a used substitute in id say 50% of saints games this year. as galla said tipp junior soccer must be in decent health when one of top teams in country havent won there local league in years. tipp cup should be good now aswell towns win will give celtic a lift.
ideal scenario in my opinion to capp of a good year would be saints for fai and celtic to win tipp cup. everyone will be back happy then in august and chomping at the bit for another 9 months of footie :)
Lads Clonmel town do not want to see saints win the fai im sure saints are not that naive.