How ironic that he gets stick on the first division thread and ends up scoring 2 in his next match:eek::D
Printable View
Pats are definately riding their luck at the moment. Great display by Derry tonight stu, were you at it
Youths players will be claiming 'assists' on at least 3 of them. Shocking performance by us. Many of the regulars were dropped following Mondays game against Kildare and replaced by fringe/U18 players. Too many, too soon. Worst performance I have ever seen from them but the fault is not all with the players
We matched eachother for half an hour and we then started arseing around at the back (as usual) and conceded a soft goal. Fairly soon it was 2. After that your lads relaxed and started spreading the play around. Sloppy back pass and we were 3 down. HT.
A few minutes in to the 2nd half. one of your lads chipped the keeper from just inside our half. He's a better keeper than that but he does take up some awful positions.
Our heads dropped as the crowd wandered off and you played any ball you wanted. Dundalk are good, but you are only as good as you are let.
Good singing by your fans, the best we've had. One exception being the language in front of so many youngsters.
Well done
How did Harps look Rambler?
Derry played flowing football all night apart for the 15 mins after UCD scored.
The atmosphere was the best I've seen at a UCD game. Derry could have won by at least 7. All Derry's goals were really good. Morrison's free kick was excellent. Should make for a good MNS on monday with so many goals tonight.
Thanks fella.Parky is an underestimated player.A bit of confidence makes such a difference to any team.Bray went on a great run when they beat us and hopefully Harps can keep a bit of momentum going against Derry on Tues.*
*Will wait for the inevitable wise cracks.:)
The ref was a disgrace,and a female lino:o
Rovers Drogheda games should have health warnings attached to them. Should be prescribed to insomniacs to cure them in little over 90 minutes. Possibly the worst game I've ever been at. Words do not exist to describe its mediocrity.
Bus home was made more "entertaining" on O'Connell Street with the bus in front having its tyres slashed, windows put in/bricked and seats flung out. Nice to see nothing changes.:)
I thought the second half was good and the last 10 minutes were very good.
Bus behind mine got attacked as it turned down towards Parnell Sq off North Circular road. Bottles flying, upper deck emergency exit kicked out and young lads jumping out.
Was just glad I wasn't on it.
Just seen the table,would not like to be a Shams fan the the moment
To get to the people outside.
It all looked pre-arranged. Big gang waiting at the corner, when I looked back I could see a gang standing up on the top deck banging windows and that. After that I didn't see much it was more running commentary from the people who pushed down the back for a better view. Those involved were all about 15-16, mix of male and female, a good few of the group waiting at the corner were carrying bottles and other objects, it was all pretty nasty.
These retards can't even use the door like everyone else??
Let's smash the window and jump out, doesn't really make much sense
It didn't look pre-arranged or did I see anyone jumping out upstairs.
You could see them running past mine to the bus and by the time they got there, the Rovers fans would obviously have known what was going to happen and reacted. It looked like they were waiting for whatever bus the Rovers fans were on, slashed its tyres so it couldn't get away and then went for it. It's not the route they have normally picked and have done before or the one Rovers fans would be on.
Was there two incidents? The incident I saw was a good ways from O'Connell St, hadn't even come down to Parnell Sq. It's possible that the group on the bus only jumped up because they saw what was coming, didn't really look that way to me though.
As I said above I didn't see them jumping out the emergency exit myself, it was referred to by a number of others on the bus who had moved down the back for a better view.
It was a horrible incident, planned or not, and I'd imagine very upsetting for anyone on the bus, or buses, involved.
Lack of Gardaí in the area needs to be addressed.
Not two incidents afaik. It took hold and continued with seats a-flying as it hobbled down to O'Connell St where they ran away back into the flats.
Left side of the bus was battered. I know it made O'Connell Street...don't think it would get much further tbh.:(
The sad thing is all it takes is a couple of patrol cars along the bus route for an hour or so after games, just to keep an eye out for trouble makers gathering looking for trouble.
Football fans will get a bad name because little scumbags, with no interest in the actual game, can get away with attacking buses and terrorising innocent people. I was almost going to open a thread on this in Off Topic or Current Affairs, rather than discuss it here, because I don't really see it as football related. It's anti-social, gang related idiocy, that will result in serious injury or death if it's not gotten to grips with.
No idea, he actually works for a paper down here but somehow got the RTE gig for Utd home games as well, and also travels to the odd game outside Galway when there is a full programme like last night.
Don't think RTE ever heard him speak, just gave the job to the first guy who applied
Ramblers, same old story, should have been 3 up inside 20 minutes, conceded a soft goal from a corner, Gethins could have made it two but Rams keeper made a good save, 2nd Harps goal was a fine shot but he went past some Rams players as though they weren't there.
Soft penalty to get us back in it, second half ye created some good chances on the break and hit the bar following a corner, but once again Ramblers finishing was criminal, 3 or 4 gilt edged chances passed up:mad::mad:.
Third killed it but we were missing 4 key players but Harps did enough to win but had Harps played anyone else they probably would have lost.
+1
Galway were robbed last night. They were the better side in terms of their application last night. I was very impressed with their first half performance especially. Stand out players for me were McGlynn and Leech, the left midfielder (O'Brien?) and the left full back (with the blond hair). Kenna has definately instilled some belief into that side and they showed last night that they have the ability and wherewithall to stay up. We won the match because we had that bit more quality on the pitch, nothing else. When Galway equalised, we took the game to them for the first time and they started to wobble, then we scored and then the match went back to the status quo. It's so frustrating at times because as a Bohs supporter I know that we can play so much better. That of course is not to take away from Galway last night.
Obviously I'm delighted with the win and all and my confidence wouldn't be knocked necessarily as we have a (bad) habit of turning out against the 'bigger' sides, so with Tuesdays match against Pats in mind I can see the game being a score draw however it could obviously go either way, in fact I think I'm already climbing up onto that fence as we speak!
Genuinely baffled how you reckon it could have been seven.
First half was level (even with us down 12 players). Second half you realised our keeper was shaky and started capitalising on that to good effect, but after yez scored the third, yez played out the game and didn't do a huge amount until the last kick.
If youz should have won by seven, we should have scored four.
Finn didn't train all week.
The likes of James O'Sullivan, Darren Forsyth and Pat Mullins were out as well. I wasn't given a list; I was only told that we had a squad of 27 and had 15 fit players plus Finn.
It's not about whether they would have played (though Gregg, Kenna, Finn and Bermingham would have been definites and are arguably our four best player; possibly Shortall would have started too - that's half our team out); it's about whether they would have replaced those who were injured. If your replacements are injured along with your first teamers, you're in trouble.
You've a much bigger squad than us though; youz can cope with it, but it's harder for us to deal with it.
Mullins is our fifth choice centre half, Shortall may not have started.
Forsyth was dropped from the first team squad long ago because he is crap.
O'Sullivan is fifth/sixth choice centre mid and, like Mullins and Forsyth, wouldn't have played any part in this game.
Gregg, Kenna, Finn and Bermingham were are only starting players absent. Gallagher the only player who was absent that would have started instead of them.
Like O'Callaghan too?
We had no options to change things around. Forsyth would have been handy to throw on for Paul Byrne, for example. Byrne's been well off form lately. Don't think Forsyth's great, but as options go, we didn't even have it. Not everything's black and white like you young eager whippersnappers would believe. ;)