This will be next on the purchase list so.......................:)
Printable View
Got another batch today to keep me going for a bit.
Paul Simon's Graceland is on as we speak, just an upgrade, this, had it on vinyl since it came out. Though the word is waaaay overused, a genuine bona fide classic.
Up next:
The Yeah Yeah Yeahs' EPs that I somehow never got around to getting
Florence And The Machine - Lungs
Husky Rescue - Ghost Is Not Real
Blitzen Trapper - Furr
and Genius: The Best Of Warren Zevon
(two more sales for the foot.ie exchange :D)
Jaysus - blast from the past. Reminds me of when I was 12. Nostalgia overload.
Not heard that album in years. My parents had a copy of it when it was originally released.
The melody and lyric - "There's a girl from Newyork city, that calls herself the Human Trampoline" is currently running through my head now.
I'll have Graceland in my head for hours now!!!!
Could have a lot worse. :)
Judy Sucks A Lemon For Breakfast - Cornershop, is up to the usual Cornershop standards.
let's see, been a while:
clear - james ferraro
discovery - james ferraro
edward flex presents: do you believe in hawaii - james ferraro
ballads of the revolution - jackie-o motherf*cker
island diamonds - pocahaunted
ferraro makes what david keenan in a recent Wire magazine calls, "hypnagogic pop" - apparently this type of music is predicated on being raised as a child in the 80s and, from your bed, sleepily hearing your parents have coked-up parties with don henley's "boys of summer" playing down the hall.. i'm not making this up (well maybe the cocaine bit). it's bleary stuff, lo-fi, with dance rhythms but it's not so dancey. the term garage (U.S.) has been thrown at it as well. the recording artist ariel pink would be a signpost.
ballads of the revolution is more structured dronefolkrock from the northwest u.s. masters of the form, jomf. i have a bunch of their stuff, if you're into freer music with early verve-like guitars, you could do a lot worse.
pocahaunted are a duo from the u.s. who have re-imagined dub via native american chant. spectral, spooky, droney, dark, and dubby. if massive attack were less self-aware and had two stoned yank chicks wordlessly vocalising.. ah i'm not even gonna try, just listen to it!
The Resistance - Muse
Exogenesis is astonishing, one or two duff tracks though.
Backspacer - Pearl Jam
Really like this. Their 'poppiest' album yet but that's not a bad thing.
Relationship of Command - At The Drive-In
Don't know how I missed this first time around, but mindblowing....
Meet the Eels - The Eels
Another band I've somehow missed too. Some wonderful tracks. Which is their best album?
[QUOTE=Pauro 76;1233707]
Backspacer - Pearl Jam
Really like this. Their 'poppiest' album yet but that's not a bad thing.
I've just listened to this one for the first time.
First impressions are very favourable!
Arctic Monkeys: Humbug
Bob Marley: Legend
The Smiths: The Queen is Dead
Genuinely, there is no best Eels album, they've all got something to recommend them, and they all have a mixture of really immediate tunes and slow burners.
I'd start off with Souljacker, more of a harder edged sound to it, might be your best way in. Then Beautiful Freak and Daisies of the Galaxy, the one sort of downbeat, melancholy pop, the other a good bit more upbeat, positively frothy at times. :D
Really though, any of them. Their recent album Hombre Lobo is as good as anything they've done (sample lyric below!), but would not be featured on the compilation, obviously.
Just avoid Electro-Shock Blues until later. At times it's my favourite, but it is very bleak!
Nice to see Pearl Jam trying something different.. possibly best since Yield? Must check out those Eels albums....Quote:
I've just listened to this one for the first time.
First impressions are very favourable!
Dream Theater: Black Clouds and Silver Linings
My boss is a massive fan. Great proggy stuff altogether, 20 minute epics, amazing guitar solos, didn't think I'd like it, but it's mighty stuff.
Think they played a gig in Belfast recently, with tickets ridiculously cheap.
I've had Backspacer on two or three times since its release, it's fairly good after an average enough start.
Bought Quadrophenia and Neil Young's Unplugged set so they should keep me entertained for a while.
Massive Attack - Splitting The Atom EP
Great to see them back..
Ian Brown - My Way
Best since Golden Greats, he's on top form here.
Lot of good albums about at the minute, but Cornershop's Judy Sucks A Lemon For Breakfast is getting played round the clock at Stann Towers. Absolute gem, like discovering there was a second disc to Handcream For A Generation all along, love it!
What an opener too, bit of sun, windows down, volume up, belting it out at the top of the lungs... :)
A couple of tracks off the new "Delorentos" album " You Can Make Sound"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JkR5THKFCwM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ckclt...eature=related
Listening to Editors 'On This Light And On This Evening'... pretty decent. They sounds a bit more like Depeche Mode and less like Joy Division on this.
alisdair roberts, scottish troubadour, fans of will oldham and jason molina (with whom he's collaborated) would likely trip when they heard this - where are the young irish fellas like roberts i ask ye.
'spoils' is his latest full-length, utterly fantastic, moving, affirming.
'the wyrd meme' - an even more recent EP that is equally as good.
lots of the following bands/artists:
emeralds - slabs of new-age drone, non-ironic 80s sound-art fetishism.
james ferraro - see above
steven r. smith - 'cities', this guy's new album, amazing. a soundtrack to a post-apocalyptic movie like the road i posted in the movies thread. the beautiful and haunted sound of urban disintegration.
weakling - wiki says it best: "Weakling was a progressive/black metal band from San Francisco. The band never toured and released only one album, Dead As Dreams, recorded in 1998 and released on tUMUlt Records in 2000."
dead as dreams is absolutely THUNDERING music, obliterating at times. fans of metal, check this stuff.
Ooof, follow that! :D
Just got a pile of random stuff in at the same time, some new, some CDification of earlier tape/vinyl, half-way through listening.
OMD - Architecture And Morality
ABC - How To Be A Zillionaire
Human League - Dare (lovely revisiting these, three of my faves from way back, sometimes patchy, mostly wonderful)
Basement Jaxx - Scars
Cornershop - Hold on It Hurts (an absolute joy!)
Zero 7 - Simple Things
Zero 7 - When It Falls
DJ Shadow & Q-Bert - Camel Bobsled Race (well, I have it now, but meh)
DJ Shadow & Cut Chemist - Product Placement (tasty!)
Air - Love 2
What do you make of the new Jaxx album stann?
Am not sure really, generallly good though.
It starts off pretty decent, but then it really lifts a few tunes in with the brilliant Santi White and Sam Sparro efforts.
It's a bit of a grower I'd say. :)
West Ryder Pauper.. - Kasabian
Bleach - Nirvana
Murmur - R.E.M
Brighten the Corners - Pavement
Goo - Sonic Youth
Dark Side of the Moon - Pink Floyd
Beggars Banquet - Rolling Stones
Contra - Vampire Weekend (much better than their first album)
Its Blitz - Yeah Yeah Yeahs
Sigh No More - Mumford and Sons
Heartworm - Whipping Boy
Before starting in on the new stuff, was just catching up on a late contender for Album of the Year 2009, Bitte Orca from the Dirty Projectors.
Took a few listens but wow, what a record! Arty and poppy in equal measure, would struggle hugely to put any label on them though, or compare them with anyone. Rather just recommend that anyone who hasn't heard them yet should make it their business to do so soon. :)
Fyfe Dangerfield: Fly Yellow Moon.
Massive Attack 'Heligoland' is much better than their last, 100th Window. Some very good tracks, but the Damon Albarn and Guy Garvey (Elbow) collaborations aren't as good as expected.
Noah & The Whale - Blue Skies
The Supremes - Stop! In The Name Of Love
Blur - Blue Jeans
Elliot Smith - Thirteen
and Lyric FM have been my soundtrack for today so far :)
Picked up Televisions 2nd album "Adventure".
Looking forward to checking that out later.
If its half as good as "Marquee Moon" it will be great.
Let it Bleed - Rolling Stones
Wowee Zowee - Pavement
Goo - Sonic Youth
Kingdom of Rust - Doves
Abbey Road - The Beatles
Good lot to get through over the next while!
Stone Roses - Stone Roses (continuing the CDification of the record collection!)
Inspiral Carpets - Greatest Hits
Adrian Sherwood - On-U Sound Crash Slash & Mix (a best of mix comp)
Goldfrapp - Head First
Goldfrapp - We Are Glitter (the Supernature remix album)
Husky Rescue - Ship Of Light
Hot Chip - Coming On Strong (and a Bugged out mix double)
Roudoudou - Tout L'Univers: Listener's Digest
Oh No Ono - Eggs
Also can I heap praise upon both Heligoland and Groove Armada's Black Light, both excellent returns to form.
And vote for Gorillaz - Plastic Beach as the early contender for album of the year 2010, stunning piece of work.
(Oh, and for Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix as my new album of the year 2009 :smile: )
Sonic Youth - Goo.
Have to say, I'm really likine this album. I wasn't too sure what to expect but they remind me a lot of Jefferson Airplane in some ways.
De/Vision - Popgefahr
I've gotten huge into Synthpop over the past 6 months but never really 'got' these guys. Picked this album up in Prague over the weekend (sadly, it's unlikely to be found on shelves here) and it's the style done to absolute perfection. One spin this and the melodies are burned into one's brain and repeat listens are mandatory. I'd possibly question its staying power if it's so good so quickly but right now I'm loving it.
Ash: A-Z Vol 1
Always been a bit of a guilty pleasure, a lot of cracking tunes here, they sound as good as ever.
MGMT: Congratulations
Less 'Kids' more 'Kid A'.... But this just sounds a self-indulgent mess though with stupid in-jokes about Brian Eno. May be a grower though.
Plastic Beach - Gorillaz
Butterfly House - The Coral
Exile On Main Street - Rolling Stones
Sticky Fingers - Rolling Stone
Quarantine the Past - Pavement
Journal for Plague Lovers - Manics