Personally, I couldn't give a flying feck as to how "great" O'Brien is or otherwise.
The only relevance I find in this donation is that it paved the way for Traps appointment.
Printable View
It really is as simple as that. This thread is about Irish football and this country's appointment of a truly top grade manager for the first time ever. (We got lucky with Jack). The means to do so requires money - lots of money. Money rules football. Where the FAI get it from is inconsequential. This is sport. Not politics.
There are other places to discuss the merits of DOBs entrepreneurial tactics. This isnt it.
This is a good thing for Irish Soccer - It really is simple.
Also pretty ironic that 95% of those who sneer at DOBs donation will support premiership clubs bankrolled by the same kind of people. The only difference is DOBs getting nothing in return.
Yep, it's his money and he can do with it what he wants. It's a pity more of the super rich don't want to contribute to sport in Ireland in their own way. It's only a small donation in terms of his own wealth but it's significant for the FAI.
It's a start, but it'd be nice if O'Brien, Jordan et al got together and financed a national academy for the FAI, or maybe invested directly in their local eLOI club. It's what I'd do if I had the odd hundred million to spare!
Aw didums. Basically 'I can't win the argument so I want the thread closed.' Basically as I said earlier. It's a marriage of convenience. I'm happy to see Trapatonni in there. The FAI were right to take the money. But I do not see any need to need to praise O'Brien. Calling someone anyone who asks a few questions about this guy 'a bitter left winger' is a very lazy argument. If Michael O'Leary or Fergal Quinn or any of the vast majority of hard working Irish entrepreneurs had given the money I wouldn't have batted an eyelid because as far as I know their money doesn't have a smell off it.
Isn’t it great that we live in a society with such high moral standards? And I’m sure away from this forum these same people live by these standards, b*****x they do! Given half a chance any one of yee would try and pay less tax if ye could.
And the whole Denis O’Brien’s an exile and doesn’t pay any tax shame on him argument galls me , its rich for residents of a country like ours to be playing that card. Our Celtic tiger was built on providing tax incentives for large foreign companies i.e. enticing foreign owned companies to set up a base here so they didn’t have to pay a higher rate of tax in their own country! I don’t remember the uproar when these companies set up here and provided us with the lifestyle improvements a vast majority of us enjoy today, so crawl out of your arses-s and just be glad that a very smart business-man put some of his money into something we all can enjoy.
P.S. I hope you all boycotted bono’s music when he decided he didn’t want to pay tax to his native land and set up base abroad?
I haven't read the comments here. I suspect there are a host of begrudgers but we live in Ireland afterall.
Money to pay the manager frees up money to go to other areas of football in Ireland. That's all that matters.
A man is entitled to do with his money what he wills. An entrepreneur who made a fortune. Good luck to him and to the Irish team. The FAI are not rolling in cash so it's great news.
Lads, it is simple. D O'B is a businesman who, like many others, took advantage of the captitalist system and it's inbuilt corrupt politicians to make his fortune and bugger off without paying meanignful tax on it. That, unfortunately is the way of the world much as that sort of behaviour is anthema to some of us.
I'm delighted he gave the money but that doesn't make hima hero in my eyes, as people have said it's a drop in the ocean to him. The FAI would have been fools not to take it and when you look at McManus's donations to the GAA etc it shouldn't be looked upon as a big deal. I do have reservations about the fact that he said last night he was involved before Staunton's sacking, that was a stupid thing to say and lays things open to scrutiny. In reality however everyone knew Stan was a dead man walking.
The other point to make is that had he paid his €80m in taxes it propbably would have been p1ssed away along with the massive budget surpluses enjoyed during the 'boom' years that never managed to find their way into building a decent infrastructure, public transport system, health service etc. If I had that sort of wedge and saw the wastage and incompetence shown at every turn by the government of the last 11 years I'd be loath to pay tax on it myself.....
No, I'd be feckin paying it in taxes. I have zero time for O'Leary, but as has been said he at least lives in this country and pays taxes in this country. Is it okay for me as a PAYE worker to evade tax because the current Government a useless wasters? So why is it morally acceptable for the likes of O'Brien to avoid tax?
To repeat what I said earlier, the FAI were right to take the money, however as has also been pointed out this is extra money - nothing extra will go to the grassroots.
Don't wanna sound like an eejit but what exactly did he do??? (I was away the last week and i'm not reading the first 50 odd pages to find out)
If the tax rates werent so feckin ridiculous maybe he would stay here..
Have to say the coverage yesterday was mind bogging. Am no fan of Delaney but I felt for him yesterday on the 6 o clock news as he was been grilled about details of the appointment. really negative tack on this from the media. Great appointment for Irish football. End of story.
Oh, so there are some deep insights in to the donation are there? Or just people saying he should have given it to the St Vincent de Paul, or to Galway Slashers or that the FAI are awash with money and should turn their back on money given by a successful Irish business man.
Where is the thread on the Irish business men putting money in to Sunderland? They can apparently do that without raising an eyebrow but if we donate to our own, we have a huge thread. Mind you, they are entitled to do with their money as they please.
Thanks Denis. I am not surprised you left the country.
I think most who are not hailing O'Brien as the great white knight are saying the FAI are right to take the money, but it's wrong to applaud someone who has so much money from avoiding tax in this country.
I'm saying he should've stayed and paid his taxes, not give it to VdP or Galway Slashers or even the FAI, unless it was after tax money.
There are many threads on foot.ie on this issue. Check out the eL forum for starters.
Niether am I, much easier to avoid tax and avoid tribunals when you're non-resident.
Inevitable, given the influence of INM and O'Reilly in setting the news agenda, and the way O'Brien has been upping the stakes in the long running handbags by, eh, upping his stakes in INM and asking awkward questions about director renumeration and how the company is run. If Delaney wasn't expecting this kind of reaction, it's another example of why he shouldn't be CEO.Quote:
Originally Posted by Billsthoughts
fair play to Denis O'Brien, I was never a fan of his before that as he robbed the state of about 50m CGT. But paying for trappa to come in(esp if we qualify) has made up for it.
O'Brien does what any astute business man would do, in manipulating the tax laws to suit his balance sheet..Even U2 have done this...dont see them forking out for diddly squat!
THere is a clear difference between tax evasion and tax avoidance. I think what he has done is tax avoidance rather than evasion. Also it has never been proved that he and Lowry got up to anything.
Bill O Herlihy was on Conversations with Dunphy on Saturday and Lowry was a client of his and he said that Lowry said throughout the process that he did not want any part of it.
Begrudger: Someone who envies the possession or enjoyment of something held by someone else.
I don't think so. I live very comfortably, have a great life and have the added bonus of sleeping easy at night with my conscience.
O'Brien donates an immaterial sum of money (many, many times less than he would pay in tax if he actually lived in his beloved Ireland and hadn't jurisdiction-shopped his way around the globe, most recently exiting Portugal when it negotiated a double taxation agreement with Ireland), which the FAI have said they didn't need in any case.
Ergo, I see it as a cheap PR stunt given his "difficulties" at the present time. If he actually had any interest in Irish football he'd be doing something along the lines of what Mick Wallace is doing (who amusingly was initially linked with the donation).
Bar a few sane people, this thread is full of exactly what I expected: Irish national team Ole Ole 'fans' worshiping their new hero in DOB and his dirty money. This is a PR stunt by him and I'm sure he is laughing at the thought of how many gulable people are in this country. If he really cared he would have given the money priveatly or better still stayed away altogether. faiLURE had a chance of a (fairly) fresh start in appointing a new manager, but have once again dragged Irish Football through the mud.
ya we are all ole olers on here.
I'm too stupid to know whats going on, only blinded by green optimism. slap me slap me. silly old me.
Must be pretty lonely up their and maybe you should change your name to half empty.
I love the comment "or better still stayed away altogether". So now we have someone who is effectively putting money into the grassroots of the game and they are being told to stay away. This is small minded lack of ambition worst type of Irishness at its worst. O Brien is an Irish fan who has loads of money. Now legally he has this money. We may not agree with the system that has enabled him to amount this amount of money but he has it nonetheless. He is now putting it in to Irish football. I am not jumping up and down about that I am more concentrating on that Trappatoni is our manager. However I think the half empty bitter people are concentrating on this bit as its the only way they can get at slagging the FAI.
This time the FAI have done most of it correctly so the bitter people are concentrating on O Briens money as its the only angle they can see. These people like T'O'D are bitter little men with no ambition who will always be hurlers on the ditch. Its an easy place to be, it does not take any talent or ambition or intellect or drive. The role of the cynic in Irish life has been there for years upon years.
I only can guess that life in Ireland in the 70's and 80's was to be run by people like this.
I don't think any of us are denying that its a cheap PR stunt because it is. Hes in hot water politically just like our scumbag Ahern and hes getting one over Eircom, a major competitor in many market segments. However, lets not look a gift horse in the mouth. If it was not a PR stunt then why would he go public so of course he wants the PR in a troubled time for him where his past is being investigated. Sad really.
The FAI went public and named O'Brien yesterday.
If they hadn't named O'Brien yesterday - it would have had the optics of hiding something and then every gob****e with an axe to grind would have more to whinge about.
Sometimes - you can't win.
There's a saying about gift horses & mouths that seems pretty appropriate