Yeah I thought that was bang out of order at the time myself, considering that you can see Gerrard did not play that game for liverpool but played for England 3 days earlier.
Printable View
Thanks to Steve Finnan for his years of service. I felt he always gave 100% and was one of our better players in the last 6-7 years.
Still I am very disappointed in him. He is taking the lazy way out and I suppose thats his option but it would have been nice to have his stability for the upcoming qualifiers.
ya i mentioned this before, i didnt mention a source as i didnt want to name it, but he had said it before the last game of the euros, actually i think it was before the germany game even.....
The same fella told me a funny story about what keane said to finnan about robinson during their game at anfield.
Go on Paul what did he say or pm
What is it? email me if you want.
I'm not bothered Osarusan, the only argument anyone ever seems to get here in the Ireland forum is personal insults, homophobic jokes, and a bunch of people thumping their chests and singing about 32 counties. It really is half the fun of posting here
Sorry but if I went on a Man Utd or LIverpool forum and started slagging Liverpool or Man Utd I would expect to be thrown out. The same as if I went on to a gay forum and started spouting anti gay stuff. Surely the Ireland forum should be for people who are interested in the Irish National team and have its interests at heart. We have a situation here were those who are interested are gone and those that slag it are still here.
A little competition from Arbeloa and he sh*ts himself. Absoutely no need to retire.
I don't see too many of the older Scottish players retiring. David Weir plays on at 37.
Weir fell out with Bertie Vogts after Bertie Vogts publicly blamed him for the draw with the Faroes I think it was. Christian Dailly was also blamed but he played on. When Walter Smith got the job he asked Weir to come back.
#Cough cough#
I'll stick to my six thanks ;) :D
Anyhow..regardless of his reasons, he is still playing football at a high level, which means he can still be talked round to playing for the ROI again. I still don't understand how a player could turn their back on their country.
Of course, they could play for Rangers and be booed.. or play for Israel and have your players attacked..(see what I did there?)
Lets not go down that very well trodden path ffs..
He could have the inside track on the new manager and absolutely despise his brand of football or has a very poor working relationship with the man.
There's one for you conspiracy theorists.
I never rated him for Ireland anyway but it just makes me mad when our pampered lot pull stunts like this. I remember 2001/02 season when a 37 year old R. Baggio was playing his heart out in Serie A to get a call up to the Azzurri. This is pathetic and he should be ashamed.
Absoultly gutted by this, in my opinion we have lost by far our most consistent right back, and one of the top 5 in Europe(I say this as a Man United fan). Bit disapointed he wouldnt stay around for another campaign as he still has plenty of time on his side. A bit of me thinks it is similar to Scholes in England, he is ****ed off of being played out of position. he has probably played more games in other positions than he has at right back. When you have the best right back in the Premiership you ****ing play him at right back, you dont try to make up for failings in other areas by playing him left back or right wing. A player that deserved to play on the bigger stage with Ireland more often. Thanks for the times Steve
this kind of comment really ****ed me off. He was every bit as consistent as Irwin was for Ireland and gave just as much going forward. Just becuase a player is often quite in a game(as he often was) doesnt mean he is having a bad game. Other than the 5-22 drubbing in Cyprus he has rarely had a bad gameQuote:
I never rated him for Ireland anyway
Agree with this. Very under rated while playing for us, just got about his business. Sure he had a handful of bad games but who doesn't.
The most concerning aspect for me is that Finnan's absence is likely now to extend O'Shea's tenure in our back four. More fu*king imminent disaster :eek:
Did anyone really not see this coming a mile away?
I got slated here for stating that I thought he could have played against the Czechs since he played for Lpool 2 and a half days later from the gullible idiots who believed he genuinely was unable to play in that game.
Finnan represents everything that is wrong with the modern game, his excuses were utter BS and insulted every Irish fans intelligence, I'd have more respect for him if he just admitted he couldn't be arsed
If I was him I wouldn't be in a rush back going by some of the nonsense on here.
Played for Ireland for nearly a decade and all he gets is abuse.
Says as much for the modern football fan as it does the modern football player.
If you're really proud to play for your country then you do not retire from international football.
What dissappointing news, Finnan was one of our better players and we will miss his experience. That means we have 1 player in the top 4 premiership teams and Stan did'nt want to pick him! (I have deliberately ignored O'Shea so don't even go there) Don't be surprised if you don't see a couple more come out and 'retire' before we start our qualifying games. Sad to say, but for some players these days Internationals have become more of a chore than an honour. Still, thanks for effort Steve and good luck with the handicap!
This man has turned his back on his country and all ye have sympathy? Why?
I hope we get to the world cup and stuff it down his troat. Imagine the reaction when Keane did it.!!!
I hope he rots in the Liverpool reserves.
I have always had the greatest respect for Steve Finnan but he's alienated himself from a hell of a lot of people by doing what he has done.
he doesnt play for the FAI he plays for us.... or at least thats the way he should look at it. its just too much bother for these overpaid players to play international football these days. it should be a huge privilage to someone to play for his country. compare the over paid panzies that currently play football with the likes of anthony foley dragging every last ounce out of his body to play at the highest level of rugby that he can for as long as he can
maybe we should follow the french policy of "we'll decide for you when you are retiring from international football and it wont be before that"
I'm dissapointed but I have to say in my heart of hearts I don't blame him.. The timing of this is very telling if you ask me.. Where was these sentiments after the Cyprus game. To me it sounds like he was committed then... But committment works both ways and blind commitment to anything in any walk of life is folly. What has he seen from those cowboys in the FAI since to warrant him jepardising the remainder of his club career at one of the biggest clubs in the world... It works both ways lads. I'm all for patriotism and passion and players retiring early really grinds me gears. But everyone has to be pulling in the same direction.... To me it's a side effect of the ballsology goings on in the FAI.
Eh if the FAI appoint Houllier tonight and Brady as performance director will we all say that the process was rubbish etc. No. Dont blame the FAI until the process is over.