Valur 0-1 Cork
C. O'Brien
****in hell!!
Are you disappointed with that?:confused:
2-0 Cork
Kearney.
Full time 2-0 Cork.
Good stuff.
Apparently they weren't that good but still winning in Europe nevermind away is not something Irish teams get.
Aye well done to Cork getting an away win is always a tough thing to do!
why did this game kick off so late was it delayed or was it supposed to start at 9pm?
Well done Cark.
Should finish the job at the X.
Llanelli of Wales lost 3-1 to Vetra today, who were hammered by Shels in the same competition last season.
http://vefmidlar.visir.is/?channelID...1-1c980ef3e5ec
Cork highlights, first about Sevilla then the highlights
The Valur keeper punched the goalpost in frustration like it was the posts fault :D
Worst. Keeper. Ever.
And coming from a Harps fan that a pretty big statement!
Gefle are/were 2nd division Swedish side.
Swedish coeficient has been getting killed in the recent years with sub-standard participants from 2nd division & fare play entrant. There is a lesson for the eLOI sides there.
I was hoping ye wouldn't show the Vadur keeper as we were basking in our away victory ;)
I am not optimistic this season from the coefficients point of view.
Heard Monaghan are in dire need of a keeper..... theres some talent lads!!!
Sounded like Cork had a few over at the game. Fair play.
The keepers reaction is class:D. Can't say he's been a goalkeeper for long judging by that. Funny the way the reporter says Liam Kearney too:D.
Valur look very poor from those clips. Cork will probably win by a bigger margin at home.
Hammarby beat Klaksvik 1-0 and Cork will be playing the winner of that tie. Another Swedish team in Europe.:)
Nope, top flight. They won the Fair Play last season, which you can only do from the top flight. They finished ninth last year, immediately behind Goteborg, Malmo and Djurgarden, all of whom have been beaten by Cork City (though Goteborg still went through).
They are, yeah. Faroese results are improving though - B36 knocked out an Icelandic side last year and only lost to a Danish side either by one goal or on away goals. The league's a pretty good standard too, although they play on astro. Would expect Cork still to win, and indeed Hammarby, but they're not the worst league in Europe.
now that would be worth the admission !!!!! :D
Terry, you know that all you have to do is ask and will willingly step into goals for Mons against Galway just so that Johnny Lester would be running towards me instead of away from me! (with a terrified look on his face!)
hehehe, poor john is struggling to run in any direction lately, you would have a good chance of "tackling" him now !!!
Ummmmm thank you for making Monday more bareable, day dreams of tackling Lester.
love ya Terry!
Gefle haven't played many seasons in the top flight but were in Allsvenskan when the played Llanelli. They play their home league matches on a plastic pitch and a lot of opposition coaches have been complaining that this is giving them an unfair advantage. Because of UEFA rules about plastic pitches and seating, they were forced to play their home match against Llanelli in Stockholm, which is a good two hour train journey from their home ground.
There was quite a long article in a Swedish football magazine that catalogued Gefle's away match in Wales. Basically Gefle attributed their loss against Llanelli because Llanelli were swearing and shouting abuse all the way through the match. And because Gefle's players are quiet and pleasant young lads they just could not cope with this. (This is no joke)
In fairness, they had all their outfield players lodged in their own penalty box throughout the match with Hammarby ;)
Are they the weakest of the Swedish sides though? Would've thought so
I was thinking of them in terms of trip and advancement. We may well beat the Lithuanian sides but I don't really want ot have to go there
We're at a weird stage with the coefficient points. Due to the terrible one or two seasons (my minds gone blank at the moment), the league could afford to have an 'okay' season points wise, as it would still be a big improvement on the poor scores that they would be replacing. I do think that Pats and Drogheda will be alright though, as long as they don't get impossible draws. Derry concern me, however I haven't 'seen' them play recently, so I can't really pass judgement.
They are the weakest Swedish side although both AIK and Helsingborg are really struggling to find form atm. I say the Lithuanian teams are weaker than Häcken but in terms of travel Häcken is obviously a better draw. There won't be much atmosphere at the away Häcken match though - Häcken have no fans.
Derry look to be in poor form but are seeded so could get a nice draw.
Pats and Drogs aren't seeded and neither team firing on all cylinders. A few weekes to the games though and both sides likely to add players in the transfer window
More to do with Derry Citys poor form & the fact they don't have a manager. I know they are seeded but still some shocking trips into the far reaches of former USSR countries.
IF by some strange reason Cork City were to progress to the Uefa qualifiers it would be bad for the coefficients as then divided by 4.
Unless Cork actually wona couple of points...
Could be worse. You could have had Dungannon and Glentoran representing your country.
Although with Linfield being unseeded, we could get a really tough draw. Would take a Slovenian side though, they are certainly beatable. If only Linfield had put the 2 penalties away last season we would have played Red Star.
For Linfield I would love to get Derry City. I see them as the easiest of the seeded teams.