It may not have the same 'effect', but it is possible on a terrace/standing. They started to join in after about the third lap.
Printable View
It may not have the same 'effect', but it is possible on a terrace/standing. They started to join in after about the third lap.
the wave should be banned along with the poxy band and playing pop tunes after a goal is scored.
have never come away from a match before so disillusioned with the whole match day experience (team performance and atmosphere) as i did on sat. by 2nd half i was just looking forward to my post match pint and promising myself id never attend a home match again
I actually thought the anthem was rushed, but at least they didnt have any body accompanying it.
The only reason why a 3pm Sat kick off should affect the atsmosphere is the type of people going to it. It actually suits me as i can get the train down and back and have a few beers and from the amount of people on the train plenty had the same idea.
Spare a thought for the Welsh. They've only sold 15,000 of the 75,000 tickets for the San Marino game on Wednesday. Imagine what the atmosphere in Cardiff will be like! :D
Croker is crying out for a singing section. Too many people are happy to sit on their hands and stay quiet. Wednesday should be better but what will it be like for the Cyprus game if the performances don't improve?
we were sitting in the lower cusack and the atmosphere was terrible. When we stood up for the "stand up for the boys in green" people were giving out and any attempt to sign or cheer was met with silence. The same people who didn't want to sing and shout were the first to sigh an moan when a move or a pass didn't come off. There is no point going to the game just for the occasion. How can people expect passion and heart from the players on the pitch if a load of the "supporters" are sterile and silent.
Yeah the night game under the lights should generally up the atmosphere and despite the performance we did get 3 points and the German result was favourable so in terms of a competitve edge this match does now represent something very important. Certainly much more so than if we had lost or drew. Just look at the reports from the Welsh camp going into a San Marino home match after losing to a poorly performing Irish team - incidentally having the double effect of giving us some confidence for the game away to them however undeserved and their heads dropping qualification prospect wise, but thats another day. It was a must win game and we won it. If we follow that up it might have a big effect on the players. Forget about Stan, I'm talking about the players themselves.
Noticed how bobbly the pitch was and had heard about that in advance what with the rugby being played there. It can show up more in the afternoon sun of course. The ball seemed to look like it weighed a ton too even when either back four were passing it around, very slow pitch. Heard something about the pitch being "rolled" in the interim between matches ?
Definitely. You can blame the FAI on that one. It was suggested to them, they agreed to go with it, the press release was written for them, all they had to do was add one box to the letter to the block bookers and then arrange everyone who ticked that box in the one area, but then they didn't bother.
same as me. upper hogan 728 back row. when i sang, there were about 5 people around joined in and the rows and rows in front sat silently. I was later informed that some people actually looked round when i started singing as if to say who is that dude? *******s. I even said (in a fairly loud voice, each time a song died as a result of the lack of vocal support) "who are these people?" in an attempt to generate a response. But all i seemed to get was further contempt from people i hold in something lower than contempt. Shocking freeloaders. Too many first timers about.
and did anyone else notice the empty block of seats atop the cusack?
Exactly (although being a bit pedantic I hate the term day trippers to describe non-regulars as all us culchies, corkonians, northies etc. are actually day tripping for the matches. Valid for English club teams but hardly for a national team)
You know what, f*ck 'em !Quote:
On a side note, the corporate people obviously didnt fancy the fixture, there were rows of seats free in the centre block of the stand to our right in the upper tier.
and did anyone else notice the empty block of seats atop the cusack?[/QUOTE]
That was for a cameraman I thought!
They should give them out free to schools then, try and get the next generation going. Its a good contrast though to the speculation about the atmosphere on Wednesday. We did get 3 points so it could be worse and should be getting behind the team to follow that up and build some momentum regardless of prevous performances and results.
How would you not class the stadium as world class, in what way is it not? It's not the stadium's fault that the fans can't generate anything resembling an atmosphere (although i can see why there was no atmosphere with such a **** game).
And your point about LR being better suited to keep the noise in woth the stands...bullsh1t. In case you didn't notice, there were only 2 stands in LR, and the east stand was hardly enclosed compared to croke park :rolleyes:
I was in 302 but up in KK. Going from the comments on here I got quite lucky although I only that realise now. For one thing although obviously generally it was shockingly quiet I seemed to be surrounded by genuine supporters. There were no obvious daytrippers and it was 99% male. Anytime Stand Up FTBIG got going everybody in our rows did so on mass and all sang and never heard one dissenting voice. If you wanted to sit like if you had a kid then you may do so looking at somebody's arse but only noticed one guy doing that and he had a kid (as any parent will tell ya its a pain yanking the kid up and down). Never once did any steward or fan say sit down, like a good ref I never noticed a steward all game. The clapping Ireland chant also was pretty consistent during the last half hour when the atmosphere got steadily better topped off by Hunt who literally brought us all to our feet 3 times in the last 10 mins. It did strike had he been on from the start and did that in the first 10 minutes it may have been a different story atmosphere wise. An attempt at The Fields of Athenry did fall flat on its face near the end though.
One thing to note is I'm on the BB waiting list, in the first 2k and I'm wondering if I was surrounded by similar such creatures. My mate who's within a 100 positions of me on the list had seats two rows directly behind me so I think this is a fair assumption. All in all I'm quite happy with the atmosphere (relative to the that of the overall stadium) and footie knowledge directly around me and the fact there was no booing, only justified genuine sighs that we all have. Also our view was quiet good being excellent for the Hill goal in line with just outside the peno box. Had to hold my hand up to keep the sun out of my eyes for canal end action a lot of course and I think the players had the same problem at times. Am nearly always in the Lower Hogan (only in Cusack lower once or twice and the upper a few times) so didn't realise that would be the case so much.
Also thankfully got on well with my new neighbour for this years matches, we sang whenever there was anything going and we had similiar views on the teamsheet namely the fullbacks were playing on the wrong sides, the two Reading boys should've started, Stephen Ireland's goal glossed over his performance and playing one up front at home to Wales was a joke. I did get irrate with O'Shea particularly as I thought Duff was actually working hard but have never booed anybody without justification (only ever an opposing player or official and never because of what club they play for which p1sses me off)
Anyway I'm hoping this area will have something to shout about on Wednesday.
We were near the Welsh support and they weren't that loud anyway as away supporters go. Certainly a lot of it would go up in the air but it wasn't like it was a wild windy day and away supporters often ended up tucked away in a high corner somewhere ala St. Jame's Park. I was in away section for Liverpool match at the Nou Camp and it was like sitting on the roof of an upper tier but still we could be well heard I was told.
i got a txt from a mate saying there was a better atmosphere in a local pub on a monday night.worse atmosphere i ever experienced at an ireland match and at croker ;), and everytime i stood up and started singing i was told sit down. i said "get up ye ****s and sing and support your team" and i was berated by most. my mate came all the way back from america that morning no sleep and there was more life in him!he was pure disgusted too
Quote:
I had a horrible match in the area I was seated. I was in Cusack Lower Block 302 Row J seat 28. Was anyone here near me? Some
kingdom i was in row d just below ye did ye see everyone in the lower area of this section coming in late after half time and leaving early to get the pints in!!!
i was the looper shoutin at everyone to stand up while they were shoutin at me to sit down
oh ya another point, and i am being completely serious on this but i reckon where i was sitting anyway was full of country gaelic supporters who didnt really know or werent use to being at a soccer game which obviouslly effects them singing and the atmosphere! one such "comedian" said to me in response to me saying come on get up and sing "if you lost your virginity you wouldn't be so frustrated!" of course he and his mmates thought he was hilarious.
i knew the atmosphere round me was going to be crap when i saw a fella called mick henley at the match with some quare one, no more interest in soccer than my dead granny. and it was full of these people beside me.
No it's not. A small part of it perhaps, but as I posted earlier, I seemed to be positioned a slight bit away from the main bulk of the eL allocation (as in the other side of the entrance) and no one was standing or chanting. I know the old eL terrace allocation at Landsdowne wasn't amazing, but the Canal End seems to be far more diluted and quiet.
The stadium is 75% world class but the Hill 16 end is a throw back to a bygone era and takes away from the overall effect of the massive stands that surround the rest of the pitch. In fact one part has no terracing at all and a building of some sort is there :confused:
Impressive stadium but looks unfinished because of above.
This is a pretty fair evaluation. I still wouldnt give it a "world class" rating. The whole away end, the building and that tiny seated area in the corner, (please dont tell me they threw the schoolboys there) really takes from the place. The rest of the stadium in nice but I just never got that wonderous feel about the place. It aint no millenium thats for sure (roof on or off).
So we do have the GAA stewards, no wonder my mate got filithy looks from one when we started shouting that the place was full of GAA fans and that at a football match they were supposed to make noise.
Thats just a personal view? I actually think wednesday will be worse, its gonna be a nightmare trying to get in with the rush hour traffic I have been told. Is the north circular road a main route for rush hour traffic?
Those late 80s queues were the best!! Thanks for the memory! Things have obviously changed in the atmosphere since then. We've 'grown up', which in my mind is always a good sign. Like the Scots had their 1978 when they thought they were going to win the world cup, we had our 1990 etc. Now look at us...
We have protect ourselves from being too arrogant. We need to enjoy supporting the team. We need a bit of the fun, which in fairness isnt all gone. The sense of humour... we need to dream still... like Liverpool fans dream and get soppy sometimes....
There was a nice bit of MILF in front of me and we won the game so I came away from the game with a smile on my face.
I find that comment abit over the top...I have been to many games in landsdowne and experienced a far worse atmospheres...do ya not go to any friendly matches...The FAI should have sorted out an ultras section, to generate an atmosphere....
If you want absolute shiite atmosphere go to the emirates..In patches there was decent enough atmosphere. I agree with the comment," too may spectators not enough fans!!
Now as i said we had quite a few EL fans around me and I have got seats again in the same area ( lower canel row SS block 318 ) for Wednesday so hopefully we have have a real go at it and get behind the lads from the off . One thing for sure i will do my bit for the lads .;)
i was in lower canal close to the EL lads and it was great to hear them get things going and to join in . i honestly believe if we can continue winning home games then the atmosphere will take care of itself
Right in front of me ! That proves that theory then as with three instances it seems the upper seats of 302 are waiting listers (and their guests). I thought the immediate surroundings around us were decent enough in relation to the overal atmosphere. Was predominantly fellas (although reading the MILF comment earlier.....). You could certainly sing and shout and stand and moan without interference from "spectators" or stewards. Not that there was that much of it going on but deffo warmed up towards the end of the match. Like I said before if Hunt had those runs at the start of the match something like that could kick it off. Unfortunately it'll always be tight at the start of matches as opposed to counterattacking a team thats behind. I wonder if its scoreless going into the last 20 mins will we risk really go for it or pathetically take a point, not that we have players to change the game especially with Keane gone. I think most would be happier if we went for it and lost considering nobody seemed too estatic about the sterile win on Saturday.
Any theory that you can't generate an atmosphere from the Hill because the noise travels up into the ozone layer is clearly disproved 5 or 6 times every summer. :D
I agree that the "building" at the Nally terrace was a bad choice (Garda CCTV hut initially - why they couldn't have put this in a less conspicuous place I'll never know) This has been made more obvious by the installation of the two studios for RTE and BBC/Sky. For GAA matches, RTE's studio is their corporate box at the Canal End - they clearly didn't want to waste this box for the rugby games when there was money/prestige to be had.
I dont think an internet topic has ever made my so angry, for various things, most of all the standing and singing, which are both the most natural thing to do at a football match. God I f**king hate Ireland fans! No coincidence that the best atmosphere was coming from the real Irish football fans, the EL supporters. I don't know why I was looking to go to this game. And by the way, the Mexican Wave is the most goonish thing ever! :mad: