I read in the paper this morning which said that the Cork website could be in trouble also for uploading the interview??? :eek: :confused:
Printable View
I read in the paper this morning which said that the Cork website could be in trouble also for uploading the interview??? :eek: :confused:
I doubt it !!Quote:
Originally Posted by Raheny Red
Which paper?Quote:
Originally Posted by Raheny Red
there was something about official websites and programmes being held responsible for silliness published on/in them a few months back.Quote:
Originally Posted by A face
this would fit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speranza
I agree with all of that. Certainly the best post I've seen from you.
Your hypocrisy(sp?) isn't suprising. If you were honest enough you would admit that you would be kicking up a fuss if it was any other manager who made the comments. Rico made allegations which we can be nearly certain he has no proof of.Quote:
If Doolin or Fenlon made the same allegations or gave a similar interview you would be on here baying for blood and posting up info@fai.ie urging people to email so they didnt get away with it.
Interesting quote from Rico that this Dublin-based conspiracy "worked in our favour" during his time with a previous club and is now working against him. Shelbourne and/or Shamrock should ask him to explain his allegations that one or both of them were/are implicit in this corruption.
This goes a good way beyond Pat Devlin expressing an opinion as to the relative merits of various leagues.
The Sun :o :rolleyes: :ball:Quote:
Originally Posted by BohDiddley
My quote I believe. not from Soko, forgot to put the smiley at the end, :) probably what upset you, poor soul.Quote:
Originally Posted by Speranza
Glad you agree its a shrewd move by Rico.
Any suggestion that Dublin officials deliberately set out in games to conspire against non-Dublin teams is hysterical shyte.
Last year, 2 of our players were sent off against Cork for no reason. Our next game was against Waterford, and there were rumours going round our camp that Delaney had instructed refs to favour our opponents in games, to aid Waterford's survival bid. However, everyone knew there was no truth in it.
Lads, this is not Serie A. We have ineft officials/admins in this league certainly, but I have never seen any evidence that refs here are corrupt.
You don't know what happened Richardson yet so how can it be double standards?Quote:
Oh and I think kicking down the door at Longford won't help his case
Unfortunately a lot of our fans are extremely fickle and reactionary (look at how some turned against Kearney, Morley, Dolan etc in the past and even Rico when he left the first time) so recent results and his lack of new signings will have had Rico worried about how some of our fans would react.
He is using the same tactic that Dolan always used after a poor performance. He's creating an us versus them attitude and making the fans think everyone is out to get us. This results in them giving out about refs, the FAI etc instead of Rico or the players. It's a good move by Rico imo.
Having listened to the recording, I think Rico let himself down bigtime. Lots of "fat arses", "ridden rock solid", "bo...fat cats", even one "fcuking" - but absolutely no long words. The mask has finally slipped. ;)
We hardly noticed this fickleness and the reactionary nature of Cork fans, thanks for tipping us off! :rolleyes: :rolleyes:Quote:
Originally Posted by Colm
And you Cork lot fall for it every time, while everyone else can see through it and laughs at the 'great Cork conspiracy theory' :D
What exactly is the problem with CCFC fans turning against Kearney and Morely? What exactly is fickle about turning against players that leave for an opposition team? Do you know anything about football culture?Quote:
Originally Posted by Colm
Rico got very little grief when he left. People in them days had cop on and could see what he had to put up with, dealing with the chairman of the time, there was a huge ammount of support for him.
Fickle and reactionary is what Rico and Lennox had to put up with after the Portadown Setanta cup match last season, a bunch of knuckle dragging, Pat Dolan infatuated, numbskulls with their Lennox\Rico out protest.
Still it is worrying that Rico could start using Dolanisms as excuses, but hopefully that was only in the heat of the moment, and he won't start turning into Dolan. That would be a worrying scenario.
I think this is a big issue actually.Quote:
Originally Posted by Dodge
IMO TV footage has to either be used in all circumstances or none,you just cant pick and choose.The situation with Dan Connor is the perfect case because it worked in Drogheda's favour,and against us.
Of course we then subsequently have a player banned for 3 matches using video evidence in the same competition.(this is just the best example available,i didnt pick it because it involves City)
This could easily allow clubs to just not bother recording games for fear of what could happen
Andy Myler did exactly the same thing in an interview in 2003...doesn't matter a f@ck really. If teams are willing to accept instances of "gamesmanship" that benefit them, then they have to prepare to recieve a karmic slap on the @rse in the same suit.Quote:
Originally Posted by dmandmythdledge
Roy O'Donovan did not have attempted retaliation - he did retaliate and headbutted him. Dan Connor says he never touched Behan, same as Rico said about Devine. You say punch, Rico says headbutt - at least one of you is telling porkies.Quote:
Originally Posted by pete
Danny Murphy punched Keith Fahey after the Setanta Cup final and then got another red in the Conh match - of course he is going to get a bigger ban.
Only conspiracy in the Setanta cup was Kelly deciding to ref the Cork Drogs game in Cork at short notice. Remember Behan blocking two Fahey frees with his hands - blantant free and penalty but not given.
Didn't hear Rico complaining about a Dublin conspiracy that night. :rolleyes:
Funnily enough Doolo didn't comment about being ridden rock solid that night either - we just got on with things and won the cup.
Well he did moan a lot, early last season, about the likes of UCD and Bray going to Turner's Cross and refusing to roll over and play dead and allow City beat them. I mean the cheek of College and the Seagulls to go there and come back with a point each from draws. Who do those teams think they are? Was the general gist of his post match interviews!
Hmm - I'd say that in such circumstances of extreme adversity his verbal dexterity and propensity for verbosity deserted him somewhat :pQuote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Nightdub
Seriously though - he is totally out of order here. Stokes is a rotten ref - no argument there- Pats fan or not, and by the way he does Pats NO favours at all when reffing our games. The handball he didn't give in the Cork game is the exception that proves the rule. If Rico had called him incompetent that would be one thing, to hint(and he did a lot more than hint) that he's part of some grand conspiracy against Cork is off the wall. BTW I notice in the papers today that Damien says he has no problem with Stokes. So which is it ? If he is corrupt(and thats basically what Richardson seemed to be saying after the game) then why doesn't he have a problem with him. ? I've always thought Richardson was a bluffer and a spoofer. If he gets away with this then its basically open season for any manager to say whatever he likes about whoever he likes.
No contact was made.Quote:
Originally Posted by Celdrog
While this retaliation was inexcusable so was the racial abuse.Quote:
Ridiculous thing to say, refs do not just make the dcision to ref a game cos they feel like it.Quote:
He won't esape punishment, thus adding further fuel to his flames of a conspiracy, they're all against us I tell ya, all of them.Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyD
Only conspiracy in the Setanta cup was Kelly deciding to ref the Cork Drogs game in Cork at short notice.
Ridiculous thing to say, refs do not just make the dcision to ref a game cos they feel like it.
Kelly was down as 4th official , the nominated ref took sick , Kelly should have ran the line and the senior assistant taken charge. It looks as if Kelly pulled rank.
imagine having rank pulled on you by a maggot like kelly. lowest of the low
I think you have to remember that Stokes is just crap.. not biased, just crap. i mean, during the Setanta cup, Derry vs Linfield at the Brandywell. the Linfield goalkeeper and defender collide and Stokes gives a free kick to Linfield. Farren was about 6 yards away.
Most eircom league refs are crap... they are not full time professionals and as the game here becomes more professional, we need the refereeing to improve as well otherwise inept reffereeing decisions will only produce a laughing stock of a match which will convince the barstoolers that they are right not to watch local matches
A point often emphasized to me by a former ref is that eircom League officials are not necessarily the best Irish football has to offer, but rather the pick of a subset comprising those with sufficiently generous terms of employment to pursue a career in refereeing.
In other words, if your boss doesn't permit you to knock off early every Friday afternoon, you're not going to get too far.
Not true - FIFA dictates that FIFA referees DO NOT run lines unless in exceptional circumstances - e.g. the assistant goes injured during the game. According to FIFA rules then there were 2 choices - get another official of Eircom League referee status or move the FIFA official to the middle and then put a lower official as 4th official which is what the Setanta committee chose to do.Quote:
Originally Posted by iceman
So, FIFA are also in on this anti-Cork conspiracy! :DQuote:
Originally Posted by refjohn
I think Razor might be right!
:rolleyes:Quote:
Originally Posted by razor
Correct me if I'm wrong but, refjohn was pointing out that Kelly followed correct FIFA procedure. Using your logic this surely means that there is an anti-drogheda conspiracy as they would be the ones who would be seen to have a problem with a Cork ref for the match involving City. So yes I concur with Superhoops there is indeed an anti-Drogheda conspiracy in FIFA, then again I wouldn't be too worried Superhoops it's only teams of significance have conspiracies against them, Bray have nothing to worry about.Quote:
Originally Posted by Superhoops
Sorry, I really should try and remember the old saying about sarcasm!Quote:
Originally Posted by The Good Son
My understanding is that Cork do not like having Kelly refereeing their games at all.
Team of signficance, Drogheda? (One FAI Cup and one Setanta Cup). :confused:
As was mentioned with the Stokes - Pats thing earlier I think Alan tries to over compensate although he did give us a soft pen aganst Galway in the Cup last year but did someone mention the exception that proveth the rule.Quote:
Apparently FIFA have been trying to keep us down all these years :DQuote:
Just to let you know lads in the cold light of day .... there is really good support for Rico on this issue from City fans and from the wider public, with alot of people saying he was dead right to say it and that it should have said before now. I referred to this eariler about it being the image of powers that be. Not saying anything on it only that it can be observed.
Some people commenting on this here and elsewhere might not be aware of their own clubs opinion on this, i say this because of a number of calls made showing support, obviously its not the official line from clubs but is not going to happen. One or two calls from quarters that would raise an eyebrow or two but its actually good to see to be honest.
The interview has been transcribed, quoted and referred to in alot of newpapers recently, in some papers that never report on eL stories. It was available to all to subscribe to the INW news feed.
Lads, if some positive comes of this, then in my opinion it'll have be worth doing !!
with respect face he hasnt got wide public support for the allegation that there is an anti-cork refereeing conspiracy. not even close.Quote:
we all agree that the standard of referreeing is poor, but anti-cork? give over, its tedious already.
One very apt saying comes to mind listening to that clip of Richardson spouting on about a "Conspiracy"
Better to keep your mouth closed and be thought a fool than to open it and remove all doubt
The latest in a string of Cork fans to spout on about "racial abuse".Quote:
Please enlighten us as to what was said to Danny Murphy and by whom.
Could you also provide proof as to any claim you make
Well, whether it was them or not - somebody's been making a bloody good job of it for years....! :pQuote:
Originally Posted by ColinR
I don't want to take this thread off topic but I would imagine if you are familiar with the "string" of Cork fans allegations of racial abuse against Fahey then you know the details.Quote:
Its especially suprised me with regard to Fahey himself the boy having such a pristine and unblemished record within the game.
Face have you totally lost the run of yourself with comments like "support for Rico", and " If good comes out of it".
Rico acted like a spoilt brat and a thug and no one can draw any other conclusion from his behaviour. The only thing out of it should be a new dressingroom door for Flancare Park. :(
Neither door nor apology has arrived yet by the way.
You did when you brought racial abuse up ! Either provide details/proof or even show us where a player was charged with such an offense or stop talking through your hole.Quote: