:p :p :D :DQuote:
Originally posted by Pablo
what about pitch invasions? theres a €500 fine dont you know :)
Printable View
:p :p :D :DQuote:
Thats the job. Sounds grand to me.Quote:
Originally posted by Ref
[B]Right folks,
Providing theres a pitch available in Leisureworld, Bishopstown on Saturday 22nd at 8pm are we all agreed?
The Red Team
GWA
Eanna
Pete
The Green Team
Ruairi
SEJ
Scotty
SOCcfc
Kick Off is 8:05pm. 25 minutes a half.
All those 'non-mods' better be prepared for an absolute thrashing! :)
Come the end of the game, there'll only be 1 of us able to talk AND walk, and that'll be me :)Quote:
Originally posted by Shed End John
:eek: That sounds like a threat. You can talk the talk, but, can you walk the walk??;) :)
flares of the non-clothing variety?Quote:
I'd say your going to be busy Ref at this game, should be mighty craic.
Ruraí- will you set-up our non-mods training sessions?
SEJ- You can bring the effigy of Éanna to trample on :):):)
I'll bring my arm chair and sit in goal
Come on down if you think you're hard enough!!:)Quote:
Originally posted by Éanna
Come the end of the game, there'll only be 1 of us able to talk AND walk, and that'll be me :)
You're going home in a St. John ambulance!!:D
I'm going to post this as an announcement on the site, so are we settled on the details? Also, do we have captains? And finally, do we have a name? How about:
- The Foot.ie Challenge Cup
- The Foot.ie Grudge Match
???
Based on the level of skill thats likely to be on show- "the hartigan cup" would be more appropriat IMO :D
Based on the level of skill thats likely to be on show- "the hartigan cup" would be more appropriat IMO
LOL
fine well i aint playing for no hartigan cup
:D lol
howbouts we play for 'The HOOF cup'
or possibly there could be an award for the biggest hoooof :D
Sounds good to me.
Probably be a Challenge Cup this time but a Grudge Cup the nest time ;)
Is it indoors or outdoors? What size the pitches?
Outdoors under floodlights.
Not massive pitches but fine for 5-a-side.
crap i thought twas indoor
mod's team will have to change match tactics
we can discuss tactics tonight at training session in rochestown
I'd say SEJ and Éanna would make the perfect captains for the day. The two boys are known ar fud na tíre for their great friendship towards each other and the fact that they both always keep a cool head, never fly off the handle would make them the ideal captains.Quote:
Originally posted by Vetinari
Also, do we have captains?
NO THEY WOULDNTQuote:
Originally posted by SÓCcfc
I'd say SEJ and Éanna would make the perfect captains for the day.
aaaaaahhhhh it doesn't matter!
i'm going walking about 100 yards over to leaisureworld now to see if i can get us a pitch.
back later.
I'm back.
The woman said
1 - it's unlikely it'll be booked out.
2 - we can only book a week in advance
3 - 6:30pm is the latest we can start as they close at 7:30pm on a Saturday evening (bizarrely in my opinion)
[SIZE=3]SO KICK OFF IS CHANGED TO 6:30pm [/SIZE]
[SIZE=1]Adam, announce that for us will ya please.[/SIZE]
I'd have to disagree with ya there I'm afraid!:)Quote:
I'd say SEJ and Éanna would make the perfect captains for the day.
Ref, 6.30 is a better time anyway imo.
Not wanting to start the debate over start time all over again but any reason why a saturday evening time was picked as opposed to an afternoon?
(maybe i missed that somewhere in the last few pages)
people might be working in the afternoon.Quote:
Originally posted by pete
Not wanting to start the debate over start time all over again but any reason why a saturday evening time was picked as opposed to an afternoon?
(maybe i missed that somewhere in the last few pages)
and i'm reffin' from 10am til 12noon and I'm in CIT for a Futsal tournament from 1:30pm til 6pm, then i'm going from CIT to Leisureworld for 6:30.
i'm organising it and nobody appears to have a problem with the time that is perfect for me so thats the time!
but isn't under floodlights better!!??!
:cool:
hows about awards for the best/worst players etc?
Like the John O'Flynn award for top scorer, the Noel Hartigan award for the player who couldn't hit a cows backside with a banjo, the Liam Murphy award for the player who moves the least, the Biscuits award for best keeper, the Dick O'Handjob award for worst ref :D
Just a few suggestions :)
SÓC, training will take place for non mods fri 21st, 10pm in the Gateway :D
Scum members (mods) welcome too :D
I've got that one wrapped up anyway :)Quote:
Originally posted by Ruairi
the Noel Hartigan award for the player who couldn't hit a cows backside with a banjo
What Irish game is that Scotty?
To be honest, as i have pretty much no life, anytime is good for me, but the 6.30 sounds very good.
at least that way we can go out for a drink afterwrads where the winners will be showered with praise and the losers will be booed and hissed til my throat is sore.
scoooty gone bye-bye's :)
methinks scotty and savo are one.
anyone agree?
--
oh and scotty, i'd say more people work by day.....:rolleyes:
Any time day or night is good for most of us student wasters anyway!
Im carrying a slight knock going into this game(not able to walk at the moment), bloody Law Cup is even more painful than the Quarry Cup, defo going in goal now!
No chance Ref that running could be made a bookable offence during this game?
Users United will prevail, Im sure of it, how about another wager Éanna, or any other one of Magic Mods?
i'd say there'll be enough bookings besides making running a bookable offence!!Quote:
No chance Ref that running could be made a bookable offence during this game?
Who's taking bets on the first person to be booked?
:D :D
Actually Ref, is there going to be a sin bin sorta arrangement going, or is it red and your off?
This is what is used in a lot of 5-a-side competitions and this is what we'll be using.
Yellow - five mins in sin bin
Red - you're off and you don't come back but you can be replaced by a sub after 3 minutes.
I'm saying this now so don't say you haven't been warned.
This is NOT a chance to go and kick the sh|t out of each other!
People have work to go to Monday morning!
Yellow and red cards will be used when neccessary and as often as ye make me use them.
So don't complain if you get sent off.
Doesn't sound as much fun now. :(Quote:
Originally posted by Ref
This is NOT a chance to go and kick the sh|t out of each other!
btw is an ankle tap classified as kicking? :confused:
5 mins in the sin bin for a yellow seems kinda harsh. It'll end up being two on two! :)
We have to give people the chance to display their wonderful skills :)
They can't do that if they're being kicked from one side of the pitch to the next.
It's only a bit of fun so if you get a card you'll probably have deserved it.
It's a football (soccer) match, no need for anything else.
[SIZE=3]PITCH IS BOOKED FOR 6:30pm Saturday 22nd February 2003[/SIZE]
OK with everyone?
Whats the story now so? is Scotty is gone, does that mean that Pablo is also out?
Whose going to volunteer to take up the empty spots?
We'll be able to make up the numbers some how, maybe SEJ's brother will join us?Quote:
Originally posted by GWA
Whats the story now so? is Scotty is gone, does that mean that Pablo is also out?
Whose going to volunteer to take up the empty spots?
Right so, one (maybe two?) places are up for grabs on the non- mods team. So, anyone interested in playing throw your name down... first come, first served.
Jesus God no :)Quote:
maybe SEJ's brother will join us?
What about Eanna junior?
I dunno, it's all set up for Conor to come out of the wilderness that is west Cork and inspire the non mods to victory...
But anyway, on more important matters, how are people getting there; and critically, how are we all getting to the pub afterwards? Is a minibus in order?
EDIT: My god, I nearly forgot: And WHICH pub? I'd take ye to mine, but ye'd all start calling me a puff.
Ill get straight in and say we are going to THE GATEWAY on Barracka, as it is becoming a bit of a haunt for us after matches. Its dead nice as well, and the barstaff (even though cranky!) are nice looking.