Not a chance!
Printable View
Not a chance!
No. I wouldn't either.
This from football365 sums it up
Bye Bye Carr
So Stephen Carr has retired from international football. Never again shall the Lansdowne Road faithful see the tubby little perma-tanned ******* smiling to himself after yet again running with the ball at his feet into a crowd of opposition midfielders instead of clearing the bloody thing. Never again shall we see him waddle out of position as a Swiss / Cypriot / French winger simply stands still and 'moves' into the small amount of space behind his fat arse. Never again shall we see him chop down Zidane on the edge of the penalty area for the second time in five minutes. Never again shall Champions League winner Stevie Finnan sit on the bench while the mighty Newcastle fatboy tries his best to balls things up. What will we ever do without him?
Austin Lysaught
Good god no.
Definite no...better rb's available. He's carrying a few extra pounds & played terrible in the last few intls he played....his intl days are well and truely behind him...
What about Gary Kelly? I've really gone off Carr as well as noting that he's not half the player he was. But Kelly has been playing well for Leeds & AFAIK is close to Staunton & Alan Kelly.
Kelly is credible cover but I also think the likes of Foley & Kelly should be intoduced to the squad.
Think that's a bit harsh from Football365 - he did serve us well, at times;)Quote:
Originally Posted by tiktok
Not sure about GK - haven't seen him play recently. i know it was asked if Mark Kennedy should get another shout & I agree but think GK has been out in the cold for too long....not sure he would be still up to scratch but then if he is playing well, then yes, he should get a chance with Stan - new begining 'n' all that...
I think they should ask Roy Keane to come of out of retirement and play at the back ha ha
Neil, that would not be such a bad idea. I wouldn't think he's being extended as much in Scotland as he was at Utd. I wonder would he have retired from International football if he could have foreseen what would happen at Old Trafford over the last few months?Quote:
Originally Posted by NeilMcD
That said, there is probably a better chance of hell freezing over than Staunton and himself ever talking again, never mind working together
Thank God I'm not the only one who wants him playing again!!1
Neil Horgan, Owen Heary, Joey O'Brien, Steve Finnan are all better right backs than Carr, Cheerio then.
yes, its been a long time since Carr "motored" on down the touchline
in fact it would be safe to say that the "brakes" have probably been put on his career.....his engine doesn't appear to be the same as it was
NO WAY LADS - Carr has an attitude problem blood some new younger players
He hasn't performed at club or international level since he left Spurs for Newcastle. Seems he is just not motivated anymore. No use calling him up if not committed.
Carr in his day was an excellent fullback. He never fully recovered from his injury but if Roy Keane can come back, I don't see why Carr can't except for those wearing red blinkers. We're not big enough to be fussy and although he's not worth a place in the team right now, he would be a useful squad member since he is playing Premiership football.
Robson signed him when at Newcastle so although they haven't spoken since he left Newcastle, there is a possibility he may be asked. I would also take back Dean Kiely even though he's lost his place at Charlton. The bigger squad of potential players the better. I am not proud. God knows I'd even welcome back........
Yes, of course I would. Obviously Finnan is going to get the RB position before Carr but he's still adequate enough cover for him. I think a lot of ye are being too hard on Carr, he's not as bad as ye are going on about.Quote:
Originally Posted by Tenderloins
If Staunton is asking players to return, I wonder will he ask Roy Keane?:eek:.
No point. iIf you looking for backup to finnan might as well look to the future and kelly or possibly o brien who is RB at the moment for bolton, (i know its not his first position )
If reports are to be believed Kevin Foley could be playing Premiership footy soon for West Ham.
No.. He would now be more of a hindrance than an asset.He is retired so leave him out to pasture. A good player before the injury while at Spurs but nothing more than average now.
It looks like a letter to the editor rather than something Football365.com wrote.Quote:
Originally Posted by Tired&Emotional
I'd leave Carr where he is. Finnan should start, but is old enough that the next batch of right backs need to get some games. If Carr's in the squad too, they'll not get experience until we've no alternatives left but to start them.
I see someone has mentioned Gary Kelly.He played very well for Leeds tonight against Wigan and scored a smashing goal.First in four years I think.A much better bet than Carr if we need cover for Finnan.
As a matter of interest, what was Kelly's reason for retiring?
laziness.Quote:
Originally Posted by eirebhoy
i think he still has football to offer, but the attitude is best left in retirement. for a player of his quality, he really isnt missed as much as by the fans as i would have expected.
I think he was a Mick "loyalist". Once Mick went, and considering the circumstances, I think he felt it was time to go too. That's not based on anything I read, it's just the impression I got.Quote:
Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
apparently thats the way of it alright. besides right back is the one position that we do have adequate cover for i suppose. some goal last night though.
I'm a bit torn on this one. I'd like to see Kelly back. He still has a lot of pace. But I'd like to see Stephen Kelly & Foley get a shot to build for the future.
Carr I won't miss. His stupid yellow cards and sub-standard performances against everyone except France (both games) were a factor in our demise. He was careless in the extreme in Basle & in the Faroes and picked up needless bookings causing suspension for the home Israel game. I'm only speculating but I can only guess that his sulky demeanour was a factor in the bad dressing room mood, though I believe Kerr wouldn't let him see his family on one trip.
Finnan is a cut above Carr in all respects.
Hasn't Gary Kelly also played left-back at some point?
Forget about Gary Kelly,he's well past international football.He's lost alot of pace and is not the player he was but infairness he's having an alright season so far in the championship and scored a blinding goal last night against Wigan,but if we get back to the premiership i'd imagine he'd struggle against the top teams.Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuttgart88
He has been plagued with ankle injuries. We had Carr and Finnan ahead of him in the squad at the time. As Charlton said, players should not retire but put themselves on stand by (like Carsley did) and answer the call should the situation arise.Quote:
Carr is still grossly overweight and might not get back into the Newcastle team. Having said that if he did get back in at Newcastle and was playing at the top of his game then yes he should be approached. Kiely is going to sign for Portsmouth and is another who we still need. And Mark Kennedy has being playing well for Wolves and should also be brought back in.
Agree, esp on Kennedy. Noely, do you see him as a LB option?
Now freakin way...the last thing we need is someone one is not fully commited. I hope/think staunton will realise that....
No he should be left to fester when we qualify for Euro2008:)
lol, fester, i like it ,qualityQuote:
Originally Posted by Condex
Looks as if it is an academic question for a while at least:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/foot...ed/4627988.stm
I'd have the tub of lard back.We don't have a big enough pool of players too be picky and we need everybody available,especially those in the premiership,plus it's competition for finnan or whoever else might fancy that spot,it's good to keep everybody on their toes,I think Robbie Keane went off the boil with Ireland because he didn't have any competition and he was guaranteed his place even if he was having a mare,we can't let this happen again.Anyway,yes I'd have him back.
Afair repetitive serious enough injuries were his reasons for retiring from Internat squad. Unless he has turned into a union jack waver, straight armed saluting neo fascist I don't hold anything against the guy, he never asked to be picked,
I'd blame Kerr :)
The Guardian gave Gary Kelly MOTM for his performance against SWFC.
Hardly the basis for a recall :( I heard the Leeds' fans were shouting "shoot" every time he got the ball on the half way line after his goal against Wigan.Quote:
I don't know what all this talk of expecting players to come out of retirement
is about, I don't think any of them retired because they had a problem with
the manager, so I don't see how a change of manager would effect their
decision.