Lee o Conner should move to nolan's agency
Printable View
Lee o Conner should move to nolan's agency
Good luck to him. A move to League 1 would be ideal if he can manage it. He can then develop his career and hopefully move up through the divisions.
He will only end up sitting in the reserves for a Premiership club and opportunities will be very limited at any decent Championship outfit.
Avoid Celtic like the plague.
Ryan’s career taking another dip, despite his agent doing his/her best with numerous porky pies.
His move to Swiss Challenge League club Chiasso FC will be confirmed next week according to this: https://www.google.com/amp/s/m.tutto...a-breve-258754
A club with a stadium capacity of 5000, who finished 10th (last) last season, however, weren’t relegated due to covid. Hopefully, he can at least get a run of games. And of course he will face Connor Ronan’s Grasshopper too
Would Ryan be in our top 10 under 23 prospects at centre back at this stage - probably not to be honest. It was a nice story with him captaining Inter at underage level and all that, but his career path in the last year suggests he is nowhere near the standard required to ever feature for us.
He just hasn’t pushed on. He really looked poor in the Arezzo extended highlights I saw (although generally biased against defenders!). But u never know, if he plays 40 odd games this year and adapts to senior level, he’s still only 22 next summer and could be appealing to bigger clubs then. Unlikely but not impossible.
There were people on here livid that Liam Scales at UCD was picked ahead of him for the under-21s by Kenny but Scales is still playing at a higher level and doing better. I think Nolan has talent and can break through but sometimes we need to not be blinded by the name of the club a player is at. Senior football is hard and he's finding that out.
Yes, some of the earlier comments on this thread have not aged well at all. That said, it is difficult to gauge where youth players are at, particularly those players outside Ireland and the UK. But, similar to Under 23 football in England, performances at underage level in Italy, even at the big clubs, are largely meaningless. First team football is the only level you can really judge a player by.
Even with his career since leaving Inter, it was baffling why he wasn't in any squad, ever, since the U18s
Any clip we saw of him. He didn't look very good. That's possibly very unfair and he might be a talent, but maybe they just thought no not for us.
Nolan was playing in the UEFA youth league, against troy Parrott, when Scales was getting called up. I'm not saying he should have started, but surely he was deserving of a place in the squad?
I don't know - if Kenny watched him and thought he wasn't good enough, then there was probably no justification in calling him up. To be fair to Scales he has played well on the few occasions he has actually got on to the pitch for Ireland. He didn't look out of place in Toulon last year. From the (admittedly limited amount of) footage I have seen of Nolan he hasn't looked like a player who would have a lot to offer.
I just felt it was odd that a kid who is eligible for 3 countries and was doing well at the Inter Milan academy, including captaining their under 19 side, never played a competitive underage game for Ireland. There’s something wrong there. At least have a look at him. My gripe was never with scales directly, per se. Although I was probably a bit harsh on him
He was close enough. He was on standby for Kenny’s first squad. Ndaba and Scales were called up ahead. He looked good in those games against Spurs as far as I remember, which were in the months prior to that squad. Scales obviously impressed and became a mainstay in the squad but Ndaba was never seen again and didn’t play any first team football until a few weeks ago.
Obviously it hasn’t really panned out for Nolan but it was a reasonable shout to think he merited inclusion...
Funnily enough he'd be too old (whereas Scales has played for Rovers II as the one allowed overage player).
Nolan does seem to have made it his goal to go to England, though, but joining an Irish club might not be the worst thing in the world. LOI tends to reward ball-playing centre-halves and he could develop quicker than at a League One side.
Ryan Nolan seems to have joined Getafe, where he'll link up with their B team playing in the third tier.
https://twitter.com/Sp_Getafe/status...85319298854912
Started for Getafe B at the weekend in a 2-1 loss to Rayo Majadahonda:https://www.getafecf.com/Noticia/tab...e-esperar.aspx
A really pleasant surprise to see Ryan make the bench today for Getafe in La Liga away to Eibar, having reportedly playing well in a few B games. Hopefully he can get some consistent game time over the coming months including with their A team. He would deserve a shot with our under 21s if he does. Assume he’s still eligible next year?
No, born in February 1999, he'll be overage for the 2023 U21 Championships
That’s a shame. He will have his work cut out for a senior call up once covid settles, hopefully he can continue to do well in coming months!
Scandalous that a player who has played for inter Milan and getafe couldn't make our 21s squad!!! In fairness alot of lads were laughing at him a few months back when not seeing much action in seria c andcsaying his agent was fabricating stories linking him with English sides so well done to him for knocking down and making an impact at his new club. Do getafe have a defensive injury crisis?
He hasn't been involved with the national side since an U18 game in 2016. You'd think he would have called him into a squad, even just to take a look at him, at least once in the last four years?
Absolutely don't disagree with that, but I was merely responding to a post that it was 'scandalous' he wasn't involved with our under-21's. He was playing in Serie C when Stephen Kenny was in charge of the under-21's, while we had players playing regularly at a higher level.
Not sure who 'he' is that you're referring to otherwise.
Well this is a big turnaround - from being written off, as liamoo said (which was probably understandable given that he seemed to be struggling in Serie C teams) to a squad place in a Top-10 La Liga team. His career path over the last two years explains why he hasn't been in the U21s but the moment he steps on the pitch for the Getafe first team he becomes an option for the Irish squad.
I would have called him up for the first squad against Luxembourg that Corrie Ndaba was part of. He was on the standby list for that squad... liked him against Spurs in the UEFA U19 champions league prior to that.
But Masterson and O’Shea solidifying themselves as first choice, Scales doing well in Toulon and Collins moving from 19s to 21s, it became almost a non-issue. It was probably our position with most depth that wasn’t depleted by the senior squad over the campaign.
Conor McCarthy was also someone who played himself into contention at Cork and St Mirren but never played. The likes of Warren O’Hora, Aaron O’Driscoll, Luke McNally, Ciaran Kelly, Darragh O’Connor, James Finnerty etc etc etc were never used either, along with Ndaba and McCarthy.
Given the huge depth, I don’t think you can be overly critical of those decisions.
Fair play to him. I think it’s fair to say he’s still a long shot case for Ireland but he’s still in contention for a breakthrough at a good standard. Many of us had doubts when he dropped to Serie C but he’s continuing to plug along and is still young, especially for a CB. Hopefully he continues the upward trajectory and forces Kenny’s hand.
We've had plenty of players bloom later in their careers. We don't have the talent pool for it to be otherwise. If he starts playing La Liga football, someone will scout him.
Scales is an example himself. Never rated for underage squads but he worked his way up in men's football to become a regular in the 21s. Sometimes we expect guys to be amazing because of the club they're at but Nolan has shown that if you seriously graft you can get your opportunities, and I hope he becomes a success. Still think the people who lost their rag when Scales was called up ahead of him were dreaming but.
Reports that he tore his cruciate ligament in training this week and will be out for the season
That's desperately unlucky for him. I would say he's at a stage in his career where he couldn't afford that to happen to be honest. Could be 23 or close to it by the time he gets fit again with little first team football played in his career.
Back on the bench for Getafe this evening, so guess that injury wasn't at all as bad as feared.
No place for Finn though
Ah - livescore are showing him on the bench, but they must be mixing up the two Irish players in that case.