So between 10th to 25th March Limerick hove 5 games
Printable View
Bit of a stroll in the second half in the bowl.
But Dundalk's future looks bright
We play on 18th as well.
Fran and Irene doing what they do best. Nice to see Derry aren't been put out though.
Ecstasy in Tallaght this evening, the league needs a resurgent Shamrock Rovers and other teams for that matter, who can take points from Cork.
Intersting evening in Drogheda.
Pats are in trouble. Good win for Drogheda, young team but work hard for each other.
Galway opened up well, Seanie scored a bit of a bizarre goal against the run of play. Game was over at 2-0. Achille Campion looked rubbish in pre season. He confirmed that he is rubbish tonight.
Great to see Conor Ellis score his first senior goal for City tonight. Hopefully the first of many.
By all accounts Anthony Buttimer had a night of nights in Bray, awarded a penalty that was outside the box and let Bray score a goal into an empty net when the Harps keeper was down with a serious head injury which he was immediately substituted for,McCourt got his first assist and Ciaran O'Connor grabbed a brace but alas no points and we'd want to do some work on defending during the week!!!
He went off with an injury tonight, looked like he had his hand on his hamstring. Hopefully it was just a precaution. He has scored in his last 8 games I think now, including MSC and going back to the end of last season. Scored in every game this season. 34 goals all told in just over 12 months. Not too many City players have scored that many in recent years. Cummins the most recent striker who was remotely as prolific and that was in the first division.
Pitch was fine to be honest, great work by the groundstaff in the end.
Ah here, why did they have to reschedule it to then? Was the club consulted?
And whose responsible for the electrics in Maginn Park? You'd assume some kind of inspection would have been done before the FAI ok'd it and the club moved in. Can't help but say this is all rather mortifying for Derry, and disproportionately unfair to Limerick and Limerick fans.
Walking on air after tonight's result. Rain threatened to ruin the game at times but both teams tried their best in testing conditions. Good crowd from Pats, fair play to them given the weather.
At half time I felt we should have been at least one up but to no avail (hit the bar and missed at least one that was easier to score tham miss).
In the second half Pats threatened more and hit the post in a ten minute good spell but they faded after their substitutions (imo). Their midfield looked good but the back line was very nervious once pressed.
I do think some pats players dropped the heads well before the end of the game - some (not all) seemed to be going through the motions.
Again we need to keep taking this one game at a time but I am enjoying looking at the league table tonight. Pete has instilled an honest hard working approach to the team and it's very enjoyable to watch.
Cork next week will be a very tough game but who knows how we may do 😇
Brought my eldest to the game along with my dad, two cousins, met other cousins and uncles plus a few neighbours - our clubs are more than just football,they are community - pity many people don't realise this wealth in our misth.
I don't think too much blame as it stands can be heaped on Derry. Disgraceful a game at the highest level in the country has to be called off due to floodlight failure and I feel so bad for all the fans the travelled up early this afternoon.
Having the game rescheduled for midweek though is a joke. It would have been some way acceptable if a comprise was made and the teams met half way at least. Maybe Sligo.
: https://twitter.com/Corks96FM/status...117946880?s=09
Ryan Delaney's goal tonight
Literally everyone we spoke to from Derry up there after it told us the generator went so it would appear a back up generator was useless because there was none. Whole set up in Buncrana awful tonight even without light failure tbh.
Great night if you are of he hooped persuasion, Rovers players still getting to know each other Connolly was excellent, for a man of of such portly dimensions he can sure get around the pitch, Super crowd and good away support considering it was on the box and the weather being obnoxious, we wont win the league but i would be optimistic about a top three.
I'm struggling to get my head around just exactly how bad Anthony Buttimer was last night.
First Bray goal, free kick that never was. Dylan Connolly may be in with a shout of representing Ireland at the next Olympics on the diving board. Either that or he has spring loaded boots that go off occasionally while he's running. Ciaran Gallagher made a balls of the resulting free kick, but a free that should never have happened in the first place.
Penalty that was wrong on two counts. Mickey Funston was probably two yards away from a cross hit when it struck his hand..which was also at least two yards outside the box. How can a cross that he could not possibly prevent striking his hand, that was outside the box, be awarded a penalty? Buttimer didn't even think about it, just blew the whistle straight away before the ball even hit the ground again.
Brays fourth goal, Ciaran Gallagher came out of his box, cleared the ball with a diving header, got a clash to the head off Dylan Connollys knee and was down, clearly in some distress with a head injury, Buttimer doesn't stop play, McCabe sticks the ball into the net and goal is awarded. Connolly himself went down with a head injury a mere ten minutes later, with Harps on the ball, and Buttimer stopped play immediately. Ollie Horgan and the entire Harps bench were rightly going absolutely bananas with Buttimer all night.
Bray are not a great side. They'll grind out results, and they'll finish in the top half, but I honestly don't think they're all that better than Harps, a side hot favourites to be relegated.
First game for me in about 4 years, not sure I could have picked a better one from a Bray perspective.
First goal, very soft free kick. We were on the other side of the pitch, but I commented at the time that Connolly was already on his way down before the challenge came in. He looked like he'd already lost control of the ball and was trying to get something from the situation.
Second goal, again too far away to see whether the incident was inside the area, but it was very harsh to penalise Funston for it, not much he could have done with the ball coming at him from that close, and his arms didn't look in an unnatural position to me.
Third goal was good work from Bray, great ball in from Kenna and superb header from Greene.
Fourth goal, really felt for Harps. Gallagher did a great job coming for the ball, and took a boot to the face for his troubles. McCabe should have put the ball out, and if there was the possibility of a head injury, Buttimer should have pulled play back.
Fifth goal, good work from Connolly to get the ball around Doherty at the second attempt.
The result might have been harsh on Harps but I think on balance Bray were still the better side (in my own biased opinion!). Doherty made three or four brilliant saves, and Harps' second goal was a real gift from Cherrie. Connolly looked dangerous all game, but with some better decision-making Bray probably should have had at least another goal, possibly two.
Paddy McCourt was good once he came on, and his delivery for Harps' third was perfect. Apart from the final 20, when Harps were pushing forwards to get back into the game, they actually looked reasonably solid at the back (for a team that ended up conceding five, at least). On that performance, I don't think they'll be in major danger of relegation this season. Bray still look too shaky in central midfield and at the back to really push for European football.
Damn it, I'm struggling to find Bray fans to argue with.
I tend to agree about the soft free, but on the penalty, from where I was watching, Funston's reaction, very quick, was to bring his arm down towards the flight of the ball. I would certainly agree with Buttimer (who ever thought I'd be writing that!) that it was a deliberate hand ball. As for whether it was inside the are, only TV shots will determine that, but I felt it was probably marginally inside.
All that said, the referee should almost certainly have given Harps the earlier penalty shout, which I think was a good one, and I was very surprised he didn't whistle as soon as Gallagher went down. I thought it was Ethan Boyle who hit him, by the way, in the course of that spectacular tumble-turn that he himself was injured in.
Great watching, hope it will encourage a lot more to come down to the Grounds again. I thought the attendance was a bit more than 700, but not a lot.
I can put my green and white blinkers on if you like?
Always hard to judge attendances from within the stand. Where I was sitting it was about 90% full, but the ends are always a bit more sparsely-populated. Counted about 50 Harps fans on the other side. I think the tent holds just under 1,000, 975 or something, so 750-800 attendance with those in the tent, the Harps fans, and people behind the goal at the Bray Bowl end seems reasonable
I think littlebray got there ahead of you with the penalty decision. Funston is lost as a midfielder, should be a goalkeeper with reactions like that if he can deliberately handball from two yards in that fashion.
I'd say you're not far off with that 90% full assumption. There's a photo of the stand on here: http://54crew.com/news/2017/3/4/lets-talk-about-bray
When you zoom up to the photo you can see maybe close to 100 empty seats dotted along the stand, and a couple of small blocks of empty spots.
I didn't think the stand held that many but I see that Wiki has it as 985 seats. On that, there probably was around 850 or so there with 50-60 Harps fans. Quite disappointed with the travelling support although the weather would have put people off travelling too.
Hard to see actually without being able to zoom in properly. Taken on my phone though, and zooming in on the phone you can see a patch of 20 seats on the left hand side, around 30 or 40 seats on the far right side, and there's a small patch of empty seats behind each dugout.
https://static1.squarespace.com/stat.../?format=1000w
Dundalk sligo kicking off shortly.
If dundalk avoid defeat you're looking at a big title decider between two unbeaten sides in oriel next week.
Was out in ul during the week chedoze can run the 100m in four seconds on astroturf.
1-0 Dundalk,McEleney
Goal > https://twitter.com/Jamiecm81/status/838118492008251392
Given the dog fight to avoid the bottom three I find myself cheering for fellow Louth men tonight.
Enemy of my enemy and all that ....
Sligo having a poor start to the season. 2-0 down already.
In fairness to Sligo their opening two league games have been against arguably the two greatest sides the game in this country has produced.
Ion Stephen Henderson doing a top job as usual at cobh. It's a crying shame the fai robbed a team like ramblers of a shot at promotion.
Dundalk promotion poster for next week:
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/C5snSEkWMAEJSYz.jpg
3-0 Dundalk and Rover's down to 10 men.
4-0 in Sligo now.
Two hammering in a row for Sligo ouch ... Dundalk showing no mercy