Galway win and both to score 11/1 on PP at the moment. If Galway put out a strong team that would be a very good bet.
Printable View
Galway win and both to score 11/1 on PP at the moment. If Galway put out a strong team that would be a very good bet.
LImerick are unlikely to be resting anybody to save them for league games.
Galway are away to Dundalk on Friday and will surely make changes.
TBF that probably reflects things accurately. But if you were in our shoes would you play a strong team? Nah. We're away to Dundalk on Friday and Limerick moved the game to Tuesday from Monday which has a major effect on things. That's their preogative I suppose, but it screws us over big time; our hand is forced and we've a number of injuries to key players to contend with at the moment also.
10 changes for the Cork side tonight, so I'm assuming it'll be quite a young side.
Derry at 6/1 looking more tempting now.
It's likely that the likes of Mark O'Sullivan, Gavin holohan, Colin Healy, Danny Morrissey will be starting. Would love a strong team out to get us through but with since its been Monday/Friday for the last few weeks changes need to be made. Still confident of getting through though. Will Derry be doing something similar in regards to changes? Another 11 days and ye will be down here again, not ideal I'm sure.
I assume it'll be a strong side. Shields has been saying he wants to try and win the LC, and there's no point putting on younger players.
In saying that, we're a tired side at the moment, and it's a long trip. Added to that we've a run of five games in fourteen days, including two trips to Cork, you could see his thinking if we made some changes.
Add to that Galway should have enough to stay up this season so a cup run should be a target for them. The main reason for resting players should be injury.
No offence taken. I don't think you'll find many (or any) Galway United fans who think we're going to win the league in fairness... Top 4 is attainable though if we keep injury free, but that's already starting to take its toll.
The league is the priority.
Should stay up? Is that a joke?
[QUOTE=Olander;1868868]No offence taken. I don't think you'll find many (or any) Galway United fans who think we're going to win the league in fairness... Top 4 is attainable though if we keep injury free, but that's already starting to take its toll.
The league is the priority.
Should stay up? Is that a joke?[/QUOTE
Top 4 attainable for Galway. Now that is a joke.
Galway will finish a good deal behind cork, dundalk,pats & Rovers.
Hardly a crazy claim. Realistically we should finish outside of the top 4, the clubs you listed have much bigger budgets, but it's not all about that. If we stay injury free, I'd back us to finish in the top 5 anyway, but we've already lost Folan, Cunningham and Devaney to long-term injuries.
1-1 at the cross at half time. We were doing well there for the most part until Derry scored. They hadn't really troubled us before that. Christ I hope it doesn't go to extra time it's bloody freezing
Good battling performance tonight against what was still a quality Cork side.
Cork started well and got their goal. I think we could have defended it better, wall was fairly weak and Gerard didn't move for it.
Probably slightly fortunate to go into the break level. Great wee finish from McNamee.
Second half we played a lot better, and didn't tire as I thought we would. Soaked up most of the Cork pressure well, though at the cost of a few yellows.
I thought we were great in extra time, really dominated. Cork seemed slightly tired and lacking in ideas. Good header from Jarvis for the winner. He nearly got himself sent off for a second yellow earlier though.
Held on after that, and really should have scored again. Patterson had a one-on-one, and then missed from what must have been a metre out towards the end.
Really poor crowd at the game though, under 1,000. Definitely the lowest crowd I've seen at TC.
Also, it really wasn't that cold. I know we're from the icy north, but we were wearing t-shirts all night.
Well, I was absolutely freezing last night anyway :D
Derry deserved it on balance, but if we're not going to take it seriously we deserve nothing less. The decision to take off Ian Turner with 15 minutes left was bizarre as he's one of the fittest players in the league. Danny Morrissey went to the right and instantly suffered with cramp, but played for the full 120 mins. We were totally gassed by the end of ordinary time.
I'm looking forward to my first ever visit to The Markets Field evening. I've seen Limerick City/FC play in Rathbane, Pike & Jaclman Park. I never got the opportunity to see them in Thomond. I'm delighted to see them doing well this season. Their supporters were brilliant in Terryland last season; they brought more fans to Galway for a relegation battle than St Pat's brought for the 2015 EA final (and Pat's brought a lot).
The League Cup should be taken seriously by both Clubs although it's an unfortunate sequence of events that we have an away fixture to Dundalk in three days time. I suspect that Tommy Dunne will have a strong bench and 4 or 5 fringe players will start. I'm hoping the new centre back signed from Sweden will make his debut after a long lay off with injury.
Any idea if yer bringing a big crowd? Away support in Div 1 is awful, would love a good away crowd to create a good atmosphere.
100 or so travelling fans for a Tuesday night EA Cup tie would be a very decent following!
Everyone wants to see First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC. There's another bus coming from Cork and three buses from Dublin afaik.
No O'Flynn and Greene, Limerick's two of the top scorers, in their squad for tonight's game... Strange
Wait really? A win would have been nice but you realise this was our third straight Monday with a game? We're in the middle of a spell of 8 games in 26 days. I don't think there is anything wrong with using some of the fringe squad players in a game like this, and given the scoreline it almost worked out.
No one is going to be heartbroken at going out of the League Cup.
Limerick win 2-0.
Limerick 2 Galway 0
Attendance was given a 937 which drew roars of laughter from the stand there was more tonight than there was for Saturday's game v Waterford which was 1,457
Again, with the opposition making so many changes, it's hard to really use this game as a metric for what level Limerick are at. But who cares, a cup semi!
Tempting fate, but a final in the Market's Field would be quite the occasion...
Thought it was a little bit smaller than waterford myself, much less in the stand but a bit more around the ground.
Still looked a bit more than 937 though....
On the game galway came into it a bit in the second half without ever really bothering us. We were down to the bare bones at that stage.
galways failure to score against First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC is a stain on their club.
Fair play to Limerick, lovely set up down there I enjoyed visiting last season and this season. We made too many changes 7 in all but with 3 games in 7 days you need to rest some of the lads in fairness. when we brought on Connolly and Sullivan in the second half we got more into the game. If we lose either to injury this season we are screwed foley is no where near them and we are a completely different team without them.Good crowd for a Tuesday night.
Also well done to Anthony buttimer for blowing up the first half on 44 minutes.
We'll have to get a bigger scoreboard and a guide dog for him.
Congrats to Limerick, they were very worthy winners tonight. We were very poor.
We took a chance making 7 changes and it totally backfired. You can't do that against a team who are essentially top 5/6 quality in the Premier Division and flying high, winning each week. Several Limerick players would walk into our team no bother.
A loss in Dundalk will conclude a forgettable week for us.
Semi-final draw is to be made today, apparently.
I know this isn't exactly a surprise but my god Buttimer is one of the worst refs I've ever seen, the amount of clear as day fouls happening right in front of his face that he let's go is madness and that's for both teams linesman on 4 or 5 occasions signalled for free from double the distance away as him. Lino in front of main stand just as bad at times.