Feck Athlone.
Printable View
Feck Athlone.
Given Limerick's recent run and our recent run and having gone 2-0 down that's a decent point for us. Now if we could just manage a win or two.
Just teasing. :)
Another game where a semi-decent side sat back in numbers and tried to hit us on the counter. We were always the better side, but let them score from a corner, which made it much more of a challenge.
Daire Ó Conchabhair's going to be a lovely player; just needs a bit of game smart. Another find!
Ryan Swan called up to the Ireland under 21s apparently, which can't hurt our run in.
What a terrific performance from the champions tonight. Pats were chasing shadow's the whole half. I was disappointed with the so called best team in the league. Apart from Conan Byrne they didn't ask many questions of the best team in the league.
Yeah Mickey's we are the champions was brilliant but then again we are the current champs.
We are in a great position to be believe it or not the first Dundalk team to win back to back league but we are not mathematically there yet. It will take an unbelievable collapse from us not to do so.
6 wins out of 9 is all that's needed.
Dundalk were fantastic to watch in the first. Some of the fastest one touch football I've seen in the LOI. But Pats were brutal, an absolute shambles. I don't understand how a team can win nine on the bounce and turn up to the biggest game of their season and play that badly. Bolger must be humiliated at being taken off at half time. But he deserved it, he was that bad.
I was delighted to see Dave McMillan show his class throughout the game, he destroyed Pats.
We were second best of 2 brutal teams tonight, delighted to get a point as Drogheda will be wondering how the hell they didn't win that. At least it temporarily stops the rot, in fairness only 3 of that side would start if everyone was fit, so well done to the young lads
Disgusting from Towell there this evening. It'd be nice if he had to sit out the rest of the season to have a think about it.
Best performance of the season from Rovers and probably could have won by more, but Cork really made it easy for us. McCabe and Blanchard had so much time on the ball it was criminal, no pressure on the ball whatsoever.
edit: jesus Towell. I'm guessing we have no facility for retrospectively banning players in this league?
What's with the extratime.ie updates for the UCD Athlone game?
http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/27540/2/
Shocking stuff from Towell also - threw the heel right back into the face.
From where I was I thought Towell had just caught McGrath as he fell but having seen the footage it was nasty and totally unnecessary. Very stupid thing to do when your team is coasting. It wasn't as if he had an ongoing niggle with Mcgrath either. He's very lucky to only have gotten a yellow.
Attachment 2320
Would you like some salt and vinegar with those crisps?
Tony Cousins needs to go far away and never return.
Haven't seen the replays yet but thought at the time it looked nasty. Not sure if he meant to kick him in the face but he swung his leg back to catch him. Should have been a red. Had a feeling one off our players would do something stupid as ref had been letting a load of nasty stuff by Pats go all evening. Both Mountney and Shields busted by elbows and Gannon taken out numerous times late. Was surprised the game calmed down after the Towell incident
Towell was a very naughty boy, it was nasty and completely unnecessary and inexpelicable- it's not like they had a running battle or anything.
First half performance was simply sensational from Dundalk. Second time in two seasons I think Pats could count themselves lucky to only concede 4 in 45 minutes. The pressing, passing, finishing was excellent. Bolger's attempted backheel clearance for the fourth was hilarious. Not really sure why Sean Gannon was being targeted in particular this time around. Still, at least Pats made sure we couldn't play Kilduff, goodness knows how many we'd have scored with him involved too ;-)
The second half was a little flat after what was a sensational first half display. In the circumstances my gratitude to the irate St Pats fan who entertained me with his tirades in the second half
" Bloody pitch is a disgrace! We would sort ye out easily on a grass pitch"
Madness to think Buckley didn't think Gannon was good enough for Pats. Easily the best RB in the league, As someone said to me last night, he's like Denis Irwin, guaranteed a 7/10 at least every week.
Finn was unplayable for 25/30 mins in the first half. McMillian, Horgan and O'Donnell were all excellent.
Game was over at Half Time so im not surprised our players took their foot off the gas
In fairness I don't think it was a case of not thinking he was good enough, he couldn't guarantee Gannon that he would play him every week so Gannon left, which is fair enough. When he left at the end of 2013 Ger O'Brien was the best RB in the league so it seemed unlikely that he would get in ahead of him
Jamie McGrath had his nose broken last night that thug Towell & the Dundalk fans that booed the youngfella of the pitch should be ashamed of themselves.
This, plus Gannon was two years younger at the time. He was bound to develop, would have at Pats too had he stayed. At the time though you couldn't have left Ger O'Brien out of the Pats side for him.
We haven't been able to live with Dundalk this season. We just haven't matched them physically in any of the games. They've been quicker and stronger than us, with the result that we haven't been able to control the games against them, as we can with most teams.
Finally, Towell, what a scumbaggy thing to do. You could give him the benefit of the doubt and say that he didn't know it was McGraths face he would connect with, but I'm not sure I'd be inclined to do that. If he had any class he'd apologise.
I was one of those Dundalk fans who saw the kick and I knew the lad was hurt. I certainly didn't boo him.
However, some of the fans around me thought that it was gamesmanship and that he was doing the same thing as Derek Foran last year. Feigning injury to get a player sent off.
Can you really get on your high horse and blame them?
The lad was clearly hurt when getting help off the pitch the booing by some was out of order.He is not a player with a bad reputation so I couldn't understand it some in Oriel have taken being a Partizan crowd to the extreme.
Dundalk are the best side in the league this has nothing to do with that it has everything to do with an 18 year old player getting kicked in the face & having his nose broken then getting booed off the pitch just because you are the best team in the land doesn't give Dundalk carte blache to do what they what if you haven't got the guts to accept what happened was wrong then that's your prerogative.
I think you need to get a little perspective here.
The consistent feature of matches between these sides over the last 2 - 3 season has been the aggressive approach of St Pats including cynical rotational fouling of Richie Towell. The number of red cards issued to St Pats players in these games is further testament to this approach.
This was again in evidence on Monday evening and shortly before the Towell - McGrath incident there was very strong complaints by Chris Shields to the referee - these appeared to be based on an allegation of of being struck off-the-ball.
None of this excuses Richie Towell, but it may have contributed to tempers rising on the pitch and then in the fans reactions surrounding McGrath leaving the pitch after treatment.
Jamie McGrath is a talented young player with tremendous potential - I hope Richie Towell has spoken to him directly and apologised for what happended.
Yep Richard has rang Jamie so we can all relax now.https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CMuPx7wUYAE7IJz.jpg