Two great goals by Kirby. Deserved the win, Rogers made 3 great saves for Pat's and it looked like he was gonna get them a point but luckily for us, Kirby stepped up :).
Printable View
Two great goals by Kirby. Deserved the win, Rogers made 3 great saves for Pat's and it looked like he was gonna get them a point but luckily for us, Kirby stepped up :).
Don't know if you were watching the 5 a-side astro game or the game on the hill with the cattle but we deserved a point from that game last night. Yes Monaghan dominated the first half but we definately bossed the second. Gillespie was unlucky with his free kick that hit the crossbar and we had two great chances one from a Gillespie corner and one from a Morley cross into Salmon only he failed to get a good connection on it. If Monaghan deserved 3 in the first half de Town deserved that much in the second half!! Was talking to a Monaghan coach in the car park and he even admitted Monaghan were lucky to hold on as they were camped in their own half for the second half.
On another note, was your No 11 an aquisition by Roddy or had Cooke signed him before that?
Wow! You use the word 'awesome' for the second half performance??? Jaysus!!!! You're extremely easily pleased like a hooker who has just been handed a grand.
Sligo definitely deserved to win. We were even for the first half hour and then Sligo took control just before half time. We should have closed Kirby down quicker for the goals. Sligo aren't great, from what i've seen this season so far, Dundalk are a better side.
I think Sligo have earned the right to play a bit of hoofball to be fair. Good footballing side and everyone needs a plan B.
Buy new defenders.
wasn't lack of ambition. just fitness. We showed early that we came to win and were on top and creating chances for 25 minutes or so. When Sligo upped their game we ended up looking knackered and sloppy mistakes led to their goals
Neither Sligo nor Pats played hoofball. playing the odd long ball, or defenders clearing it every now and again is NOT playing hoofball. Both teams tried to pass it, Sligo being that little bit better
good hard fought win, two crackers from kirby, a must watch on MNS. cant wait for tomorrow night now.
another note, the pats no.6 impressed me
Dodge has the most accurate assessment there. With Peers and Keane out they went straight for the kill in the first half, we were lucky not to concede.
Still delighted though, MO'N was at the game too. Looking forward to tomorrow night now.
I was surprised by Pats to be honest, they got the ball down and tried to play a bit of football which is quite different to their last few visits.
After about the first half hour where Pats dominated we really took over and only for some fantastic keeping by Rogers we should have been leading at half time.
Good game, good crowd, good result and another lad on the scoresheet, things are kicking into drive nicely.
Joint top of the table, pressures on MON.
This might be a more accurate account of how things went!
http://www.extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/12719/2/
Galway United's "offside" goal on Friday.
http://img232.imageshack.us/img232/1783/onside.png
People can come up with statistics to prove anything, harley. Forty percent of all people know that.
ok what im trying to say is ive been told about a match by my friends who were there and then when i use that info ive been told "you wern't there so you dont know" but again why is your/there view better than my friends . In other words the "you wern't there " comment seems at the very least a cop out.
He was watching match updates, it seems, which is different. Statistics can be very misleading, particularly when selectively quoted (e.g. not noting that our keeper had, I think, one serious save to make all the first half). So that's why I'm happy to suggest that forming an opinion from watching a game is more reliable than forming an opinion based on a match tracker.
And one of those sources, the extratime one, gives five first-half Bohs-related updates, one of which is a hopeful long-range shot and another of which is a corner which was cleared. Half way through the half, it mentions that the game was "very quiet". It does later say that Bohs will be wondering how they're not in front, but that seems to relate back to one particularly good chance they had. Hardly "all over" us.
fair enough cheers.
Thought we were comfortable enough once first goal went in as UCD never looked like scoring (except for one effort right at the end). Poor game played by two fairly average teams. Bohs still very much a work in progress. UCD could have a serious problem if this was a reflection of their scoring prowess (or lack of).
Agree fully with that.
:( i wasnt trying to say that i knew more about the game than you PS - i was simply addressing the point you made in your first post that i was going purely off biased posts on the Bohs mb. I wasnt. I was going on the update service on the two other websites.
Also, though it was mentioned later on ET, the goal we scored was in the first half so there is another "highlight" from the first half. Also, "all over them" is a very off the cuff type of remark, one i regret using and not one id expect to be held forensically accountable for!! Another point to note, you dont have to have many clear-cut chances to be considered "all over" the other team, sometimes possession or territory is an equal measure. We had 7 corners in the first half alone. Thats quite a lot. It suggests some sort of superiority, though maybe we werent "all over" UCD.
Anyway, theres an account of the game here that suggests a number of times that it was "comfortable" for Bohs... whatever that means.
http://www.extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/12536/2/
We got three points and a clean sheet from what is traditionally a difficult* fixture for us. Thats prety much all that matters and the rest is just each individuals opinion (whatever it is based on). To be honest lad's the fare on display on friday was not worth getting too worked up about either way.
The pitch no help to either side and I would say (not having seen previous games) that it is a major hindeance to UCD given that they play a passing game. Expect their results (at home) to improve when the rugger buggers season finishes but as said earlier they look terrible shot shy.
* by "difficult" I mean "difficult to win"
Hello lads new poster here. I followed that link given out and was pretty stunned when the fella said it as ndo was brought on. To say it is out of order and for his mate to not pull him up on it is also bang out of order.