That really is an astonishing poll for Labour. If that rise was replicated around the country at a general election they'd be biggest party
Long way to go obviously
Printable View
That really is an astonishing poll for Labour. If that rise was replicated around the country at a general election they'd be biggest party
Long way to go obviously
I would think that's exactly why he ended up with Labour. During the Spring tide having labour on the ticket was enough, but if you can combine it with name recognition outside of traditional areas then there's more chance is the theory I'd imagine.
I still treat with Sindo polls with something less than a pinch of salt. FF hadn't even selected a candidate until last night FFS.
I don't think you got what I was saying. IF the budget passes (and we both know it more than likely will) then the government will have supply and therefore the status quo will continue. Now, if that was to happen and subject to the High Court rulings which we'll know more about before the budget the sense in waiting til spring for the bye-elections is just a ghastly prospect and the Oppostition parties could pratically force a general election by resigning en masse. Never gonna happen but one can dream.
Now Ó Cuív has been put in charge of Donegal SW election so as you can see the party before country mantra for FF still rings true.
You say 3 months of economic time wasting? As opposed to the 2 years of maddening stupidity and boll0cksology. A stable new Government would be more advantageous to us rather than this rag tag of parish pumpers.
Either way the ECB at some point in the next year is gonna tell us to get down on 2 knees and open wide.
I can't see it happening tbh now. They have started to look a little shaky. A lack of a true vision is starting to hurt and Gilmore is not doing so hot in his last few interviews.
The inevitability though of the next Government's make up of FG major and Lab minor is dangerous because it may allow FF to garner a few more seats than they might have done due to peoples unwillingness to bother to go to the polls.
The budget is already decided, as Rehn was in town today to inspect it. It's not the last minute job as it used to be.Quote:
Originally Posted by BonnieShels
Brussels doesn't really care what's gone on here in the past two years. They just want to know if we can pay our bills now. They and the Markets don't have the time or the patience to wait 3 months while we call an election, hold a campaign, go to the polls, horse-trade, form a coalition, elect a Taoiseach, appoint a cabinet, and produce a new budget in the normal way. It's what we want alright, but it's a lot of wasted time in their eyes, and they rule us politically and economically.
Only just got back online and saw that Rehn wants concensus. Screw concensus. We went up to 8% today. Clearly no one has any faith in us or what's been done. Election will be all that can save us.
And the more they climb, the less confident those we owe think they'll be paid.Quote:
Originally Posted by OneRedArmy
The interest rate could be as much as 10-15% by then, an election process is more likely to increase it rather than moderate it.
Maybe, but only short term. I would think the markets are already reflecting political uncertainty with back benchers, green cabinet members and independents already saying what they want and what they won't accept.
A new stable Government with a clear majority and a 5 year mandate is the only hope of avoiding the stability fund. Everyone can see that, even Government, but FF and the Greens would rather put self interest ahead of national interest. They are traitors.
On the subject of cuts, is it acceptable to believe that all sectors of society should be beyond incurring a tax?
If wages, JSA and childrens allowance are to be cut, and tax & levies to rise, should the old age pension be cut?
I'm a civil servant and I accept that we're going to be targetted in a concerted way. I was embarrased at the defending of the Banking 30mins by the CPSU last week, and would happily see it removed. Similarily with the Privilege Day at Xmas and Easter, the actual cost to removing these is probably little enough, but if it helps to redress the imbalance that the public feels the Public Service have then thats fine.
What I can't understand is that I'm still getting the Increment that we get for every years service. I was sure that would have been suspended at this stage given the mess the country's finances are in.
I'm expecting, and happy to accept harshness in the relative short term, if it in any way enables the country to haul itself out of the mess. I think deep down a lot of CS staff would think the same, even if a lot are peeved at the all out attack on public servants for doing very little wrong as such. However I'll be bitter (and quite a few people have said the same to me) if there Old Age Pension isn't at least means tested.
Any opinions there?
Stopping increments for a few years would make perfect sense.
And I think the burden should be spread as widely as possible. A small decrease in pensions (especially public service pensions which shot up during the good times but have remained untouched), small increase in the corporate tax rate, public service increments suspended (certainly for mid to upper levels), property taxes introduced to replace the likes of stamp duty, water charges introduced, pension tax relieve capped, income taxes raised slightly... spread it wide and hopefully nobody suffers too much.
Last year the government introduced the pension levy which saw the average civil servant put an extra 6.5% into their pension (on top of PRSI).
Their pensions didn't shoot up either (directly), the pension rates have remained the same for decades now. Its just based on salary (which went up, obviously)
What I mean is that retired public servants saw their pensions climb, but were unaffected by the levy. My folks depend on such a pension, and have said to me that it does not seem right that they should be ring-fenced.
Right, sorry, thought you were talking about current staff.
This would be a bug bear of mine - current public servants had to give productivity and terms and conditions for the national wage agreements, and the pensioners took the increases. On the way down they appear to be protected at all costs. The link with current wages is fine - it'd be that or inflation, and several of the noughties national agreements actually gave below inflation pay increases, for all the bs that's spouted on Public Sector wages - but the link should be remain both ways.
Banking time was never something we got, and the priveledge days I'm not convinced is the issue that it's hyped up to be. I know many people who get the same days, several of them in multinational companies, but they're called something else or at christmas they're just part of a christmas shut down.
Simple thing they could would be to reduce pension relief to the standard rate. It would be a defacto cut in public sector wages, as they are forced (whether they get a benefit or not, and many do not) to pay into it, and it would hit the higher earners in the public sector more. Unlikely to happen as it would also hit the most well off as well, and Lenihan hates hitting them. But it would be hard for the public sector to defend if it was applied to everyone.
Pensioners, both contributory and non contributory should not be immune from cuts if they are hitting every other social welfare payment. Even if it is effectively a token cut.
Stop muddying the waters with facts such as factoring PRSI into public service pension contributions. What would Eddie Hobbs do if he couldn't ignore such payments?Quote:
Originally Posted by Dodge
There's been so much said that I don't agree with here. I'm a public servant for starters.
Pension related deduction (aka pension levy): We will never ever see any benefit from this. This will never ever go to our pensions. It amounts to a pay-cut. Also remember we have a received a pay-cut as well. So we've been screwed across the board.
Bonus payments made to director-of-services were not subjected to a cut last year as they were perceived to have had a reasonable expectation. Just like us lower paid? W@nkers.
The biggest problem with the public service is the root and branch reform that needs to occur and I personally believe that slashing and burning where it's needed should be done. I work with far too many useless people that it's actually difficult to take in anyway seriously any cuts that there are meant to be coming down the line for us.
I keep suggesting ways to make our jobs easier and therefore efficient and which will save a lot of money over time but they constantly get shouted down because "that's not how we've always done it"!
I'm completely for slashing social welfare allowances. They are far too high and they are routinely scamming. I shop at least 2 people a week that I find are cheating the system. It sickens me.
There are families out there that have more income coming into their household than my family did when we were growing up and the difference is my mam and dad worked for everything we have; these shower never contribute to society and just take. I work with SW every day and this is all fact and not taxi driver talk. I know of one guy who's sons I grew up with who has claimed Jobseekers Allowance since 1986 continuously. Are you kidding me!!!
I maintain serious reservations in how our SW system creaks along. There's so much wrong that it can't be fixed and needs to be torn down and started again.
The biggest drain on SW is One-Parent Family Payment (though JSA is catching up from what I remember). This is such a crock of **** that how it was ever considered a good idea I'll never know.
My biggest gripe is that it continues the spiral of reliance on SW from cradle to the grave. The amount of families in my working area that have known nothing but OPFP from mother to daughter to grand-daughter is astounding.
I become very right-wing when talking about this so I shall stop...
The other thing that annoys me about our system is the value of JSA and JSB. How someone who has worked all their lives and loses their job is entitled to €196 pw on JSB and someone who has never worked a day in their lives is also entitled to the same amount on JSA I'll never understand.
I could go on... but there's never enough time to even bring in CE schemes, BTWEA and BTWA.
Rant partially over.
Wether you are a Public servent or a private sector employee, the points you raise are valid and you shouldn't have felt the need to qualify them and declare you are Public.
+1 for me for most of what you wrote
My declaration as a public servant had to do with the fact that the pension levy affected me and also give an insight into the fact that we are not all cossetted overpaid lazy @ssholes. I'll give you a better one, my gf's brother in law works in Killarney National Park. He is on a temporary contract with the OPW/NPWS and pays the Pension-related deduction. He does not have a pension or even an entitlement to one. Can someone figure that out for me?
And the other thing that annoys me is how those with guaranteed jobs kick the many that don't.Quote:
Originally Posted by BonnieShels
New claimants this year under-25, were taxed 25 -50% of their JB before they brought in the P45, had to endure weeks of waiting to be processed, and had to live on 102-150 a week. Not only that, they had a humiliating walk to the post office every week to go and collect it, next month they'll have to queue up amongst those who are sending expensive Christmas gifts to America and Australia, while they barely have enough to buy food. Utter humiliation. Like all JA/JB applicants, they face another tax kick in 4 weeks time. But you have a job, have something to go to every morning, and have enough time to come on here and mock them. If you lost your job, you'd learn very quick the value of what exactly 102-196 Euro a week is, and how hard it is to pay everything out of it. But you're a public servant, a job and income relatively protected by the state, so you don't have to worry about such issues.
450,000 people do.
That was quick. Let me refute most of that typical bull that's directed at public servants.
Read what I actually said. I am all for the absolute destruction of the public service as it stands because it just doesn't work. I spend most of my day banging my head against the wall trying to help out people on welfare, trying to help people who are in debt and trying to help those who need someone to talk to. I try to do all of that within the constraints of the insane public service system. It's only when you're inside that you actually realise just how corrupt and inefficient and downright pointless most of it is.
I work with a lot of very well paid and useless people, people we could well do with out but it is up to management to sort that out, but there's no will to do it.
My job is not guaranteed and technically no-one's is in the public service, unfortunately the unions have management and the govt by the short and curlies.
I do what's more than what's expected of me and as long as I do that why should I not consider my job safe?
My comments about SW had to do with the equality in the system. I have the utmost sympathy for anyone on JB right now. My sister recently lost her job so I know all about it. I was on JB back in 2006 as well so I'm aware of the humiliation of getting grilled by SW staff about my entitlements, though I got my money paid into my bank account. The most humiliating part is queuing to sign on to be honest.
The thing that I was commenting on was that the system is a crock and needs to be changed.
I'm unaware of this so-called 25-50% tax you speak of that for claimants of JB who didn't have their P45s.
The system for signing on after losing your job is fairly simple... fill out the form and bring your P45 (or a letter from your employer if you can't access your P45 straight away which happens). If you don't got those details then you don't get JB. Then you apply for JA. JA is reduced for under 25s as they have generally no economic need. Tell me that an 18yo needs 196.00 pw? They should be working and if not in school/college or on FAS.
If you bring in all your documents to SW it can be processed fairly quickly. My sister had hers in a week and a half. If you have to wait any longer you can go to your local CWO who will give you SWA to tide you over. JB is not reduced for anyone no matter what age provided they have enough credits/stamps paid in the previous full tax year.
I have sympathy for a broad majority of the 450,000 you quote but as for the long term unemployed who have been mooching and coudl never be bothered to get a job over the years. Screw em!
Also, I have enough time to.come on here because I'm on holidays.
You are inside, and that's more preferable than being on the outside. The job is as guaranteed as it gets. The country has business to get on with, and that business has to be done by public servants. There's always a job for them to do.Quote:
It's only when you're inside that you actually realise just how corrupt and inefficient and downright pointless most of it is. My job is not guaranteed and technically no-one's is in the public service
I do what's more than what's expected of me and as long as I do that why should I not consider my job safe?
Your sister knows all about it. You have a job to go to each day, an income to collect every week, and able to spend it as you see fit. The system has been changed. The full rate was 196 a week, it's now that for fewer people. The lesser amount they get is the "tax" compared to those who have the full amount, which in itself is 8 Euro a week down on last year.Quote:
I have the utmost sympathy for anyone on JB right now. My sister recently lost her job so I know all about it. The thing that I was commenting on was that the system is a crock and needs to be changed.
I'm unaware of this so-called 25-50% tax you speak of that for claimants of JB who didn't have their P45s.
Another mass generalisation. Working in what? There's no jobs, either private or public. It's not simple to go to third level while Fas courses are oversubscribed.Quote:
fill out the form and bring your P45 (or a letter from your employer if you can't access your P45 straight away which happens). If you don't got those details then you don't get JB. Then you apply for JA. JA is reduced for under 25s as they have generally no economic need. Tell me that an 18yo needs 196.00 pw? They should be working and if not in school/college or on FAS.
And it all takes "a week" does it? By the time all the documentation required is produced, it can be up to 6 weeks before a JB application is processed and payment is authorised. JA can in some places take 3-5 months, before the relevant documentation is produced, and the application means-tested, before it's processed and payment is authorised.
You can, if you're prepared to put up with more humiliation, on top of what you've already put up with. 2 years ago, we had 220,000 people on the dole, it's now double that. Most of them have no job through no fault of their own. They're long term unemployed now as there are no jobs in the country. Public sector workers have worked in the same profession for 40 years without worry of losing their job, and with the full backing of their powerful unions to support their cause. They have the life of riley in comparison.Quote:
If you have to wait any longer you can go to your local CWO who will give you SWA to tide you over. I have sympathy for a broad majority of the 450,000 you quote but as for the long term unemployed who have been mooching and coudl never be bothered to get a job over the years. Screw em!
I've had this debate here before with other posters and I'll probably have it again in the future. But if anyone here attempts to kick the "unemployed dole-scroungers" as O'Leary called them last year, I'll be standing up to them, as long as Ireland's economy remains as is.
Getting rid of tenure - properly - would be a good first step towards fixing the public service. It's nonsense, plain and simple.
I don't believe it exists to the degree that people think it does. If proper procedures are followed then people can and are sacked. If it is harder, there is a reason for that, as I've pointed out many times on here before - to stop political sackings because people wouldn't be corrupted.
And believe me, I know of cases where this has happened with Ministers looking for short cuts over basic standards to help cronies, and have tried to screw up the career of people doing their job. The labour court found 100% in favour of the staff member (extremely rare), who was reinstated after basically being white walled. Without that added protection he'd have won in the employment appeals tribunal, but would've lost his job for insisting on doing his job.
Contrary to most opinions by even public servants here, most people I know genuinely work hard and do their best. I don't see any more laziness in the public sector than when I was in the private sector.
It must be different sectors Macy, because I have family in public service and they think it should be knocked on the head, because of their personal experience of people who do absolutely no work. (In some cases they can't work because of bureacracy, but that's not always they case. And it shouldn't be like that anyway.) And my wife spends a good bit of time in those circles and she's all for it too because of the waste, and just plain laziness, that she often sees. She also works with academics, and agrees with me on the abolition of tenure there too.
I'm not arguing with you and I do believe you, but I don't think you're right across the board. The HSE is the best example out there, it's criminally overemployed. They're addressing that now to a certain extent, but it seems very up in the air what'll actually happen; who'll actually go? I'll be very surprised if there aren't plenty of useless middle managers left after the purge, clacking away at nothing on their computers, pretending they're not spending half their days on Facebook.
Locking down the web browsers would be a good start. The bandwidth saved on Facebook alone would probably save the country a few quid. But then you'd have to remove solitaire from the comps too. Back to the mainframe I say, and I'm not kidding when I say it!
EDIT: I should add, I don't believe that canning tenure is the be-all and end-all solution, and I don't want to see half the public service kicked out on their ear. A huge number of public servants could and should be reassigned to places where they'll have to work, but managers are unable to because of the golden contracts. This needs to be fixed urgently too.
Gilmore on the Late Late last night, complaining about the public sector. An excellent opportunity to say what the audience want to hear, and probably another boost in the polls.
I'd be very surprised if facebook and the likes aren't locked down already.
There's already an agreement that puts this in place. However, is there the political will to make it happen? I personally believe that the Government is trying to bring it down and take the easy option of straight pay cuts and avoid the genuine hard decisions on reorganisation.
Just because the existing procedures aren't used, doesn't mean that they aren't there.
Adams wants to replace Morgan in Louth - anytime he's done an RTE election debate, he's looked out of his depth, so not convinced about this venture.
Do you ever read what people write or do you make assumptions in all cases?
You make compelling arguments sometimes but the ones you made here don't actually correlate with what I wrote.
The business I get on with is barely done and it should not take so long to do what I have to do everyday. I am sure you can peruse the rest of the public sector and see the same thing. My point is that I want the whole thing torn down and started again. My job could be easily subsumed into a more efficient organisation. But that's another eras work.Quote:
mypost: You are inside, and that's more preferable than being on the outside. The job is as guaranteed as it gets. The country has business to get on with, and that business has to be done by public servants. There's always a job for them to do.
Again stop mentioning tax in relation to JA and JB and stop using JA and JB as synonyms as they are different payments for different albeit similar circumstances, I have outlined this to you several times and you seem to have some grasp of the system so stop fudging the issue.Quote:
Your sister knows all about it. You have a job to go to each day, an income to collect every week, and able to spend it as you see fit. The system has been changed. The full rate was 196 a week, it's now that for fewer people. The lesser amount they get is the "tax" compared to those who have the full amount, which in itself is 8 Euro a week down on last year.
The full rate of JB for 2010 is 196.00 unless you haven't got enough stamps in the previous applicable tax year and then it is reduced as part of a scale. It has ALWAYS been like this. FOREVER.
JA however is a different story. JA at the full rate is 196.00 and is not dependent on your stamps but is means tested. Though in practice it is virtually always paid at the full rate. Different rates exist for different age groups and this was introduced as part of the last budget. The full rate for someone 18-21 yoa claiming JA is 100.00 pw. For those 22-25 yoa it is 150.00. These rates only applied to NEW applicants from January 2010 so it's not as far reaching as you like to make out.
The basic rate for 2009 was 204.30 introduced in Budget 2009 Part I in December 2008. This was an increase of 6.50 pw from the 2008 rate.
How this was ever acceptable to increase on foot of what had occurred in September 2008 and the increasing unemployment that was everywhere at the time I never understood. The reduction to 196.00 was a correction. The reduction of the U25 rates was also a timely measure to fit in with the new reality of the Exchequer and the increasing amount of "stampless" U25's in society.
This is an example of you not getting what's going on.Quote:
Another mass generalisation. Working in what? There's no jobs, either private or public. It's not simple to go to third level while Fas courses are oversubscribed.
The fact that FÁS courses are oversubscibed is saying to me that they need more money. I admit that giving FÁS any money is dangerous but let's overlook it's crapness for the moment. Also if you do the maths here would it not be more sensible to spend each of those 196.00 per weeks to people of college going age and place it directly into the 2.5 and 3rd level sector in order to make these people employable in the future.
My brother completed his leaving cert in June and didn't get the course he wanted so has decided to do a part-time course in psychology and go to work... He has never had a job before and managed to bag himself a job.
So you still telling me there's no work out there? My brother with possibly the worst CV I've ever seen managed to get work. There is work out there for anyone who wants it but you have to go look for it. Tough I know with those 40 hour dole weeks that some people have to do it's tough finding time to job search.
Yes it does but you still seem to me to be getting confused with JA and JB yet again.Quote:
And it all takes "a week" does it? By the time all the documentation required is produced, it can be up to 6 weeks before a JB application is processed and payment is authorised. JA can in some places take 3-5 months, before the relevant documentation is produced, and the application means-tested, before it's processed and payment is authorised.
My sister went to the SWLO on the Tuesday after she finished work. She brought with her all appropriate documentation to make her JB claim. She had her payment slip in the post the next Tuesday morning detailing her payment she would receive the Thursday afterwards.
When you get JB you are informed for how long you will get it for. It's usually around the 11 month mark. Nearing the end of your claim and presuming you haven't gone back to work in the mean time you should go to your SWLO well in time and make your claim for JA. This of course takes longer as it is means tested. If you decide at the last minute to go and sort your claim then why should you get up in arms about it taking so long and you having no money. You are informed of EVERYTHING you should be prepared. It can take 3-5 months in extreme cases and I actually know of one incident where this happened but that was as a result of SW banging their head of the wall repeatedly asking for documentation. It doesn't take 3-5 months for the craic. If it is taking this long there is always a reason for it. And very often it is the claimants' fault. Like I said before there is SWA available for these extreme cases. A CWO can approve instantly.
You would swear that people point and laugh when they go to the SW? Just because you go to the SW office first thing in the morning means that yes you are going to be queuing. If you have a problem with this then go at another time. This is the system we have in place. And trust me there is a lot of people out there on SW that have absolutely no problem and love state handouts and would queue up for all their ENP's to get their new TVs and cookers.Quote:
You can, if you're prepared to put up with more humiliation, on top of what you've already put up with. 2 years ago, we had 220,000 people on the dole, it's now double that. Most of them have no job through no fault of their own. They're long term unemployed now as there are no jobs in the country. Public sector workers have worked in the same profession for 40 years without worry of losing their job, and with the full backing of their powerful unions to support their cause. They have the life of riley in comparison.
Like I said so many times before I work with these people and they should be out on their ear. There is nothing in essence wrong with unions however in this country they make everything a difficult. I'm no longer a member of Impact as I completely disagreed with the strike last year and with the CPA. Every union I have been part of be it Mandate, IBOA, ESBOA or Impact have been useless in protecting the newer members of their organisations and are only interested in keeping the higher paid happy. Check out what the PSEU managed with the minister for finance last year re bonuses.
Again I don't remember calling anyone a scrounger. There are a lot of scroungers out there and they have no sympathy from me. I would be completely supportive of an increase in JB and a progressive decrease in JA. this is what it should be like. Like I said before what is demoralising is contributing to the PRSI fund for your whole working life and then when you lose your job you only get what John B Lazyhole get's on JA and he hasn't done a tap since leaving school in 1986. Screw him. He should get nothing and made to dance for his money.Quote:
I've had this debate here before with other posters and I'll probably have it again in the future. But if anyone here attempts to kick the "unemployed dole-scroungers" as O'Leary called them last year, I'll be standing up to them, as long as Ireland's economy remains as is.
Anyone who has lost their job I will always stand by. Those I can't abide are those who contribute nothing to this country. Despite what you may like to think they are out there in their droves.
Any chance we could just let BonnieShels run the country? :)
ARRRGGHHHHH.
I was unemployed for 12 months in 09/10 and applied for 150+ jobs, only got 4 interviews and no job. Overqualified for all the menial jobs as I had a degree and inexperienced for all jobs in my field because I had less than years f/t work experience.
But sure it's all so easy because my brother got a job.... you haven't got a scooby doo buddy. 500,000+ unemployed people competing for a supply of 1% of vacancies disagree with you.
Why did you in your first post on SW IMMEDIATELY go on a mythical rant about how they're all sponging and how generous SW benefits are? Sounded like a labelling to me.
If SW sponging is such a drastic problem in this country why then did we have a full employment only 3 years ago? Not denying there was a small element not bothered to work but 90%+ of people on unemployment benefits do not want to be on them.
Also progressively reducing JSA would have been a great idea when there were jobs in this country but now that's impossible as long-term unemployment is gathering pace to a shocking 50%.
Gladly.
I am not at all talking about the likes of yourself at all at all. Calm toi.
It wasn't a mythical rant. It was based on the factuality of my day-to-day business in work.
Again the whole full employment argument never allowed anyone to see the thousands of people out working and claiming OPFP, BTWA, BTWEA and FIS!Quote:
If SW sponging is such a drastic problem in this country why then did we have a full employment only 3 years ago? Not denying there was a small element not bothered to work but 90%+ of people on unemployment benefits do not want to be on them.
I would almost happily wager a bet of silver crowns that that 90% is almost certainly less. How we would ever prove it either way I dunno.
Is that not even a bigger argument for a complete overhaul of the system?Quote:
Also progressively reducing JSA would have been a great idea when there were jobs in this country but now that's impossible as long-term unemployment is gathering pace to a shocking 50%.
GENERAL POINTS! NOTHING ABOUT BONNIESHELS. MY BAD. MEANT TO SAY AT START OF POST AS HADN'T BOTHERED READING WHOLE THREAD. WROTE DURING FM2011 LEAGUE CUP QUARTER FINAL. BEAT SLIGO 4-0. HERE COME THE GOOD TIMES.
I find that hard to believe.
It was scandalous regressive, nonsense.Quote:
The reduction of the U25 rates was also a timely measure to fit in with the new reality of the Exchequer and the increasing amount of "stampless" U25's in society.
FAS told me to shag off not once, not twice, but thrice! And why?? Because I'm over qualified?? I'm confused as to whether or not this makes me a scrounger though??Quote:
I admit that giving FÁS any money is dangerous but let's overlook it's crapness for the moment. Also if you do the maths here would it not be more sensible to spend each of those 196.00 per weeks to people of college going age and place it directly into the 2.5 and 3rd level sector in order to make these people employable in the future.
What are your brothers circumstances, living expenses, etc, etc?? "My brother got a job therefore there are suitable jobs for everyone" is a pretty giant leap there buddy.Quote:
My brother completed his leaving cert in June and didn't get the course he wanted so has decided to do a part-time course in psychology and go to work... He has never had a job before and managed to bag himself a job.
So you still telling me there's no work out there? My brother with possibly the worst CV I've ever seen managed to get work. There is work out there for anyone who wants it but you have to go look for it.
I don't trust you. I've been saving up for about two years to get a new telly, just a little 19 inch portable hd one to play my Playstation 3 on. (I bought the Playstation 3 when I was working in Dell, before it shut down, plunging the city into ruin, I can assure you I didn't sponge it) Now if I am to trust you, will you please tell me what I'm doing wrong as I really want the telly?? TaQuote:
And trust me there is a lot of people out there on SW that have absolutely no problem and love state handouts and would queue up for all their ENP's to get their new TVs and cookers.
So I can go swing because the country went down the $hitter after I got my honours degree but before I had enough stamps??Quote:
There are a lot of scroungers out there and they have no sympathy from me. I would be completely supportive of an increase in JB and a progressive decrease in JA. this is what it should be like.
Arab Terrorist.Quote:
John B Lazyhole get's on JA and he hasn't done a tap since leaving school in 1986.
Covetus Jew.
Brainy Asian.
We're listing stereotypes here right??
They are very much in a minority and their existence is in large part the fault of the state, not of the hundreds of thousands of others who find themselves caught up in the current situation, which is of course also at least partially the fault of the state.Quote:
Those I can't abide are those who contribute nothing to this country. Despite what you may like to think they are out there in their droves
I'm in the same situation. I have a masters in mechanical engineering, and there's no work here for me, because I have no work experience, and the sector is tiny here anyway. I've applied for between 50 and 60 jobs in the last two months, and been rejected for all of them. I've been told I'm overqualified for most unskilled jobs, and that employers aren't looking for someone who's going to feck off as soon as they get a better offer. Plenty of my friends are in the same boat. Not everyone who is forced to claim social welfare is a scrounger.
Keep finding it hard to believe. It's true in my area with the approx 4000-6000 people I have to deal with on an annual basis. If it's different in Limerick then so be it. I can only comment on what I deal with day-to-day and that's the case.Quote:
I find that hard to believe.
On what basis? You made a statement back it up man.Quote:
It was scandalous regressive, nonsense.
Do you go out of your way trying to be offended? How can anyone seriously glean from what I wrote that someone who was in college is a scrounger. Or they are a scrounger because they lost their job. Read what's written. Understand it. then reply. Reactive nonsense make you look silly. You will also find that if you read what I wrote which was "giving FÁS money is dangerous. But let's ignore it's crapness for a second." I also advocated putting more money into education rather than needlessly wasting it on across the board welfare payments which don't achieve anything in the long-term.Quote:
FAS told me to shag off not once, not twice, but thrice! And why?? Because I'm over qualified?? I'm confused as to whether or not this makes me a scrounger though??
You're the one who took that giant leap. All of my comments pertaining were clearly relating to the uselessness of the argument that the reduction of JA was regressive. There are jobs there for certain sections of society alright. If not then those younger members should be productive in school/college rather than lying in bed til 2pm and getting paid to do so by the state.Quote:
My brother with possibly the worst CV I've ever seen managed to get work. There is work out there for anyone who wants it but you have to go look for it.
What are your brothers circumstances, living expenses, etc, etc?? "My brother got a job therefore there are suitable jobs for everyone" is a pretty giant leap there buddy.
Don't search for it's relevance to you.
Clearly your CWO is not as awesome as the one here. I had a client complain to me that the TV she got from the CWO was too small. I nearly vomited.Quote:
I don't trust you. I've been saving up for about two years to get a new telly, just a little 19 inch portable hd one to play my Playstation 3 on. (I bought the Playstation 3 when I was working in Dell, before it shut down, plunging the city into ruin, I can assure you I didn't sponge it) Now if I am to trust you, will you please tell me what I'm doing wrong as I really want the telly?? Ta
How can you equate with what I said to a graduate? For god sake man. Stop being so easily offendedQuote:
So I can go swing because the country went down the $hitter after I got my honours degree but before I had enough stamps??
No we were making a point about the fairness of society. You chose to ignore that.Quote:
Arab Terrorist.
Covetus Jew.
Brainy Asian.
We're listing stereotypes here right??
Which is what I have advocated a complete change and restructuring of the systems of the state.Quote:
They are very much in a minority and their existence is in large part the fault of the state, not of the hundreds of thousands of others who find themselves caught up in the current situation, which is of course also at least partially the fault of the state.
Never said they were... LTID and TH assumed I did.
Don't be such a child. I was only going by my own personal/family experience, you have more experience than me. Fair enough, I bow to your greater knowledge.
I think somebodys circumstance should be more relevant than their age when calculating what they're entitled to.Quote:
On what basis? You made a statement back it up man.
By the internetz?? LULZ.Quote:
Do you go out of your way trying to be offended?
The overall jist of my post is responding to an attitude in a lot of society rather than to you personally, apologies for not making it clear.Quote:
How can anyone seriously glean from what I wrote that someone who was in college is a scrounger. Or they are a scrounger because they lost their job.
And writing like this makes you look like a complete tit.Quote:
Read what's written. Understand it. then reply. Reactive nonsense make you look silly.
You read my post realised I had an honours degree, then probably realised that I could read, so again you could have made the leap that I was speaking in more general terms than just in response to you.Quote:
You will also find that if you read what I wrote which was "giving FÁS money is dangerous. But let's ignore it's crapness for a second."
I apologise for not making that clearer once again, your post was just handy because it had some stuff in it I wanted to riff on.
Fairly Nuff.Quote:
I also advocated putting more money into education rather than needlessly wasting it on across the board welfare payments which don't achieve anything in the long-term.
I don't see how it's fair to someone like me or paedar though??Quote:
You're the one who took that giant leap. All of my comments pertaining were clearly relating to the uselessness of the argument that the reduction of JA was regressive.
Where?? I genuinely don't seem them in Limerick.Quote:
There are jobs there for certain sections of society alright.
My CWO is an ignorant, talentless, idiot who to quote another talentless idiot, has just enough education to perform. Having said that, pride would prevent me from tapping the state for a flipping television!!Quote:
Clearly your CWO is not as awesome as the one here.
Wasn't talking to you specifically, again general points blah blah.Quote:
How can you equate with what I said to a graduate? For god sake man.
This is why i rarely post in current affairs, I have to pay too much attention!
By words on a screen?? Hasn't happened me in years thankfully.Quote:
Stop being so easily offended
I'll edit my original post. Meh.
I agree with a lot of what you say but there is actually feck all work out there. We dont all want to work in KFc and the like
500,000 unemployed and all that emigrated would prove this
Also FAS are a joke, has anybody really ever got a decent job out of them?
I agree with some of what you say BonnieShels, but the implication of this comment
is that there are enough jobs out there for everybody (400,000 jobs? My quick search of FAS (which may be wrong) shows 3663 jobs) and that anybody who doesn't have a job is in that situation by choice. That is clearly preposterous, and pretty insulting to people who are looking for work but can't find any.