Has any one of us read it yet?
Printable View
Has any one of us read it yet?
No - looks like everyone is holding on to it for xmas ! I only read the Dlk v Spurs chapter, also small corretion to my previous post, there is not a full chapter on Shels v Lille. Still think other games should have gone in, Volume 2 please.
The author told us that he had already started on a second book, when he visited the Shelbourne Exhibition in Pearse Street, a week after the launch of Book 1.
As I said previously I read three/four chapters and enjoyed them. Team line ups and stats at the end of each chapter also very enjoyable addition. A lot of interviews with players etc in the matches I read about which was excellent - hearing those involved comment on events "first hand". Good read and looking forward to Book 2 !
Dying to read it. Will keep it as my familial escape for Christmas.
Ok so folks where can I get my hands on this book in Dublin please?
Cheers Oriel
Or easons.
Does anybody know if this book is any good?
http://www.braywanderers.ie/typo3tem...47148ceb8a.jpg
Details
I didn't see it in either at the weekend (didn't ask, mind), but there were a few copies in Eason's on O'Connell Street.
Looks excellent - laid out like Eoghan Rice's We Are Rovers with the interviews interspersing the narrative - but like the others, haven't started reading it properly as yet. Another six books in the pile before I get around to it!
Thanks Gspain, I might get a copy if the international shipment is not too expensive. I have a weakness for Bray
Paul Keane, author, is on The Last Word now.
Got this today and I think it's brilliant. Not sure I know Paul Keane but he's a good writer and the lay-out is excellent. Read the Limerick and Shels v Depor chapters so far. The Limerick one was very enjoyable and there's plenty of detail. The author's clearly done his research. Will probably only be read by LOI fans but that would be a shame because the stories are told well enough to appeal to a fan of any sport.
Ive nearly read it all in between drinking about a dozen cans of Tennents-Top class and a great read
Gotta give one extract
Cup Winners Cup 2nd Round-Oct 21st 1981
Dundalk V Spurs-Oriel Park -1st Leg
TOMMY McCONVILLE-Spurs were standing in the tunnel before the game.We were coming out of our dressing room and they were already standing in the tunnel in single file as teams do before a game.They were standing there and giving it all,We are Spurs and Were here to do the job.We were listening and thinking,What a load of ****t.One of the lads went down to the front where their Captain Steve Perryman was.Perryman turned around to shake hands and whoever it was said,"Shake hands ! I will shake the bloody throat of ya"He roared it down the tunne las he said it and the whole lot of them fell silent"
I really enjoyed that!!!!!!!!!!
Got in yesterday and have read a bit so far, I have to say it is excellent the stories and research he has put into is brilliant, My favourite quote so far would be from Alfie Hall talking about Al Casey scoring in Old Trafford, One of the Man Utd players went up to him after he had just scored when he was sitting on the ground, 'Look Al you got you've got your goal, brilliant goal,great, now lets get on with it' Al Says 'Go and f*ck off! You're playing golf in the morning. I'm on four to twelve in the paper mills' brilliant
Got the book as a Chrirstmas present from the grandchildren and it's a marvellous read. Some classic stories...I loved the Galway piece and Athlone and the two Glasgow Rangers. Looking forward to volume 2.
reading the piece about bohs rangers game from 1984.. didnt realise that there was so much trouble with this game like in 1975... its one of the best books I have ever read tbh..
sounds really good its hard to find a good football book can this be bought in easons might get my hands on it.
Seemingly all easons in Dublin have it. Starting it today. Kettle is on; biscuits at the ready.
Really enjoying the book. 10 or 15 pages left to read. Some excellent insights. Felt a little let down by the Galway United chapter, but only because I would have known everything about the tie already, apart from a couple of insights from Ski and others. Overall, a great book. Would recommend to anyone with even a passing interest in Irish soccer.
Im picking out chapters, after the Dundalk one, I read Galway`s first adventure into Europe, was a bit sceptical why it was included, but was a marvelous read, some great stories in that one.
Pineapple, you said you didn't ask ask in Hogis Figgis/Waterstones on Dawson, I changed the habbit of a lifetime and asked, probably reason i got it so handy.
I think I posted this before but at the Spurs game there was a very funny line from the game, this was actually in Glenn Hoddles book. Long story short, was 1981, H Block hungers strikes in full swing, parts of Dundalk area are less than 5 miles to the border, considerable tension, Spurs team understandbly worried, game on, match night, Spurs players out warming up as 18,0000 settled in, PA man, the late great San McGarritty, 'ladies and gentlemen, can I have your attention please', Spurs team froze, thinking a bomb scare...................................PA continues............................'Bovril will be on sale at half time'
Finally started it today. So far so good.
I'm a little suspicious of the Dunphy stuff during the Rovers v Man U chapter at the start... he's not very nailed on about the specifics of the game. Rico in the otherhand is. Eamo sounds like a lad who convinced himself that he was there.
Frustratingly couldn't find it in Easons, Derry, before Xmas. Asked a guy if they had it, he gave me a gormless look before saying: "Football, is it about southern football?" "Yes," I replied, "so Derry City are in it." He looked at me even more baffled after that. The heart breaks.
Bizarrely enough managed to find it in Waterstones, Belfast - it was brightly displayed front and centre in the new releases section. I'm sure this has more to do with Waterstones' better selection but still a little odd. The Easons in Belfast didn't have it either.
Looks a great read anyhow.
either, tried a few times
Most bookshops have it Geezer. I went across the road and bought it. Easons staff couldn't be arsed to look for it. Asked if they had the book, checked on computer... said yes. I replied that I had looked in the sports section and that I couldn't find it. "Well if you look again and don't find it, we probably don't have it then."
Hard to find anything of quality amongst the mountains Premiership footballer biographies.
I got one in hodges and fidges 2 or 3 days before xmas 4 the lil bro....it was in the irish soccer section (upstairs to the right of the counter and right of the soccer section). When i asked they seemed to recognise it even though i didnt now the name of it (i think one of them even said something like "if theres any left", dno whether thats a good thing or bad thing lol)
had a nice flick through looks interesting....hope he reads it and i can steal it for myself (im a massive collector of books!). It definitly looks like a must have for any irish fan of soccer or even local eh anecdotes etc.
and looking forward to a follow up....
Not saying this as a defence of Eason's but a lot of their stores are franchises so as a result they would stock locally what they consider to be more relevant whereas the Eason's owned stores would stock everything they can. Wither way good to see this selling so well. Very glad of it to be honest.
Big time - Bookworm is sorely missed.
Absolutely, but that's what frustrated me. Easons, Derry, is coming down with local books that wouldn't be sold in any other Easons and there's obviously a local interest angle for this book. But in the local franchise of an Irish company they hadn't even heard of it. Yet I could get it no problem in an English franchise in Belfast, where most Linfield, Glens, Crues and Cliftonville fans wouldn't give it the same time of day.
finally read the book this morning.. paul keane knows his stuff and the attention to detail is staggerin.. really lookin forward to readin part two of it. that shels book that was released last year cant be bought elsewhere. has anyone any unwanted copies of it that I can get the lend of or buy it off ye please?
Got this for christmas (father bought it online, Book Depository rather than Amazon I think), not got a chance to read it yet though.
Who is Paul Keane? Does he write for a newspaper?
Great to see so much praise for the book here, it's brilliant. Funnily enough, a book review in the Indo gave it 3 out of 5. Can't quite understand that. And labelling it as for purely LOI diehards does it a massive disservice considering even the most ignorant of barstoolers would recognise a lot of the names of the foreign teams, and maybe even some of their players...
Anything that does not mention "man U" "chelsea" or Premier League is way, way to specialist for the football "experts" at the Indo.
Actually thought the book should have wider appeal to anyone here (and possibly abroad) with an interest in footie but then again I dont limit my reading to Wayne Rooneys biography (Vol 3 15-18 years) or Ryan Giggs cookery book :o
I thought the Waterford v Man U chapter was brilliant, gave a great background to the Waterford side finishing bottom of the league in the mid 60`s, then going on to win 6 titles in 8 seasons up to 1973, what a team they must have been. I would love to read more about how good they were as that was some achievement.
The aggregate defeat v United was fairly big, but Man U were European champions.
Will definitely pick up the next book.