At least if the match on Monday is called off we can go to the pub in Sligo for a bit of craic. It was a long trip home from Galway last night but the results in the other games made the trip home slightly better. Three points on Monday and it'll all be forgotten.
03/04/2010, 1:43 PM
blue til i die
Quote:
Originally Posted by gustavo
Doesnt seem the wisest move to have the Bohs Linfield game clashing with the Man United Chelsea game
Security reasons take precedent over man u and chelsea i think :p
03/04/2010, 2:10 PM
GGAJD
Just looking at Soccer Saturday, according to their infobar, Longford, Derry, Mervue and Waterford are all playing in the Premier division today, has the league re=structured without telling anyone?? ;);)
03/04/2010, 2:15 PM
RoversHead
Quote:
Originally Posted by pineapple stu
Have to say, I didn't think we were that great, though maybe I'm just spoilt. I thought Rovers created more decent chances (certainly, I found more when doing the highlights below) and the general consensus in the stands, I think, was that Bolger gave the ball away too often. Corry and Shorty stood out for me; Killer did well, Pete's really improving and Billy made one world class save. But if we keep on improving the way we have been since Rusty took over - and it looks like we're keeping that up into this season - we'll have a good year. Certainly augurs well to hear us spoken about that way! Just need to start creating more and be a bit more clinical about it.
(This is what happens when I can't go for pints after a match...)
There were periods of play when Rovers couldnt get the ball ,Bolger was instrumental in this always available for the short pass ,he makes you tick you wont be half as good when hes not there,he reminds me of how your manager used to make PATS tick.I see yous having a good season and a good shout for a cup .Unfair of me to go on about Bolger to much tho the unit as a whole look well drilled and yes you are spoiled.
03/04/2010, 4:30 PM
PartySaint
I went out to the Bohs game today, Arrived at Dalymount 8 minutes after kick off, the Gaurds told me that the turnstyles were clossed and they were letting no one else in, I decided to walk around to the Connaght Street stand to see if i could get into with the Linfield fans, Some guy in a FAI tracksuit told me to go back around to the Jodi and he will sort me out, When i got around there there was a bit of a crowd and the gaurds were still not letting anyone in, We were left standing for 15 minutes until a steward came out( the steward standing with the guards didnt even no who was playing, ridiculous), we all eventually got in but missed over half of the first half and the linfield goal, The Gaurds were blaming the club and the club were blaming the Gaurds, any Bohs fan no what the story with it all was??
03/04/2010, 4:48 PM
sounds to me like more Garda incompetence than the clubs fault. The Gardai were too busy with important things like checking flags and such...
Even for a Rovers fan some of UCD's football last night was very enjoyable to watch. We don't get much of that in Tallaght these days and won't next friday either.
03/04/2010, 5:12 PM
rebelarmyexile
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkStu
sounds to me like more Garda incompetence than the clubs fault. The Gardai were too busy with important things like checking flags and such...
This is absolutely disgusting behaviour by the police. Several Irish Tri-colours (defaced with Bohs slogans etc.) was on display, why the selective confiscating of the Union Flag? Also, why was there no Union Flag flying next to the tri-colour a the flag masts, during Euro games the opposing teams flag is flow why not here? Double standards by all accounts.
Shows an abhorrent amount of disrespect by police putting a visiting fans national flag in a BIN before their eyes. Shameful stuff. How are we supposed to think Unionists would be safe in an United Ireland if this sort of stuff goes on. These sort of methods would induce trouble at matches.
03/04/2010, 5:17 PM
exactly - its antagonistic beyond belief. Not to mention the double standards you refer to. Bunch of incompetent buffoons.
03/04/2010, 5:22 PM
hoops1
Thats an absolute disgrace placing the union flag in the bin like that. Out of all the grounds we visit the Gardai at Dalymount are the most provocative and aggressive.
03/04/2010, 5:24 PM
Quadruple1928
The flag was not put in a bin according to a Linfield fan on another forum. Linfield FC said no flags with out clubs name or badge were allowed, they had a club official there checking to make sure it was enforced.
03/04/2010, 5:28 PM
hoops1
Well whats happening in the picture then. Some sort of magic trick or did the the Gardai just find a big bin of Union Jacks and hand them out to Linfield fans on the way in?
03/04/2010, 5:30 PM
Hibs4Ever
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebelarmyexile
Also, why was there no Union Flag flying next to the tri-colour a the flag masts, during Euro games the opposing teams flag is flow why not here? Double standards by all accounts.
Why would you expect the Union flag to be flying as the flag of Linfield?
03/04/2010, 5:32 PM
Quadruple1928
...if it stops you talking through your hoop, a Linfield fan off another forum...
Quote:
Don't know what he was doing with the flag when pictured but it evidently did not end up in the bin because it was draped over the back window of a supporters bus that I was behind on the way out of Dublin....phew, eh? The flag lives on.....
03/04/2010, 5:35 PM
hoops1
Because Sherlock somebody obviously went and took it out.
03/04/2010, 6:10 PM
Quadruple1928
Why ask questions if you "obviously" know what happened:confused: Sherlock sounds about right.
This is absolutely disgusting behaviour by the police. Several Irish Tri-colours (defaced with Bohs slogans etc.) was on display, why the selective confiscating of the Union Flag? Also, why was there no Union Flag flying next to the tri-colour a the flag masts, during Euro games the opposing teams flag is flow why not here? Double standards by all accounts.
Shows an abhorrent amount of disrespect by police putting a visiting fans national flag in a BIN before their eyes. Shameful stuff. How are we supposed to think Unionists would be safe in an United Ireland if this sort of stuff goes on. These sort of methods would induce trouble at matches.
Linfield fans were warned in advance including a statement on their website. This is not something unusual in IL terms. Flags displaying alegience to the club eg the suporters club name across a national flag is permitted. Blank National flags brought obviously to make some political point are not and are often removed. Given the flag incident when Glentoran were in Dublin recently it was obvious that the clubs and Guards made it clear how flags would be dealt with.
03/04/2010, 7:41 PM
celticV3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_Parker
Flags displaying alegience to the club eg the suporters club name across a national flag is permitted. Blank National flags brought obviously to make some political point are not and are often removed.
The only flag that was displayed in the pics though was the union flag which is not a national flag?
In saying that the guards are more likely to cause trouble taking flags from people that don't necessarily have anything offensive sprawled on them.
03/04/2010, 7:42 PM
More importantly lads, it's now Longford 0-2 City. McDaid with the goal.
Mervue 2-3 Waterford (4' left)
03/04/2010, 7:43 PM
Guitd
80 min gone in terryland waterford lead mervue 3-2
03/04/2010, 7:50 PM
blue til i die
5 wins from 5!!! C'mon the Blues!
03/04/2010, 7:52 PM
Full time:
Mervue - 2
Curran 23', Connelly 71'
Waterford - 3
Purcell 9', Sullivan 62', Kiely 69'
03/04/2010, 8:08 PM
Longford 0-3 Derry
Harkin
03/04/2010, 8:17 PM
Scrufil
Maith an fear an Garda sin! Sin an áit ceart don bhrat sin, go mór mór i rith an deireadh seachtaine atá ann anois. Ar chuala aon duine faoi Éirí amach na Cásca?
03/04/2010, 8:53 PM
Mr_Parker
Quote:
Originally Posted by celticV3
The only flag that was displayed in the pics though was the union flag which is not a national flag?
In saying that the guards are more likely to cause trouble taking flags from people that don't necessarily have anything offensive sprawled on them.
I'll got get into a full scale debate on this thread so I will just suggest you do some research.
03/04/2010, 9:02 PM
dong
You what?
Which nation is the Union Jack the flag of?
03/04/2010, 9:21 PM
celticV3
Quote:
so I will just suggest you do some research.
It is the flag of the union and not any nations national flag. As all countries in the union have their own national flag. St.Geroges cross, the saltire and Y Ddraig Goch for example are national flags, the union flag is not.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dong
You what?
Which nation is the Union Jack the flag of?
See above
03/04/2010, 9:38 PM
Quadruple1928
The UJ is the offical flag of NI. If your that interested go off and do some research and leave this thread for the football.
03/04/2010, 9:52 PM
fionnsci
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quadruple1928
The UJ is the offical flag of NI.
That's not really true though is it? Kind of like having the Irish flag seen as the official flag of Munster.......Sure, it's AN official flag but......
03/04/2010, 10:31 PM
WoodquayBoy
Quote:
Originally Posted by L.T.F.C.
Ahh whisst will ya? Do you honestly think putting in all-weather pitches is the top of the priorities list for LOI clubs?
Like get real will you please! Alot of clubs haven't a post to p1ss in and you're worried about all weather pitches? I don't know where we would be if we all thought like you.
??? Think you have me confused with someone else - never mentioned a plastic pitch, can't stand them to be honest
03/04/2010, 11:13 PM
dong
Quote:
I'll got get into a full scale debate on this thread so I will just suggest you do some research.
You're dead right, spot on there LTFC, United DO control the weather and decided, seen as there was trouble with Dundalk fans last season, we'd make sure there was a heavy downpour 20 mins before kick-off and coerce the ref to call off the game 5 mins after the scheduled kick-off time while all the time laughing at the poor saps who had made the trip from Dundalk. You are a true genius
Quote:
Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy
??? Think you have me confused with someone else - never mentioned a plastic pitch, can't stand them to be honest
I don't get confused. You responded to me.
04/04/2010, 1:29 PM
A N Mouse
Quote:
Originally Posted by celticV3
It is the flag of the union and not any nations national flag. As all countries in the union have their own national flag. St.Geroges cross, the saltire and Y Ddraig Goch for example are national flags, the union flag is not.
See above
Pointless discussion. But until it gets moved to rubbish - Is NI a nation or a province?
04/04/2010, 2:49 PM
Fester
Wexford Y 2 v 1 Salthill D (FT)
Breen 27' Burke 33'
Furlong 84'
04/04/2010, 4:24 PM
Ciaran W
First away game tomorrow. .cannot wait :D
04/04/2010, 4:46 PM
Fester
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ciaran W
First away game tomorrow. .cannot wait :D
It wont be easy. Sporting have a good team!
04/04/2010, 4:57 PM
Ciaran W
I know ye we played them in the cup last season and they were brilliant