saw it again this morning and defo looks like robbie got the final touch. his goal for me.
Printable View
saw it again this morning and defo looks like robbie got the final touch. his goal for me.
:rolleyes: I have heard it all now. Who gives a fiddler's flam what that bull headed gombeen thinks. "ANdy Gray's rule of direction". He's an ex-footballer like thousands of others who makes a living attacking referee's on overhyped Sky TV. No more, no less. He makes no rules for anything.
I would say Hunt got the first touch and Robbie the second and hence the reason both claim it.
Got back last night so have only seen a brief replay on Italain TV at 6.15 yesterday morning (8.15 flight out of Bari, what a nightmare!) but how you describe it is how it looked in the ground, the manner and angle Hunt came onto the ball wouldn't seem to me to have had the required power or angle to put the ball where it went.
Robbie's goal for me and I do think it's a little undignified scrapping over it much as I can understand Hunt wanting to claim it to a small degree.
In fairness to Hunt, I think his claim is as much tongue in cheek as anything. He probably believes he has a claim on the goal but to be critising the lads over a random light hearted statement he made on beat fm is a bit harsh.
would have hoped it was Hunts goal myself being from waterford
but RTE news at one have just shown a replay and it proves beyond doubt that Hunts touch was minimal and that Keane indeed did score it.
Case closed.
ps dont think Hunt has done himself any favours but i suppose it was worth a try if he thought otherwise
:)I have just seen it again on Tv ( i also had thought at first that is was Hunt's goal ) and it's Definitely Robbies goal and the Fai have also confirmed that.
No doubt at all based on the RTE pictures - clearly Robbie's goal and well deserved for his performance.
It may not have come through as much on TV but sitting in the stand in Bari I thought Robbie played a hugely important role throughout the game when he was moved behind the front two. The goal was fully deserved and thankfully puts an end to the "he never scores against good teams" lie.
Duggie, Razors Left Peg and Rogermilla are all quoted in the Star (Pg 8 I think, only saw it in the barbers) regarding this debate over who scored:ball:
I don't think Robbie would have celebrated the way he did if it wasn't his, but it could be any one of Hunt, Keano and the Italian back. All 3 have claims.
It was shown in slow motion on the 13.00 news and it is definetly Robbies goal no question.
Hunt tipped it but robbie blasted it in to the back of the net. It may be on the 6 news this evening on RTE.
Beyond a shadow of a doubt, Gol a Di Rrrobbieee Keane a! Doesn't even look like Hunt got a touch.
Here
You really think he's the most reliable man to ask!
http://www.worldcupblog.org/files/20...with-cards.jpg
yeah, no doubt at all.
I love the dramatics though: "controversy has erupted".
Anyawy, fair play to those above who said that Keane's swing was what put the pace on the ball. It's unlikely Hunt could ever have hit it that hard with his studs.
Well the positive side from this is that i have had people who normally wouldnt have much interest in football etc asking who do i think scored it, what they thought etc etc.................no such thing as bad publicity!!!
http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/8546/huntgoal.jpg
saw this on eleven-a-side
I watched it loads of times jsut back in from Italy and its Keanes goal and then when I saw the news report there it confirms it even more. The ball displays all the characteristics of coming off Keanes foot and its his goal. Who says he does not score against the big teams. Get in there.
I don't want to be critical but I reckon if Hunt hit it it would have been in row Z.
Ah Monaghan fan would know more about that than most , boom boom
That video won't save at all for me from RTE's site - RealMedia is such utter toss
Anyway, this is the best screenshot I can get of it, clearly Robbie's touch
Attachment 1339
Everytime I see it live it looks like Hunts goal, the timing is all wrong for Robbie, he gets there too late.You can't tell much from stills as you have no idea of depth - the ball may look to be on Robbies toe when in reality it is a yard ahead of it.
Verdict - Hunt's goal.
No way, by the laws of physics is it is impossible for it to be hunts goal. There is no doubt that it is Keanes goal. Fair play Hunt played well when he came on and he will get his first goal soon.
Did you give out as he scored or did you allow yourself a bit of joy when it went it cause I know I went metal and nearly fell down the steps in the stadium in Bari. Its much more fun to be wrong and have a laugh than be right and be miserable. However you seem to be wrong and be miserable.
Fair play but I feel a bit sorry for you. As I said not only are you miserable but you are wrong too.
What am i wrong about?
That trap never saw Hunt play for Reading or never went to see Reading play.
So your mood didn't change at all between 86 minutes and 50 seconds and 87 minutes?
Just curious because as an Irish fan mine changed quite a lot, from hoping against time that we'd get at least what we deserved to being elated upon actually seeing the goal go in. I think why I like football so much is that it goes against reason sometimes, it's unscripted and unpredicatable and the sheer unadulterated joy of seeing your team score when it looked least likely is what makes the game stand out from so many other forms of entertainment.
If you showed no emotion whatsoever it suggests to me that you're not a fan at all and that you're purely a wind up merchant determined to irritate those who contribute positively to a good fans forum. Hats off, you do a pretty good job.
I was furious with the Irish performance against San Marino, but as a fan I was a damned sight happier when Stephen Ireland scored than a minute earlier.
Out of interest, how did you feel when Keane equalised in Ibaraki?
Noel Hunt must feel like a right fool now, going on Waterford radio and more or less sayin how great he was and that it was his goal. CLOWN