Printable View
It is a big deal. Bigots have no place at lansdowne road.Quote:
Originally posted by thecorner
a player got booed
big deal lads
ud swear a member of ur family died with the way ye r going on
get over it lads
dont be losing sleep over it
yeah, it is a big deal, a player got booed for no reason, it's not like he commited a bad foul, gestured to the crowd or was time wasting by his first touch, which you can accept.
i don't want these idiots at games, what comes next, booing national anthems, chucking coins at players taking corners. when irish fans go abroad they are invariably welcome where they land, if these idiots get a stranglehold on how we conduct ourselves at home, the reputation we have abroad is gone.
remember uefa have observers at every game who report on things like the fans, watch for racism, religious bigotry (which is what this booing is) etc. we could end up with a bad reputation and then come the fines.
it's easy to clean up too, england have sorted themselves out at home in two games, all it took was requests by the players and media coverage of the effort by the FA. in the last two games they've had no booing of the national anthem, no pitch invasions at goals, no racist chanting, but it took a uefa fine and disgusting anti-turk bigotry to wake them up.
what's it going to take to wake us up?
The booing of Glasgow Rangers players at Ireland international games has to be one of the sadest sights in recent years.
I think now that Rooney & the FAI have made known thats its unacceptable it can be stamped out fairly easily. All they have to do is make it known that people will be ejected from the ground for any sectarian abuse & i think people will think twice in future. Theres certainly enough stewards to enforce it. If Brian Kerr was to come out & stand against it would also shut people up quickely.
now that would be something. throwing them out would at least show people that the behaviour is unacceptable.
look at the foreign leagues and what they are trying to do to stop racism - same sort of thing.
I know it's not how things are done but if for arguments sake Colin Healy walked off when the booing had started I bet it wouldn't last that long! Now there's an idea (even though I can't take credit for it!)
if a player from dublin said he would luv to scxore the winner against city for all the dublin fans would the city fans refrain from booing him
I DONT THNK SO
GET OVER IT LADS, HE GOT BOOED, ISNT THE FIRST AND CERTAINLY WONT BE THE LAST
ah come off it, thats completely different!!Quote:
if a player from dublin said he would luv to scxore the winner against city for all the dublin fans would the city fans refrain from booing him I DONT THNK SO
have you not read any of the previous three pages?
did 'kick bigotry out' not register somewhere with you??
:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
I doubt very much everyone who was booing had read about Aveladzes comments in the media prior to the match. Anyway how does that excuse the similar actions at the Denmark & Norway games?
More than anything else the booing is embarishing & so very very sad.
great point. this has already turned into a trend and won't stop unless action is taken. thecorner's post was the first time i'd even heard mention of any comments attributed to averladze by the way, so i don't think it was widely known.Quote:
Originally posted by pete
I doubt very much everyone who was booing had read about Aveladzes comments in the media prior to the match. Anyway how does that excuse the similar actions at the Denmark & Norway games?
Yeah totally agree Pete, it makes me cringe with embarassment every time it happens. Our games are being broadcast across Europe on Sky so imagine what a lot of people must think of us, it makes us come across as a bunch of small minded, no-brained idiots.Quote:
Originally posted by pete
More than anything else the booing is embarishing & so very very sad.
Corner, the booing has nothing to do with the players comments and I think you know that but you are, for some strange reason, trying to justify the unjustifiable. The people booing are idiots, I'd say it is a tiny number of people behind it and that kids and sad wannabe republicans join in and it comes across as if far more people are doing it.
It has now happened against Georgia, Norway, Denmark (when they booed the wrong player:rolleyes: ) and the USA. It is something which has got to be stamped out.
Sport is sport:(
It's nasty having such baboon's supporting Ireland.
Education is the only way forward:ball:
Think it'll be a while before any Rangers player comes to Lansdowne again though - there used to be an Australian with Rangers, but he went to Wolves I think. Russia don't have any, though I stand corrected on that. That'll bring us on to next year's friendlies before this comes up again - hope it doesn't get buried with the time gap...:(
Another thing this affects is Ireland's chances of getting into Europe via the Fair Play award - respect of the crowd for opposition players is one of UEFA's criteria for deciding the winner of the European fair play table. Probably didn't make a huge difference at the end of the day (i.e. probably didn't do Cork out of a place in Europe this season), but it's not the sort of thing to let grow.
Kevin Muscat I believe is the player now with Wolves. They'll boo him too, mark my words! And isn't Craig Moore from Oz as well?
yeah,
muscat and moore will probably get a booing too unless the fai get off their behinds and ask a few of the players and public officials to come out against it.
start with bonner and healy and break the link between the booing and celtic first.
if they cant take the booing, maybe they should consider a career like nursing or some other womans thing
Now you are only trying to wind people up with a comment like that!Quote:
if they cant take the booing, maybe they should consider a career like nursing or some other womans thing
no im not
fans pay good money
they r entitled to boo a player
Very mature... Sexist as well are we? :rolleyes:Quote:
nursing or some other womans thing
By the way, I'm not a nurse! :D
there is nothing that can be done about it. its all part of the game. i also feel its stupid and embarrising. but at least we know that its not EL fans that are booing its the so called CELTIC fans, ya know that team that is as irish as we are and if thats not sarcasim i dont know what is.
:rolleyes: come off it, by that rationale, they're entitled to boo while the national anthem is being played. they're entitled to crap on the seat (that they paid good money for), they're entitled to burn the irish flag the child in front is holding (he was waving it and blocking my view, i paid good money...blah blah).Quote:
no im not
fans pay good money
they r entitled to boo a player
there's a difference between booing a player because he's dirty and just broke someones leg in a tackle and because he worships a different deity to idiot celtic fans (which in arveladze's case he doesn't, he got booed at rangers for blessing himself coming on the field, what does he have to do!)
anyone that boos a player solely because he plays with a team that is predominantly associated with a religion is a Bigot , pure and simple and they should be turfed out of the ground.