Its the tribunal's job to call them a farce and lies.
They haven't.
Wishful thinking gets the opposition nowhere, as usual.
Printable View
I honestly have no idea what bart simpson has to do with anything.what? :confused: are you actually saying anything of substance?Quote:
Is it wishful thinking to wonder if a time will come when enough FF supporters will get past a bit of wishful thinking of their own?
opposition parties have been blowing on about lies and farces for months now and yet the tribunal has said repeatedly that they have no issues with it. Consequently, you have people like dahamsta complaining about the media, when all the media are doing is reporting on actual events, while the oppositions continue bleating about their own imaginings rather than the actual failings of the government do nobody any good.
I'm asking is it too much to hope that some FF supporters face up to the emerging likelihood that their teflon taoiseach is as bent as an S-hook.
Well not that there has been a shred of evidence other than a tribunal asking him what he was doing, but even as someone who voted FF as their 3rd choice (after the socialist party and the greens) frankly I'd be more worried about the state of our mental health services or the wisdom of an entirely knowledge based economy when so many adults are illiterate, than bertie taking a few millionaires for a few grand. Why is it then, that the opposition insists on mudslinging rather than making a better case than "well, bridie mary in clones was telling me about her daughter last week..."
Fair enough ...there is a bigger picture and a great big world outside the tribunals. But many of the inherent problems in our country are cumulatively constructed on a culture where it was okay for public servants to be indebted to individuals and lobbies who line their pockets ...directly and indirectly. It doesn't surprise me in the least that Bertie doesn't seem to think he's really done anything wrong. He may even know better than we ever will that this is small beer.
So, what exactly is 'a political donation for my personal use'?
From a piece on RTE.ie*
Mr Ahern cannot explain the source of a £5,000 cheque cashed at the Irish Permanent on the day the savings account was opened.
He said he did receive a contribution from someone around that time but he could not recall from whom, he described the payment as, 'a political donation for my personal use'.
Lord God but Bertie is making more of a mockery out of his defenders with each passing day. I wonder how the Fianna Failers will pass this one off?
* Sorry I would link, but computer restrictions at work don't allow me to us the sidebars for some odd reason
Of course it should be added that he didn't pay tax on that 5k, or the 5k he claims his brother gave to him at the same time.
Not to mention the seven grand from his mother. They really loved him.
Now now, that was birthday money, yes the fully grown Minister was getting birthday money from his mother to the tune of 7k. I think someone a few posts back said something about not caring if this was confirmation money, he still needs to declare it? I laughed at the time, but it's looking more and more like he's gonna pull the confirmation money line out at any stage now :D
Bertie must have been shocked this morning at the cheering inside Dublin Castle for the Mahon Tribunal when they asked Bertie's lawyers to withdraw their statement that the Mahon officials are corrupt. I say he must have been shocked because apparantly he still believes that the public are fully behind him in this :D:D What an absolute moron, great leader you voted in their though guys, great leader
Just listening to Martin Manseragh indulging in profound denial on Marian Finucanes Radio 1 show. He tried obfustication, he tried whataboutery, he even tried stunned silence follwed by stammering at one point when confronted with for example, two and a half times Berties salary passing through his personal account in one year.
He urged that the Tribunal should be allowed finish it's work before any judgement is passed and then promptly went on to pass judgement on others.
Just back from 2 weeks away & taxi driver telling me Celia Larkin got a 30k "loan" from Fianna Fail in 1994 that Bertie did not know about? Would like to say you couldn't make this up but it is exactly the stuff you would make up. Surely this is fraud or at the very least tax evasion? :confused:
Fianna Fail unaffected in the opinion polls too. Shame on us.
RTE
Berties friend Tim Collins in the Tribunal trying to explain the BT bank account.
Surely this was just a slush fund account to hide personal "donations" like money given by Davy Stockbrokers?Quote:
It was to ensure that he and other trustees of Fianna Fáil's Dublin Central's constituency office, St Luke's, were not left with a liability if anything happened to Bertie Ahern. But Mr Collins was unable to say how this could arise.
Can't think how a constituency office would have a liability of something happened to Bertie Ahern. Bizarre.
The DT Account was the Des & Tim Account, however the BT Account was not the Bertie & Tim Account, no sir, that was the Building Trust Account, the one that had it's name changed to very shortly after the Tribunal discovered it...
I find it really annoying that all the media outlets persist in calling the 30k to Celia Larkin "a loan". By Bertie Ahern's own definition of a loan (from when Lowry was claiming money from Ben Dunne was a loan) it has to be contemporaneously documented with a market interest rate. Not suddenly repaid 10 years later with nominal (deposit) interest when the tribunal starts sniffing.
It'd be hilarious but for the fact these people have this country in a headlock.
Can someone tell me what the feck a "surplus donation" is? Spare money you don't need? Why does it need it's own account?