I just don't understand why you think he deserved to be pummelled when he's acted no worse than any other boxer.
I could certainly take Dunne... now ;)
Printable View
I just don't understand why you think he deserved to be pummelled when he's acted no worse than any other boxer.
I could certainly take Dunne... now ;)
i dont know why people here are so dead against Dunne, he is an honest pro, seems like a nice fella, and isnt cocky at all and we should be proud of him (unlike say our showjumpers)
i think Jimmy magee was right......we should support him when he wins and also when he loses
(and not jump on the bandwagon all the time)
i thought the crowd were excellent when they cheered him in the end
At my local last night watching it, there was a group of about 10 men jumping like maniacs when Dunne hit the deck. They all had big money on Dunne to get dropped in the first. Everybody in the pub got a free drink off them! It was a serious pummelling Dunne got. I can't stand all that bloody sh ite that comes before a fight. I know it adds to the atmosphere but it's embarrassing for fighters IMO.
Definitely the biggest test of his credentials now. He got totally caught out by a much more powerful opponent. If he learns his lesson he can still come back and be a world champion. He might even realise he has to keep his hands up now.
66/1 to put him his ass in the first, that was some bet. Fair play to anybody who spotted that who was not connected to the Spanish guy
I think the criticism of Bernard Dunne is a bit unfair. He seems to be fairly down to earth fella. He was in the Porterhouse a few days after his previous fight & he certainly wasn't acting on cocky or stuck up manner...
sorry for him in end, You have to be cocky in that game but I thing BD had got a little even his accent was beginning to change. What is nauseating is the celtic shirt wearing,tricolour waving,ole ole paddywhackery brigade. I wouldnt mind they disappeared as quick as BD went down ,some supporters. I hope we who follow LOI manage to keep that crowd away from following the league
Looking at the fight, the 86 seconds of it, he was not expecting that beginning from Martinez, he stated slowly and never got into gear but a top fighter would be overcoming that. At 26, winning the European Title does not say for me he will get a World Title shot, but Martinez, at 21, winning the European Title that shows he is able to compete, I think that Dunne is too old to get a title shot considering his career.
Nonsense
How could you not expect that start to a fight from a boxer of Martinez's physique??
I've said it time and again about Dunne, he needs to learn how to defend properly and use his head in the ring
Either he has a very poor trainer or absolutely no common sense
He had a nice couple of inches on Martinez
Now anyone with the slightest modicum of boxing knowledge would have told him that the thing to do was to keep Martinez on the end of his jab and try and survive the inevitable (how anyone could think otherwise is beyond me) first few rounds onslaught
If Martinez managed to get past the jab and land one through his cover, grab a hold of him and hang on for dear life until the ref says otherwise
Then, having gotten to the fourth or fifth unscathed, come out and box him
What does Dunne do instead?? Run out and go toe to toe in a brawl with an absolute monster. :rolleyes:
IMO he should maybe have a think about moving up a few weight divisions. He is far, far too scrawny at the moment. Read somewhere he's doing three days a week on weights. I can't for the life of me see it.
Looking at it now can see how poor his guard really is...
Wasn't Brian McGee hard done by when 2 judges decided on a draw?
I thought the neutral boxing experts had always been saying that Ireland's great prospect in World boxing was going to be Andy Lee?
Dunne is a likeable enough fella, unlike a lot of the crowd who follow him (anyone see the gob****e hurling abuse at the small gathering of Spanish fans as the camera looked on?).
Dunne's tactics were incredibly naive. It was clear Martinez put all his eggs in one basket and was going for early knockout or bust. Dunne must have known about all the money being put on a first round knockout (15k by Martinez family alone). He needed to keep his guard up but more importantly keep mobile and get through the first few rounds. Martinez obviously didn't fancy going the distance.
A bit like John Duddy, Dunne is a decent enough fighter technically but struggles when the opponents get better as he isn't a big puncher.
Lee does look good, and certainly has the punch, but its early days in his career.
ya dunne was embarassed big time. In his last fights he was only up against honest pros, and his guard never was called into question as he was able side step and none of these guys came after him, martinez came after him and followed up one good punch with another to stop dunne moving away. very poor performance by dunne though, i think it was the first punch that did it to him, he never recovered after that and was shell shocked. then again anyone who knows anything about boxing, would hvae told ye it was madness him fighting kiko so early and it proved right. but maybe dunne was never ready for the step up...
He deserved everything he got, Cocky Little ****!!!
His Smug Little *******!! face when he steped into ring,
thought he had it won.
Got thought a lesson in boxing.
Perhaps he had a lorry load of cash on himself being knocked out in the first at 66/1....Wouldn't be the first time this happened in boxing, won't be the last...;)
I cant understand this attitude to be honest. I was in a pub in Waterford when this was on and id say it was a 50-50 split of people that were for and against him.
What ever you think about some of the people following him, or if you think that the hype surrounding him is unjustified, you cannot say that he comes accross as a nice fella. He is a bit cocky, but for a boxer he is far from the worst. Any interview i have seen he has acknowleged his opponent whatever fight it was and gave no excuses when he got beaten.
Anyways if he is good enough he will come back from this, its hard to know what to make of the defeat because it was over in a flash.
Thats all very well NeilMcD,
But he got into the ring thinking he had the fight won with the grin on his face, all i'm saying is that if he had any hope of winning a fight against a fighter everyone knew was dangerous, you would take it as serious as you could and not act the ****, with no defence.
Sure didn't Jim Rock say after that he talked with done and explained how dangerous this lad was, but no the cocky little **** wouldn't take any heed of him.