I think that was an FAI decision:rolleyes:
Printable View
I thought Brennan deserved to go, his tackle was wild and wreckless. The type that can break a leg if it connects. BUT, Heary should have went himself for his reaction. Thats the sort of stuff the FAI should look into after the game. Forde's red card was very harsh though.
In fairness Shels were the better side last night and created nearly all the good goal scoring chances. They could have been there all night, all tonight and all wednesday night and still not score - it was just one of those nights for them !
There plan B was to play 3 upfront bringing Harris on in Extra time, which they "Should" have scored at least 2 or 3.
Derry's defending was excellent though, especially with only 9 men !
Was a very nice touch from Kenny to dedicate the win to Sean McGlynn, he was nearly crying saying it ! Had to laugh at Paddy McCourt though - "We really busted out balls form him" :D
Both reds were deserved - as for the comments saying Forde shouldn't have gone, its aways a risk as a keeper when you rush out like that, everyone knows it, and he made a meal of it. Noones fault but his. Heary should have gone for his reaction to Brennan, but Hargan (was it him?) could have gone too earlier in the game. In all, inconsistent refereeing - surprised?
We couldn't take any chances, ergo didn't deserve to win. Good banter between the fans, although a bit of tape seperating fans about 10ft apart wasn't enough. The announcer was class, broke his **** laughing at something, and forgot to turn off the speakers! :) Then again, who's a Shels fan to comlpain about stewarding? ;)
Well done to Derry, hung on well and won it well in the end. I'd've taken a thrashing last night in return for a win on Friday, and hope it still works out like that! :D
Davy you are and always will be an idiot of the highest order
If a keeper is 10 yards outside his box he can never be unlucky to handle the ball especially when he waving them in the air.
How in the name of Pat Dolan were Shels the better side last night ?
Take the 84mins or so when it was 11-a-side :
- Did they have the most possession ? No.
- Did they create the most chances ? No.
- Did they play the nicest football ? No.
Then, let's look at extra time :
- Even with a 1/2 man advantage, did they play to a level you would expect for a team with that sort of numerical advantage ? No.
- Did they create the number of goalscoring chances you would expect for a team with 2 more men on the pitch (3 if you count Stokes) ? No.
Penalties :
- Did they take the better kicks ? No.
- Did they make the better saves ? No.
I would therefore love to be enlightened as to how you can conclude that Shels were the better side, when any comparison of what actually happened on the night says otherwise.
There will be murder on Friday. Owen Heary will not come out in one piece. We'll let O'Flynn at him.
Bring it on.
clearly he cudnt take it
http://img61.imageshack.us/img61/5475/fatboycv4.png
Clearly you can't spell!
between this and the bohs v rovers thread its starting to look like a bebo forum round here
clearly your still crying
Have to say the jibes about Shels fans being kids are ,to simply put it, juvenile. A large minority of Derry's fans last night were kids younger than 12. They were the ones giving us the finger and shouting abuse. Stop being hypocrites lads and admit that you have a bunch of knacker kids following the bandwagon around as well. Looking down on us because you believe being young is something to be laughed at is pathetic
I'll stand corrected if needs be, just mhop. Derry are physically better than anyone, that doesn't mean they're a long ball team or anything like that so I'm not having a go. At their best Cork have been the best passing side in the league, doesn't mean their the best team, just as me saying imop Shels are a better passing side than Derry doesn't mean I think Shels are a better team. For what it's worth Arsenal are miles ahead of everyone in England when you think of who the best footballing side is but they won't win the league
The ref was a disgrace all nite!!How the **** can you justify sending Killian Brennan off and not send Heary off aswell. Not only that but he was rubbish all nite. Gave a lot of decisions to shels that we shudve got, same by shels. Also heard Fenlon and Ollie Byrne had a bust up outside the dressing rooms after match last nite, can anyone confirm???Quote:
In fairness you cant really blame the ref for the sendings off. The forde one was the lineman and the killian brennan was a definite red card. He lunged two footed with intent. You could hardly expect stokes to see what heary did after now in fairness. Its the linesman in question that you should be venting your anger on. Delighted personally to see derry winning. It proves to everyone what a great manager Kenny is. The team spirit in the derry squad brings back memories to Kennys time and Longford Town when players would die for the shirt. I hope they win the league to shut that fool felix healy up!! He knows nothing and talks sh1te
Ollie and Fenlon had a somewhat heated exchange, alledgely.
Moment I read Stokes as the ref I knew it was going to create trouble. The man's incompetant. Some of his free kick calls are inexplicable. It baffles belief that he's a FIFA ref. And not being biased, but he does seem to especially dislike Derry. Worst memory of him before yesterday was when a Linfield player collided with his own keeper. Stokes gave a free kick against Derry for it. Now the powers that be in the FAI were at this match, seen the incident, Milo Corcoran described him as "unbelievable", yet he still continues to referee at an international level. I dunno.....
Have to share this one, hilarious.
http://img133.imageshack.us/img133/5833/1c1jl2.jpg