Come on lads, I don't think there's a need to give ridiculous comments like those from The Stars any more posts.
What about that Chelsea fella who apparently declared for us? James Simmonds? And, yes, where is Leon Best? Livehead?
Printable View
Come on lads, I don't think there's a need to give ridiculous comments like those from The Stars any more posts.
What about that Chelsea fella who apparently declared for us? James Simmonds? And, yes, where is Leon Best? Livehead?
# http://www.chelseafc.com/article.asp?article=327302Quote:
Originally Posted by Donal81
# James Simmonds
# Born 3/12/87 in Hammersmith, London.
A second year scholar who made his first reserve appearance when still a schoolboy. An attacking midfielder, James continues to be given reserve experience early in his full-time career. He was a former England youth international but has opted to play for the Republic of Ireland U19s.
He played in Chelsea's last reserve game and looks like he was impressive:
"There were some positive performances. Michael Mancienne and Adrian Pettigrew performed well against Charlton's more experienced front-line, Filipe Morais who was on the bench for the Huddersfield cup-tie, teased and tormented down Charlton's left. James Simmonds looks a prospect in midfield and captain Danny Hollands looks like a natural leader in the mould of Super JT."
I'd say it'd take a lot to look a prospect for Chelsea. :)
Have to wait untill next squads announced in terms of Best, he was injured for a while, seems to have stalled a bit since looking very bright when he first came into the southampton side but theres still no doubt he will be a top act given time, aint heard anything on the front of who he wants to play for, would assume from knowing him and the way he used to go on, its ireland.
I can't understand comments like this, Nolan was approached by the FAI to play underage football for Ireland, he said no, he wanted to play for England and that was the end of it. He's never changed his mind and said he wanted to play for Ireland, the FAI haven't approached him again (well, AFAIK). From whar I've seen it's only constant media speculation because he's a high profile player that his name crops up anytime someone mentions the granny rule. Why isn't the same venom reserved for the likes of Kilkenny who was in Ireland youth squads but has chosen to play for England??Quote:
Originally Posted by Cosmo
thats fair enough so - must be just the media giving the vibe that he was wanted to change his mind and play for ireland if he was selected.Quote:
Originally Posted by tetsujin1979
You're asked once, if ye hmm and haw about it, cheerio as far as im concerned!!
Not that simple IMHO. Clinton Morrison wanted to declare earlier but his boss at Palace, Alan Smith, put big pressure on him to opt for England. Worth more in the transfer market.Quote:
Originally Posted by Cosmo
But Nolan's case is different. He turned us down, and is no longer eligble anyway.
Kitson is different again - he says himself he doesn't feel Irish. This is where it gets tricky. I think go get him personally. He's good! I bet Luis Oliveira doesn't feel Belgian, the wangker!
From the Indo today the following players were mentioned as possibly being eligible for Ireland under Granny rule.
Lee Trundle FOR Swansea
Dave Kitson FOR Reading
Gary McSheffrey FOR Coventry
Liam Lawrence MID Sunderland
Alex Bruce ? Birmingham (Steve's son???)
Neil Kilkenny MID Birmingham (ineligible)
Has anyone heard of anyone else?
How good/bad is McSheffrey?
If we got the 3 forwards above we'd have some amount of strikers to choose from.
isnt there some younglad Keogh at S****horpe? though I suppose we can't be going down the league too far, but he has 12 goals this season and is only 20
Andy Keogh, much discussed on this forum, is actually Irish.
Colster, not trying to be a smartarse but this thread opened yesterday: :)
http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=32843
Well spotted that man. :)
:ball: PP
It was maybe ten years ago when the rule ended that limited the number of "foreign players" playing on a team in the premiership. Irish were counted as 'foreign'. So at the time a lot of managers didn't want lads to declare for Ireland.
michael owen was born in cheshire, england.
my cat is welsh though.
As luck would have it so is mine. That's why we called her Myfanwy. :)Quote:
Originally Posted by as_i_say
:ball: PP
Frannie (fox in the rangers box) Jeffers has a green granny AFAIK, your thoughts ladies and gentlemen.........please??:D ;)
Regardless of who he plays for he's utter crap. Never liked him at all.
ill go along with that stutt, but he does have the link and i think there was speculation about him during the Kerr era, will be interesting to see Stans take on it.Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuttgart88
now... im going purely on surname here but does anyone know of the existence of a green granny for any of the following?
Gavin McCann
Gareth Barry
David Dunn
Michael Carrick
Aaron Lennon
it would be better to net a couple of these rather than lower league players if we are going to take this approach
I think all of them bar lennon have played for the English Senior side.Quote:
Originally Posted by CraftyToePoke
He has an England senior cap. And he's crap.Quote:
Originally Posted by CraftyToePoke
He's quite possibly the only Arsenal player universally hated by every single Arsenal fan I know!
<EDIT>
The england cap was against Australia, he scored the consolation goal in a 3-1 defeat. Still crap though
Was called up by our(NI)u21 last year but ended up pulling out. Not sure what the reason was.Quote:
Originally Posted by colster
so is his horseQuote:
Originally Posted by Stuttgart88