ballybofey for me. Hoopys right with his comment above.
like cork,often have a mad drunken trip down there,though the actual city isnt particularly great,just happens to be often enjoyable,especially the old new-year overnighters
Printable View
ballybofey for me. Hoopys right with his comment above.
like cork,often have a mad drunken trip down there,though the actual city isnt particularly great,just happens to be often enjoyable,especially the old new-year overnighters
seeing as derry gets such good recommendations, i mite head up there in a week or two. anyone got tips on pubs/bars/clubs/accomodation etc?
Well the night we played cork in the randy some of their fans seemed to enjoy that cafe at 1 in the morning in shipquay st. best ive been too is Galway, but could be knocked off with my first trip to Cork next month with or without tickets :D
Well, you don't speak for me. I don't really like overnighters. Derry is a good trip, along with Galway, and to a lesser extent, Waterford.Quote:
Originally Posted by hoopy
My favourite trip is to Longford. Nice place, great ground, would be a lot better though, if the locals got over their Rovers persecution complex, and just left us alone when we're there. That's how it used to be. :o
I'm amazed at how many people have said Ballybofey:D. I mean, this has nothing to do with the Harps rivalry or anything but, what in the name of Jaysus has Ballybofey got to offer?:confused:
have two be limerick :) :) :) :)Quote:
Originally Posted by Raheny Red
Nothing, bar a pub, a pub, another pub, more pubs, the odd B&B or two, one Chinese Take Away, and even a football field! :eek: And er, that's it.Quote:
Originally Posted by sligoman
I forgot, a gang of blokes on an overnighter, the scenery is most important:rolleyes: As I've already stated the difference is that we're made to feel welcome by Harps
Ballybofey for me, I have overnighted there many times.
The people are fantastic delighted with visitors very hospitable
The Harps fans themselves are friendly and it's a bit like Cheers " they're glad you came". Mind you last time I went there we lost 5-1 so I don't wish to repeat that end of it.
The Harps lads were very kind saying things like.... ye were'nt all that bad and when we were 2-0 you hit the woodwork and then we went up and made it 3-0... all of which was true.
But it's a terrible drive home the next day after that result.
I have never overnighted in Derry ( usually stayed in Ballybofey instead..see above) but the women are very attractive( unusually large percentage for this country it has to be said to). Cork is also not bad if you overnight.
Waterford, is like a second home at this stage.
Did you not explore the glory that is Stranorlar?:DQuote:
Originally Posted by mypost
Derry, Ballybofey. Always great craic up there.
Cork a close 3rd
Have to say Dorgheda. Then again being stranded in the first division means its pretty much wall to wall kip as far as away travel is concerned. Your not a real Eircom league fan till you've seen the sun go down on Century Homes Park on a wet October evening :D
I can't really complain about anywhere i've went.Ballybofey is great and the locals are very friendly and welcoming.Cork has always been a great laugh and again the locals are top notch.Had a great time overnighting in Kilkenny after the cup match a few years ago.Ended up having to get a lift with the Gardai back to a B&B where some friends were staying as i was completely lost.The following morning about 10 of us went to a small pub called Patricks bar i think at 8:30am and drank the finest pints of Guinness ever tasted.Stayed the whole day on the batter and celebrated with the locals as they beat Tipp in the Hurling that day.Spent that night again in KK and enjoyed every moment.
Listen up smart sh!te, I know it's pubs and accomodation that's most important and my point is, Balleybofey is only a small place, you have a much bigger variety of pubs/clubs and places to stay in a bigger city eg. Cork, Galway, Dublin, so why chose Balleybofey?:confused: (I know you have already answered this btw)Quote:
Originally Posted by hoopy
Last time we were up there some of the Harps lads invited us back to Junction 15 for aftermatch refreshments,turns out the place had been taken over by a travellers christening party.Made a swift exit back to our hotel,got refreshed and changed and hit Stampy's niteclub(what a spot)!!!!!!!!:D :D :DQuote:
That old Junction 15 Hospitality
Have to say its a tight choice between Ballbofey and Derry!!!!!!!!
My favourite trip is to Longford. Nice place, great ground, would be a lot better though, if the locals got over their Rovers persecution complex, and just left us alone when we're there. That's how it used to be. :o[/QUOTE]
You have got to be joking. Longford is a dump, no offense to the longford fans but there it is.
And sligoman ballybofey has a lot more to offer than your hometown for sure.
Haha:rolleyes:. Just out of interest, when were you last in Sligo?:confused:Quote:
Originally Posted by NY Hoop
February for the friendly but went to Galway straight after:D Before that when we scored 5 down there. Remember?Quote:
Originally Posted by sligoman
Galway - but I live here so I'm a bit biased. Its the best place in Ireland though.
Cork is great for a night out too. Never been to Derry - I'll have to wait till we get promoted next season.
A lot has changed since then(retail park, shopping centre, etc.) but anyway, what has Balleybofey got that's better than us?:confused:. Fair enough, they might welcome ye, but you can hardly say it's a better place because of that nowQuote:
Originally Posted by NY Hoop