where are all the flies hiding this summer. i think theyre just having a laugh ready to ambush me en mass
Printable View
where are all the flies hiding this summer. i think theyre just having a laugh ready to ambush me en mass
They were all in Longford the last time I was down. :eek:Quote:
Originally Posted by blobbyblob
blobbyblob you have to be one of the funniest posters on foot.ie. you always give me a laugh anyhow.
no the midgets are about give them a little more time, the feckers. what is the actual proper term for a midget?? i assume they are called midgets because they are very small flies?? and are they a cousin of the mosquito??? now they are questions i wonder and are worth answering.
also what is a heifer and i dont mean the galway female kind either. its not a cow that hasnt calfed, but it is a cow. what makes it different from any other?
midgies is the term you're looking for... :D I think Gnats is the correct name, but wouldn't be sure. Annoying fookers would be my name for them....Quote:
Originally Posted by paul_oshea
Well I was going to say a 10to2er in Coppers, but you've already covered that... :DQuote:
Gray you only answered part of my question, and we at home and most in the whhhhesshhhht pronouce them as "midgets", is it midgies??? what is midgies then? i am going to google gnat. are they a cousin of the mosquito they must be???? annoying fookers is the apt name for them alright.Quote:
midgies is the term you're looking for... I think Gnats is the correct name, but wouldn't be sure. Annoying fookers would be my name for them....
also do you know why i am calling you gray?
Haven't the foggiest...Quote:
cant tell ye then, but im sure more of the enlightened ones here will divulge that info.
anyhow looks like you are right, but it says they dont bite, however the ones at home do as they bite and make you itch, trying to get blood:
http://www.uky.edu/Agriculture/Entom...ruct/ef632.htm
more importantly it doesnt say what purpose they serve?? i mean if they just reproduce and die, and only live in pools where no fishies can feed on them what purpose at all at all do they serve?
blobbyblobbblobb its because of the dry weather you havent seen them around.
A midge is a tiny dipteran (two-winged) fly, a relative of the mosquito. There are thousands of midge species, however those of most interest to us are members of the Ceratopogonidae family - the "Biting Midges". This family belongs to the genus Culicoides, which consists of over 800 species in total. These biting midges are equipped with very specialised mouths that enable them to pierce skin.
Many people believe that all midges bite, this is a common misconception. Most species of midgies are actually harmless. These "friendly" midgies belong to the Chironomidae family, and have no piercing mouthparts. Unfortunately for us, there are plenty of biting midgies about, ready to cause mayhem! Lots of harmless midges, such as the "dancing midge", are mistaken for biting midgies and are often killed by wary people.
ok i feel enlightened i have learnt something that i always wondered but never thought of finding out. thank you macy g.
Who came up with the concept of 'women and children first'? Bet there wasn't a man around when they came up with that one.
That would be to do with that fact children are the future of the race, and women can have babies. So the more women the more chance of a small group surviving. and its chivalerous...hehe : )Quote:
Originally Posted by brendy_éire
to quote the late great Lonnie Donegan
If a tin whistle's made of tin -what's a fog horn made of?
Chicken ;)Quote:
Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie
Just what does go on in the Bermuda Triangle?
And every man for himself, aye?Quote:
Originally Posted by Gareth
Bah, they wanted equality, and if I'm on a sinking ship, they'll be getting it. :D
native americans (north & south) used tobacco in various ways, mainly chewing and smoking. Sir Walter Raleigh is credited with bringing it to Ireland and indeed the English speaking world.Quote:
Originally Posted by brendy_éire
seeing as they are both plants which grow in similar conditions, its not fair to suggest that cannabis was added to tobacco. coukl be just as likely to be vice versa, especially considering the prominence of hashish in central asia amongst the Islamic and persian peoples.Quote:
And who thought of adding cannabis to it?
having noted the similar reaction upon applying pressure to a teat of both species, and the fondness of both species' young for the white goodness, a farmer probably said he'd have a taste.Quote:
And what was your man doing when he first milked a cow?
thats just crazy talk.Quote:
And if we drive on the left because ye needed to keep your right hand free to attack others with your sword should you have meet a nasty character on the road, why do most countries drive on the right? (maybe this one is answerable?)
price. also, they are called tractors because of the high degree of traction they provide in order to adhere to off road muddy conditions while pulling a heavy load. its a mere conincidence that they are slow when you happen to be stuck behind one on a narrow country road while the pig muck flies off the tires onto your windscreen.Quote:
And why can't tractor companies give them a higher top speed?
could we really have won the world cup if roy keane wasnt sent home
No cos McCarthy with Keane or without still seemingly can't count.Quote:
Originally Posted by thecorner
Why do the smilies, listed to the right of the message box when posting a new message, ramdomly change places?
That's weird. :eek:Quote:
Originally Posted by Peadar
I only noticed that about ten minutes ago when replying to you about the CCFC online shop.
Has it always been that way or has it juststarted happening?
it always happens, i just think its how they are loaded i.e. which ever one loads first etc, but i am open to correction.
I only noticed it in the last few days.Quote:
Originally Posted by tiktok
I often type the smilies rather than clicking on them so I can't be certain.
whats a messaging consultant?